Modern Vampires of the City

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: May 14, 2013
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 303

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    9
    This is one of the most beautiful album of 2013. Unique and really interesting lyrics with a beautiful rhythms. These rhythms are really catch the human's soul and don't release until song is ending. Unquestioningly that's a catchy album. Love it.
  2. May 14, 2013
    8
    Modern Vampires Of The City is Vampire Weekend's evolution in sound yet again, providing a more chilled, eerie vibe than their past two albums. While die-hard fans of Contra and the debut may find it harder to get into, it's destined to grow on you after spinning it a few times.
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums of 2013. I found myself listening to it over and over again. The lyrics are deep and meaningful and the songs range from hauntingly beautiful to fun and catchy. I wasn't a fan of Vampire Weekend before this album but Modern Vampires of the City has made me a believer. Do yourself a favor and listen to this fantastic album!
  4. May 16, 2013
    10
    Any band that can produce three great albums in a row deserves respect. Modern Vampires of the City is a testament to Vampire Weekend's continued relevance in today's ever changing music industry. I believe that future generations will remember them as one of the most notable bands of this generation. Poppy but not annoying. Catchy but not saccharine. This album is an evolution for VampireAny band that can produce three great albums in a row deserves respect. Modern Vampires of the City is a testament to Vampire Weekend's continued relevance in today's ever changing music industry. I believe that future generations will remember them as one of the most notable bands of this generation. Poppy but not annoying. Catchy but not saccharine. This album is an evolution for Vampire Weekend, and it is their most varied album to date. Still, there is an underlying cohesion that effortlessly ties the varied songs together. It is an early contender for album of the year, but there are other great releases to anticipate in what remains of the year. This is just one music lover's opinion. Take a listen and make your own judgment. Expand
  5. May 19, 2013
    10
    This is, seriously, Vampire Weekend's best album to date!! At 12 songs, the album is altogether catchy, thought-provoking, and even at times, disturbing. Lyrically, the album is ingeniously made and all the tunes are expertly crafted. I've been waiting for this album for some time now, and after finally hearing it, I can safely say that this is the group's best album and one of my favoriteThis is, seriously, Vampire Weekend's best album to date!! At 12 songs, the album is altogether catchy, thought-provoking, and even at times, disturbing. Lyrically, the album is ingeniously made and all the tunes are expertly crafted. I've been waiting for this album for some time now, and after finally hearing it, I can safely say that this is the group's best album and one of my favorite albums ever!! Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    10
    amazing record, really more quiet sound but vampire weekend pull it off, the lyrical content is really deep and metaphorical on this record really more grown up sound overall, the records sounds pretty perfect to me
  7. May 22, 2013
    10
    Before Modern Vampires, these guys were a guilty pleasure. Fun and catchy as hell, but phony and often shallow. All that's gone now. What we get is essential, beautiful and adventurous indie pop, sophisticated songwriting and emotional lyrics. Can't get enough of it.
  8. May 16, 2013
    9
    MVOTC is an album that throws almost everything you know about Vampire Weekend out the window and starts fresh. It's inviting, creative, and overall unlike anything I've heard this year. Koenig's songwriting remains my favorite part of the band, especially with songs like Step and my favorite track Hannah Hunt. There is something so mysteriously beautiful about Hannah Hunt that I can'tMVOTC is an album that throws almost everything you know about Vampire Weekend out the window and starts fresh. It's inviting, creative, and overall unlike anything I've heard this year. Koenig's songwriting remains my favorite part of the band, especially with songs like Step and my favorite track Hannah Hunt. There is something so mysteriously beautiful about Hannah Hunt that I can't quite put my finger on but the emotion it forces you to experience is almost heavenly and leaves you numb. The first half of the album is better than the second half but overall it is an LP you can't afford not to listen to. Hats off to Vampire Weekend for experimenting with a feel they have not yet done and their resulting accomplishment is fantastic. Expand
  9. May 14, 2013
    9
    Their best work yet.

