User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 384
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    This playlist is basically a post-Views reflection of his success. His ability to be happy about the outcome of his feuds. To explore new territories and share his love for new music. There is less sadness and insecurities. There is indeed more life. Brilliance.
  2. Mar 21, 2017
    7
    "More Life" isn't great. It's not timeless, and it's certainly not "the best thing he's released in the past 4 years" ("If You're Reading This It's Too Late" still exists). Simply put, More Life is a solid project, one that shows a Drake who outgrew the flaws of his "VIEWS"-days. On "More Life", Drake's attempts to imitate/borrow from Jamaican dancehall and afro-house music show nuance and"More Life" isn't great. It's not timeless, and it's certainly not "the best thing he's released in the past 4 years" ("If You're Reading This It's Too Late" still exists). Simply put, More Life is a solid project, one that shows a Drake who outgrew the flaws of his "VIEWS"-days. On "More Life", Drake's attempts to imitate/borrow from Jamaican dancehall and afro-house music show nuance and skill, while his attempts to do the same with UK grime are only hindered by an out-of-place Giggs feature. Drake as a rapper returns with an "If You're Reading This It's Too Late"-esque urgency; he sounds truly confident on "Free Smoke" and "Lose You", all while managing to drop a poignant observation about his status and level of success. His flow sounds rigid at times—the raw braggadocio of "Gyalchester" is only dulled by a rigidly 'in pocket' flow, while his delivery could use a shot of adrenaline on tracks such as "Sacrifices". The writing on "More Life", thank the lord, does not even bare a distant resemblance to the writing on "VIEWS". The "you toyin' with it like happy meals" struggle bars were sent for an eternal lap around the track of shame, never to be used again. It's not a great project; the length is a little much, and Drake needs an accent coach if he plans to make some of these musical ventures believable, but it's a solid return to form for the 6God himself. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Who can hate this album? This is better than VIEWS for sure. KMT, Passionfruit, Portland, Teenage Fever, Free Smoke, Do Not Disturb, Ice Melt,... how can you hate this album? This should be one of the best album of 2017
  4. Mar 21, 2017
    8
    It may not be regarded as his best work (it's a "playlist album"), but the versatility of different sounds, samples, guests and genres with Drake going back to his roots while brings others to theirs as well (e.g. Kanye) really shines through. He's much more reflective and willing to share his experiences in this album than in Views. The highlights for me were "Lose You" "Blem" "TeenageIt may not be regarded as his best work (it's a "playlist album"), but the versatility of different sounds, samples, guests and genres with Drake going back to his roots while brings others to theirs as well (e.g. Kanye) really shines through. He's much more reflective and willing to share his experiences in this album than in Views. The highlights for me were "Lose You" "Blem" "Teenage Fever" "Gyalchester" "Glow" and "Do Not Disturb." I also like how Drake is putting on other nationalities to give them more recognition off the powerful platform he knows he has. The mix of Carribean and UK Grime really keeps the album fresh and interesting even though they may not appeal to everyone. At this point Drake has expanded his sound as far as he's able to without alienating his core fan base and giving us enough music to last us until 2018 (More Life P.2). 8.5/10 Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2017
    9
    This is a very good album not a masterpiece just very good It might even be my favorite Drake album so far. The Playlist is perfect not to long. very happy with this mixtapes from Drake good job.
  6. Mar 20, 2017
    8
    This mixtape is good, it's so better than Views. There are commercial songs but it still good! The best songs are Free Smoke and Get it Togheter, but there is too much music (22 songs...)
  7. Mar 20, 2017
    8
    A very good drake album/mixtape, he explores new ground on songs like No Long Talk, Get it Together and KMT, but pulls it off masterfully. He has built on his dancehall brand and vibe with Passionfruit and Get it Together. He can still pull off a classic Drake slow song, such as teenage fever and Nothings into Somethings. While Free Smoke is reminiscent of his work from Nothing was theA very good drake album/mixtape, he explores new ground on songs like No Long Talk, Get it Together and KMT, but pulls it off masterfully. He has built on his dancehall brand and vibe with Passionfruit and Get it Together. He can still pull off a classic Drake slow song, such as teenage fever and Nothings into Somethings. While Free Smoke is reminiscent of his work from Nothing was the Same, a fantastic start to the album which grabs the listener from the first beat drops. As is in every Drake album, there are a few skippable songs toward the middle of the album, such as Nothings into Somethings and Glow (a bit of a let down considering the audacity of the two artists on it). However, this is some of Drake's best work, maybe even as good as his earlier work (Take Care/Nothing was the Same) and the diversity opens up new opportunities for Drake.

