Monster

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Like ZZ Top and Rush before them, Kiss seem to have finally rediscovered (after their stodgy 2010 comeback album, Sonic Boom) what made them so great in the first place.
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Kiss' 20th LP draws from their bottomlessly shallow cesspool of comfortably dumb cowbell-glam wham-bam – with stewardess sex, married groupies and "The Devil Is Me," where Gene Simmons lowtalks like the smoothest used-car salesman in hell.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Kiss's 20th studio album is a steady if unremarkable outing.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    With Monster, Kiss hit the mark best when rewriting the sound they developed as youngsters and when they keep it simple, predictable, and fun.
  5. 50
    KISS may have set out to sound like their old selves on Monster, but they strayed from the pop sensibility that made them great.
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    40
    Although the album barely brings its head above the water-line marked "passable", it's still too slick, too unified and too perfectly structured to convince you that apart from the vocals of Stanley and Simmons, the rest of the album is nothing more than a hodge-podge of contributions from various pony-tailed musos from somewhere sunny.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    Really awful. I love KISS, but this is just plain terrible, sorry to say. When did they forget how to write songs? No melodies, justReally awful. I love KISS, but this is just plain terrible, sorry to say. When did they forget how to write songs? No melodies, just headache-inducing noise. They should take a listen to their old stuff, try to find some fresh inspiration. Full Review »
  2. Jul 20, 2015
    8
    The Devil is me é a merda que gene simmons sempre insiste em fazer na discografia do Kiss Wall Of Sound é fraca também
    Top 5 Monster 2012
    The Devil is me é a merda que gene simmons sempre insiste em fazer na discografia do Kiss Wall Of Sound é fraca também
    Top 5 Monster 2012
    1-Long Way Down
    2-Freak
    3-Eat Your Heart Out
    4-Hell Or Hallelujah
    5-All For The Love Of Rock & Roll
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 13, 2015
    8
    4 votos negativos???????????????????????????????????????????.... só não dou 10 por causa da porcaria The Devil Is Me e a chata Wall Of4 votos negativos???????????????????????????????????????????.... só não dou 10 por causa da porcaria The Devil Is Me e a chata Wall Of Sound,,o resto é foda é 1000 portanto 4 votos negativos para Monster (2012) é inaceitável Full Review »