    If "Vampire Weekend" was their freshman year, and "Contra" a sophomore effort, "Modern Vampires of the City" is an upperclassman affair. Punctuated by both pop-centric tunes and deep cuts, the album is nearly faultless in its diversity.

    Stand out tracks: Unbelievers, Everlasting Arms, Ya Hey
  10. May 14, 2013
    9
    Awesome effort by VW. They manage to keep things fresh, while still maintaining their charm. Album highlights include: Obvious Bicycle, Diane Young, and Ya hey.
  11. May 16, 2013
    9
    Modern Vampires of the City is an explosive third record by Vampire Weekend. It's easily some of the smartest, ambitious, and catchiest pop music I've heard in quite some time. Vampire Weekend went from preppy, polo-wearing self-indulgent young men that really enjoyed their afro-pop records to now older gentlemen that can't seem to shake off the feeling of death at every corner. It's aModern Vampires of the City is an explosive third record by Vampire Weekend. It's easily some of the smartest, ambitious, and catchiest pop music I've heard in quite some time. Vampire Weekend went from preppy, polo-wearing self-indulgent young men that really enjoyed their afro-pop records to now older gentlemen that can't seem to shake off the feeling of death at every corner. It's a huge maturation that they hinted at with Contra, but now seem to fully embrace with this new record. The production this time around is much more ambitious, and Ezra's lyrics and vocals have matured as well to even more bliss.

    All In All, Vampire Weekend craft their biggest record yet, and is so far my favorite of 2013. A-
    Expand
  12. May 16, 2013
    10
    Vampire Weekend's latest effort epitomizes everything that a rock album should be in the year 2013: energetic, moving, and feeling fresh, while undoubtably showcasing a plethora of influences. From "Tusk" era Fleetwood Mac ("Finger Back") and "Remain in Light" era Talking Heads ("Everlasting Arms") to a sound that's uniquely Vampire Weekend ("Unbelievers"), the group of former ColumbiaVampire Weekend's latest effort epitomizes everything that a rock album should be in the year 2013: energetic, moving, and feeling fresh, while undoubtably showcasing a plethora of influences. From "Tusk" era Fleetwood Mac ("Finger Back") and "Remain in Light" era Talking Heads ("Everlasting Arms") to a sound that's uniquely Vampire Weekend ("Unbelievers"), the group of former Columbia students have become experts of their craft on "Modern Vampires of the City." Without a doubt, Ezra and co's newest album came perfectly in time for the summer and will definitely stand the test of time. A must-have. Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    There are just so many things I can say about this album. But for the life of me I just cant figure out how to say them. All I can really express is how this album may be the most important piece of music I have ever listened to. There is so much beauty in the minds of Ezra, Rostam, CT, and Baio. The four of them plus additional producer Ariel Rechtscaid have created a spectacular recordThere are just so many things I can say about this album. But for the life of me I just cant figure out how to say them. All I can really express is how this album may be the most important piece of music I have ever listened to. There is so much beauty in the minds of Ezra, Rostam, CT, and Baio. The four of them plus additional producer Ariel Rechtscaid have created a spectacular record that I believe will never be forgot. Expand
  14. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    One of two best release of this May release. Vampire Weekend shed their Afrobeat signature and replace it with something totally different. If you really into Contra and their debut album, it might take some spin to swallow it through. Highlight tracks: Step, Diane Young, Worship You
  15. May 14, 2013
    8
    A brilliantly thought out and meticulously detailed and executed album. From beginning to end, Vampire Weekend never cease to impress with perfectly crafted songs, taking you through a calming yet exhilarating album; definitely their best effort.