    BEST: Free Smoke, Passionfruit, Portland, Teenage Fever

    WORST: Nothings into Somethings, Can't Have Everything, Glow
    Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    After a long, tedious detour at Views, the king has finally returned to his throne. Not that he ever left, but this is definitely a return to form. The decision to call this collection of songs a 'playlist' makes sense when you actually hear the album. There is so much variety here, even at 22 tracks it still holds up well and is worth the run time. The sounds that Drake introduces giveAfter a long, tedious detour at Views, the king has finally returned to his throne. Not that he ever left, but this is definitely a return to form. The decision to call this collection of songs a 'playlist' makes sense when you actually hear the album. There is so much variety here, even at 22 tracks it still holds up well and is worth the run time. The sounds that Drake introduces give the impression of a 'world tour' of sorts, mixing different sounds such as grime, dance hall, and afrobeat into the standard mix of rap and R&B. But where others would instantly fail, Drake has already planted these musical 'seeds' into our minds with his last album, Views. Songs like One Dance, Controlla, and Hotline bling have all cemented these sounds into our palate. Yet, More Life adds much more than just dance tunes. We get great flows, moody slow songs, and inspirational anthems, ala Glow Ft. Kanye West. And the feature propel this playlist even further with guest appearances by Skepta, Giggs, Quavo, Young Thug, and PARTYNEXTDOOR, not to mention a slew of other artists. Overall, the music Drake enjoys is displayed here with a sense of appreciation, where Drake can take a step back and let the world see what he has experienced. Where he has gone, and what kind of new sounds exist outside our small world. Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    classic probably my favorite drake album no one is doing better at being a rapper, R&B, dancehall, and house music than drake is. his ability to do music from different cultures amazingly is unique.
  10. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "More life" the most diverse project, was a good playlist but at the same time it wasn't for many. More life gives us a more vocal Drake, where he gets personal in songs like "Lose you", "Can't have everything", and "Do not Disturb". Drake gave us more tropical, island type vibes throughout the playlist.
    It's (in my opinion) the most interesting work Drake ever did. He gave us a playlist we can relate to and gave us the (old) Drake that we knew from "Best I've ever had" to "Take Care". Hopefully Drake gives us a better mixtape, album, or playlist in 2018.
    Expand
  11. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Going into this project, I did not know what to expect. By the end, I was left very impressed. The project shows a wide range of Drakes styles and talents, one of his best releases to date.
  12. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    This "playlist" is yet another outstanding feat by Drake showing that he is capable of creating cohesive and unique projects. From the intro "Free Smoke" to the trap heavy "KMT (feat. Giggs)", he displays an UK influenced set of tracks, each establishing its own identity. From the rap heavy "Lose You" to the versatile "Do Not Disturb", he presents to the audience the Drake they wished uponThis "playlist" is yet another outstanding feat by Drake showing that he is capable of creating cohesive and unique projects. From the intro "Free Smoke" to the trap heavy "KMT (feat. Giggs)", he displays an UK influenced set of tracks, each establishing its own identity. From the rap heavy "Lose You" to the versatile "Do Not Disturb", he presents to the audience the Drake they wished upon for during "Views". The Kanye collab may feel weak at first listen, but upon repeating it, shows their strong chemistry. "Can't Have Everything" stands out along with "Do Not Disturb" as the hardest verses Drake has given us since "Back to Back". One collaboration that I was least excited for was the PARTYNEXTDOOR collab "Since Way Back". After hearing Drake and him collab on Views, it was mildly disappointing since it had most anticipated it after IYRTITL. But this collab adds up to be the best song on here, as well as their best collab highlighting their chemistry with the brightest colors. Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2017
    9
    5 really good songs on here, the rest sound like justin bieber songs. Enjoyed this more than his album last year. Not a huge fan of drake but still the best album I've heard this year so far.
  14. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    Aubery Drake Graham is an incredible music talent that has been making music since 2006 and has continually delivered musically. more life is drake curating variety of sounds.
  15. Mar 23, 2017
    8
    A testament to the importance of collaboration in music, especially when the artists grow so big that they can't seem to get out of their heads. An unexpected treat from one of Hip-hop's biggest voices.
  16. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    Drake may not technically be a great singer, but his voice is very soothing on songs like PassionFruit, Get it Together and Madiba Riddim. He does everything you would expect Drake to do, rap and sing. Emotional R&B joints, hard hitting rapping and pop songs that make you want to dance. Overall, its a great project.