  16. May 24, 2015
    10
    Vampire Weekend have often referred to MVOTC as being the last instalment in the 'trilogy' of their first three albums. Although its sound wildly differs from their first album, MVOTC still somehow retains a strange similarity to its previous counterparts. This album feels more raw, organic, and simplistic, with much less utilisation of electronic sounds. The theme of MVOTC is a lotVampire Weekend have often referred to MVOTC as being the last instalment in the 'trilogy' of their first three albums. Although its sound wildly differs from their first album, MVOTC still somehow retains a strange similarity to its previous counterparts. This album feels more raw, organic, and simplistic, with much less utilisation of electronic sounds. The theme of MVOTC is a lot darker, and feels more mature, with many lines relating to mortality, and religious questioning being entwined into the lyrics. However, this album does not leave us craving upbeat, catchy songs, which can still be found. Stand out tracks include Young Lion, Ya Hey, Everlasting Arms, and Step. Expand
  17. May 14, 2013
    10
    Haters beware. This is the album that change your entire outlook on Vampire Weekend. Gone are the peppy, Afrobeats and Synths that dominated the first two records. Gone (for the most part) are the ivy-leaguer lyrical references. Instead Vampire Weekend gives us their most concise, beautiful, and varied album. Difficult without actually challenging the listener, because the pop hooks are soHaters beware. This is the album that change your entire outlook on Vampire Weekend. Gone are the peppy, Afrobeats and Synths that dominated the first two records. Gone (for the most part) are the ivy-leaguer lyrical references. Instead Vampire Weekend gives us their most concise, beautiful, and varied album. Difficult without actually challenging the listener, because the pop hooks are so good. Through and Through it's still a Vampire Weekend album; you can hear it in the "M79" strings of "Don't Lie" or the up-tempo "a-Punk" beat of "Unbelievers," but this album takes those ideas found in previous albums and takes them in interesting directions. There is never a dull moment on the record; the songs continually shift and distort until their conclusion. I can't think of a better album or direction Vampire Weekend could have taken. Easily their best work yet, and quite possibly the album of the year already for 2013. Expand
  18. N10
    Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic, my personal favorite indie rock record this year, album of the year material. Screw it, one of the better records of the past decade. Lovin' it!
  19. Feb 25, 2014
    9
    Vampire Weekend's Modern Vampires of the City is all kinds of brilliant; with great lyrics, a fantastic production and incredibly beautiful instruments, choral verses and vocals - this album is well worth a listen to. But unfortunately, the album is unable to get a 10 out of 10 score due to the annoying high-pitched vocal effects in Ya Hey, which I feel ruin that brilliant song, and alsoVampire Weekend's Modern Vampires of the City is all kinds of brilliant; with great lyrics, a fantastic production and incredibly beautiful instruments, choral verses and vocals - this album is well worth a listen to. But unfortunately, the album is unable to get a 10 out of 10 score due to the annoying high-pitched vocal effects in Ya Hey, which I feel ruin that brilliant song, and also due to the forgettable Everlasting Arms, which I feel is the weakest song on the album. Flaws album, this is a fantastic album. Expand
  20. May 26, 2013
    7
    Very good album, though for me not as good as there previous two albums. It starts out really well with three top notch songs, and then Diane Young(which sounds like Elvis, Billy Joel, and George Michael had a baby) which is a little annoying, but enjoyable enough. Don't Lie, Worship You, and Everlasting Arms are all worthy songs but don't really go anywhere in particular. Hannah Hunt isVery good album, though for me not as good as there previous two albums. It starts out really well with three top notch songs, and then Diane Young(which sounds like Elvis, Billy Joel, and George Michael had a baby) which is a little annoying, but enjoyable enough. Don't Lie, Worship You, and Everlasting Arms are all worthy songs but don't really go anywhere in particular. Hannah Hunt is one of the albums best, as is Step. The song Ya hey is possibly the least engaging on the album, with a lilting melody and the most annoying chorus sounds I have heard in a long time (a little like Fozzy Bear on Helium or something). Overall there is more to like than dislike, which is a good thing if you like Vampire Weekend as the third album usually is the stick in the mud for many groups. Expand
  21. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    This album takes all the elements about Contra that really developed the band’s sound, and keeps going in that direction while simultaneously, to some extent, abandoning key elements of their original style more something that’s a bit more refined, a bit more mature, and overall another step in the right direction. No matter which album you look at though, one element that runs through allThis album takes all the elements about Contra that really developed the band’s sound, and keeps going in that direction while simultaneously, to some extent, abandoning key elements of their original style more something that’s a bit more refined, a bit more mature, and overall another step in the right direction. No matter which album you look at though, one element that runs through all of them to me is how, as broad and sometimes overused as this sub-genre tag is, Vampire Weekend is the absolute epitome of “indie pop”. While always being chock full of catchy hooks & usually having a lot of accessibility, they’re also never afraid to experiment or throw in a few unorthodox elements, and you can always tell there’s a lot of effort & creativity being put into the songwriting in creating these sets of great pop tunes that, while easy to get into, always have a certain bite to them, whether it be with infectious hooks, fun energy or emotional resonance.

    The latter in particular is in my opinion the main improvement of this album in comparison to their previous work: the lyrics & moods. While not entirely devoid of substance, the emphasis of those albums, especially on the debut, seemed to be on just a group of cool upper-class college kids writing fun upbeat pop songs. Which is fine & all, but it seems like on MVotC something suddenly clicked in Ezra's brain that made him really get in touch with his sincere & vulnerable side, and as a result his lyrics became more interesting to read into & possibly connect with. One highly recurring theme here is Koenig’s strained & almost antagonistic relationship with religion, particularly on track like “Unbelievers”, “Worship You”, and more subtly & symbolically on various other tracks that are a bit harder to decode. Even though I’m a Christian myself I can appreciate anti-religious messages as long as they’re handled with a sense of intelligence & class. Fortunately that was the case here. “Unbelievers” is a song that to me can be interpreted in one of 2 ways: either it’s an “atheist love song” of sorts about a couple willing to undergo together the slight sense of shunning in society atheists tend to get for, or from the point of view of an atheist man dating a religious woman & struggling to keep that difference from getting in the way of things too much. Either way it’s a pretty engaging situation to think about. “Worship You” is a much more standard track pointing out valid hypocrisies of some of the worse religious people out there & why some people have a certain level of vendetta against organized religion altogether. Aside from that, other interesting tracks lyrically include the complicated & metaphor-flooded “Step,” which on multiple occasions compares a man’s relationship with his significant other to that of his relationship with his music collection/tastes. One more lyrically notable track is the opener “Obvious Bicycle”, which details a socially bankrupt man with seemingly little meaning to his life pandering to the greedy businessmen of the world to get by. It’s a descriptive character piece that I’m sure a lot of people could relate to in this day & age. Both in the previous cases & with this there’s a lot of sincerity & sentimentality put into the messages, and I hope to see this kind of emotional openness reappear on the band’s future work.

    My favorite track here, and one of my favorite songs of 2013 period, is Diane Young, a fantastically catchy, upbeat & kinda insane conglomeration of sounds that to me sounds like what would happen if Elvis was still alive in 2013 & listened to a lot of Pitchfork-promoted indie rock bands, and maybe an EDM producer or 2. And it’s all done with this carefree & bombastic attitude that I can’t imagine anyone not enjoying to some degree. Lyrically it’s not one of the more overflowing songs substance-wise, but it does have a cute little homophone-wordplay title & some clever lines about living life to its fullest if the titular fate won’t faze you. Going back to how the album is musically though, this album is probably the band at their most creative ambitious & probably at their most diverse, if not at around the same level as that of Contra. However, MVotC seemingly shows a mindset shift in their creative process, thinking more “let’s write a set of great tracks that flow together well” than “let’s see how crazy we can get in this one style incorporating this element here”, though the latter does admittedly pop up on a couple tracks here & there. Still there are definitely changes between tracks, between slow & sentimental tracks, steady mid-tempo grooves on tracks like “Ya Hey” (which incorporates these weird chipmunk-like backing vocals that while annoying at first grew on me a bit), a few that just go bonkers tempo-wise, and the downright creepy semi-closing track “Hudson”.

    One thing’s for sure on Modern Vampires of the City: Vampire Weekend isn’t even close to creatively bankrupt yet. 95/100
    Expand
  22. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    It seems like just yesterday that the four New Yorkers made a surprisingly big impact on America’s indie music scene with their self-titled debut, but Vampire Weekend has already come back for a 3rd album with Modern Vampires of the City, half a decade after their sudden success. And thinking “that was so long ago?” now is understandable since the band has never really departed from theirIt seems like just yesterday that the four New Yorkers made a surprisingly big impact on America’s indie music scene with their self-titled debut, but Vampire Weekend has already come back for a 3rd album with Modern Vampires of the City, half a decade after their sudden success. And thinking “that was so long ago?” now is understandable since the band has never really departed from their roots; even the remarkably darker Modern Vampires has a couple of tracks that are quite exactly in the style of their first two major releases. But let’s not draw the curtain over it: Vampire Weekend sound really fresh and renewed with their new album while their not-that-altered-after-all style makes it clear that Ezra, Rostam, Chris, and Chris are still able to find the same amount of pleasure in making music as they did when writing noughties classics like Oxford Comma or Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa. While the unbelievably smoggy New York on the CD cover could have induced you to expect a darker album, Modern Vampires is, with a few exceptions, quite buoyant, after all. Frontman Koenig is, for example, singing his lyrics so fast in Finger Back or Worship You that the accompanying booklet is necessary to understand everything. And in fact, songs like those two are, even though they are likely the two weakest songs on the album, really important in preventing the album from becoming dreary. On other songs like Hudson, Hannah Hunt or Young Lion, the band’s nature gets some modification as well and while all of this isn’t a Standing on the Shoulders of Giants-esque change in tone, it is still a very entertaining and very well-done new approach to their music. What also made me like it more than Vampire Weekend and Contra are the more understandable lyrics (barring Finger Back that is cryptic), however, rummaging through the internet during the first listening session is supposably still indispensable. Anyway, the songs provide even greater fun if you manage to comprehend (or basically just interpret because we don’t actually have proof for RapGenius’ annotations or the like) them and I’m willing to bet that they’ll land on your iPhone library just in a matter of days. It’s admittedly hard to make a step forward from two albums that were as great as their two previous ones, but while not continuously as good as their career highpoints Diane Young or Hannah Hunt; Modern Vampires of the City is an immensely fulfilling follow-up that you will soon adore for pretty much anything that you can adore about music. Expand
  23. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    [8.8] A more than competent successor to their second release, and a beautiful record. On their third release, Vampire Weekend is surprisingly, almost unexpectedly calm while being wonderfully entertaining. Although Vampire Weekend has lost the more obvious of their influences, the simplicity of this album's sound comes naturally, and accessibly. Somehow, even though they've lost their[8.8] A more than competent successor to their second release, and a beautiful record. On their third release, Vampire Weekend is surprisingly, almost unexpectedly calm while being wonderfully entertaining. Although Vampire Weekend has lost the more obvious of their influences, the simplicity of this album's sound comes naturally, and accessibly. Somehow, even though they've lost their distinctiveness that defined their personality, Modern Vampires is successful in convincing the listener that this is the sound of Vampire Weekend, even if it's so obviously different than the past Vampire Weekend. Modern Vampires succeeds most in reflection. Here is a band that presumably never expected fame, never wanted it, but once they have it, they deal with it healthily. They explore it, see what it has to offer, and in it they find an appropriate balance. In sound it may only be second to their most impressive release, but Modern Vampires never sacrifices the depth that Vampire Weekend has worked so hard to achieve. Expand
  24. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums of the Year!! Lyrically haunting, emotionally deep and superb in every other aspects. Do yourself a favor, and listen to this, your ears will thank you!
  25. May 15, 2013
    10
    They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, and I’ve always assumed the same to be true for albums. Really cool album art doesn’t necessarily ensure that the album within will be good, and vice versa. That’s seems like a simple fact. I’ve always tried to let musicians’ visual imagery take a backseat to their music. But Vampire Weekend is a different story because their visualsThey say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, and I’ve always assumed the same to be true for albums. Really cool album art doesn’t necessarily ensure that the album within will be good, and vice versa. That’s seems like a simple fact. I’ve always tried to let musicians’ visual imagery take a backseat to their music. But Vampire Weekend is a different story because their visuals are so inviting. As a band, Vampire Weekend has always been obsessed with the thematic aesthetics that surround their music. Each of their album covers feature the same block letter font and white trim, giving their catalogue a visually cohesive, instantly collectible look. Additionally, each cover captures the mood of the album it represents. The image of the blurry chandelier hanging above what looks like a college party that served as the cover to the band’s debut spoke to the restless youthfulness at play on that record. The confused looking (and in the end, litigious) model on Contra’s cover reflected the band’s progression into a slightly darker, more complex sound, both lyrically and musically....

    Read More at: http://www.recomedia.net/music/vampire-weekend-modern-vampires-of-the-city-review/
    Expand
  26. May 26, 2013
    7
    Like most indie bands that acquire success early on, Vampire Weekend made the classic beginner mistake of using every effect in the studio on their sophomore album. They created a bouncy, colorful album with a lot of pop and in a strange way, lacked the spontaneity and originality of the debut. With their latest attempt, Vampire Weekend take a step back from this neon world in favor of aLike most indie bands that acquire success early on, Vampire Weekend made the classic beginner mistake of using every effect in the studio on their sophomore album. They created a bouncy, colorful album with a lot of pop and in a strange way, lacked the spontaneity and originality of the debut. With their latest attempt, Vampire Weekend take a step back from this neon world in favor of a much darker, more mature sound. Sonically, it sounds much more similar to the sounds on the debut, but lyrically it steps away from collegiate themes for philosophy. Ezra Koenig is wise beyond his years with almost every lyric sounding like some long lost proverb, "Wisdom's a gift but you'd trade it for youth," "Stale conversation deserves but a bread knife." The album is also not only a collection of songs but truly an album experience. Overall, it is near flawless. The only downside is that every time Vampire Weekend do try to use an effect, they do so at the sacrifice of the song. The pitch shifting is annoying, disappointing, and cheesy. Hannah Hunt is a beautiful song that can change you, but at the most moving part of the song, they pitch shift Ezra for the worse. It feels like a mistake. And then there is Ya Hey. A song that is insanely catchy but sounds like Vampire Weekend featuring Alvin & the Chipmunks. Rather than an existential, ironic pop masterpiece it feels more like Fish Heads by Barnes & Barnes. Expand
  27. May 25, 2013
    9
    A fantastic record from start to finish. Modern Vampires is a solid, confident and intelligent album from a band that finally is starting to show some maturity and breadth. Their best effort to date.
  28. May 20, 2013
    10
    What an amazing album, an engrossing 3rd chapter that makes for an enjoyable listen along with the past two albums. It's a concrete step forward for Vampire Weekend that has already managed to get me excited for whatever the band is gonna do next! but thankfully I have 3 incredible albums to listen to while I wait.
  29. May 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow! Vampire Weekend is a new discovery for me and I don't know why I never listen to this group before!! Their songs are all unique and in each song there is something special and different than the others Great album! Love it! Expand
  30. May 18, 2013
    9
    A bold and confident album. The guys sound like they're making exactly the music they want to make and having fun while doing so. A bit more mellow on balance than their first two albums, so if you're craving the up-tempo pop that dominated their first two albums, this won't scratch your itch. But if you're looking for well-crafted music that'll make you stop what you're doing and payA bold and confident album. The guys sound like they're making exactly the music they want to make and having fun while doing so. A bit more mellow on balance than their first two albums, so if you're craving the up-tempo pop that dominated their first two albums, this won't scratch your itch. But if you're looking for well-crafted music that'll make you stop what you're doing and pay close attention, it will. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    67
    If Modern Vampires of the City makes one thing clear, it's that Vampire Weekend's just getting started here.
  2. 80
    Overall, Modern Vampires of The City sounds fantastic, but not overproduced.
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    While MVOTC doesn’t represent a seismic leap from their earlier material, the general feeling is of a much more considered collection, with greater emphasis on song craft.