  17. Mar 24, 2017
    9
    While not a full length album, More Life does what it intended to do and that is work as a playlist. This project should be seen for what it is presented as an evaluated as such. With that being said More Life boasts an array of tracks and features that best Drake's fourth studio album Views. Though some of the features didn't add much, the ones that did where remarkably high notes onWhile not a full length album, More Life does what it intended to do and that is work as a playlist. This project should be seen for what it is presented as an evaluated as such. With that being said More Life boasts an array of tracks and features that best Drake's fourth studio album Views. Though some of the features didn't add much, the ones that did where remarkably high notes on the playlist. This playlist has something for everyone that is a fan of the Canadian rapper/singer. While being a filler between Drake's Views and his next project, More Lifelike 'If You're Reading This...' are great mix-tapes and buffer records that sometimes outshine full studio album as did More Life in the case of Views. My final analysis is, if you're a fan of Drake than this is the project you've been waiting for and if you occasional listen to Drake than it's still a solid listen. Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2017
    10
    AMAZING album, much better than views, no fillers... 6 GOD ...................................................................................................................................
  19. Mar 20, 2017
    7
    Interesting project. For me it could have used a little more tracks like Gyalchester, which is a complete banger, No long talk, Can't have everything or Free Smokes and less of the commercial Dancehall tracks. However the dancehall tracks on More Life are different from those on VIEWS, because they're at least interesting. Only two tracks fall completely flat for me: Since way back (I'mInteresting project. For me it could have used a little more tracks like Gyalchester, which is a complete banger, No long talk, Can't have everything or Free Smokes and less of the commercial Dancehall tracks. However the dancehall tracks on More Life are different from those on VIEWS, because they're at least interesting. Only two tracks fall completely flat for me: Since way back (I'm just not a fan of PND) and Glow which could eventually grow on me after a couple more listens. Production on point as always with a highlight being Portland, produced by Murda. Overall an interesting project and an improvement over VIEWS. Expand
  20. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Drake it at his best when he is playing curator and blending genre bending styles from Dancehall, Grime, EDM, R&B, and Hip-Hop. His versatility sunshine atop top shelf production.
  21. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    This album gave me everything that I wanted from Views. I am a Drake fan, but every album he drops always leave me with thinking, more could have been done. But this album has it going from the jump. Top 3 projects he has done. Maybe the best. I could be playing this until 2018.
  22. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. More Life might not be Drake's best project to date, but it's diverse. From the trap-flavored Portland to summer-anthems like ''Passionfruit'' and ''Blem'', More Life feels like Drake's most fun project and most experimental. British artists like Griggs, Sampha and Skepta on songs like ''No Long Talk'', ''KMT'', ''4422'' and ''Skepta's Interlude'' to Quavo, Travi$ Scott, Young Thug, 2 Chainz and Kanye West make the album all the more lively and every artist work their features very well. If Views was a 6, turn that 6 upside down it's a 9 now. Expand
  23. Mar 22, 2017
    10
    Wow. Our Papi Drizzy Drake dropped some amazing choons for his tings (papi's angels). We are truely blessed to have got this from him. Everyone in drake section on KTT is overdose from fapping to his beautiful voice and singing. It is a wonderful classic album solidified by the life changing young thug verse papi wisely gifted to us. Thank you Papi you truly are the greatest of all times.Wow. Our Papi Drizzy Drake dropped some amazing choons for his tings (papi's angels). We are truely blessed to have got this from him. Everyone in drake section on KTT is overdose from fapping to his beautiful voice and singing. It is a wonderful classic album solidified by the life changing young thug verse papi wisely gifted to us. Thank you Papi you truly are the greatest of all times. The only thing I can criticize is that if you weren't wearing a hardhat when these choons dropped it might have damaged your head and made you angry. Sad! Crine u Brad as Pitt Get over it and enjoy greatness as well as Drizzy's beautiful voice / body. Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    More life !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Drake Is the goat
    if you have an open mind and willing to travel through music, let music make you feel
    this playlist is what i needed
  25. Mar 23, 2017
    8
    More life has fulfilled its goal...that is being a playlist for the people (keyword PLAYLIST). Though it has its low lights (his softer tone doesn't really go very well with harder grimier tracks), I can at least appreciate the effort he has put in exploring the black culture in other parts of the world.

    PS get to know the difference between afrobeat, mzansi house and dance hall. It
    More life has fulfilled its goal...that is being a playlist for the people (keyword PLAYLIST). Though it has its low lights (his softer tone doesn't really go very well with harder grimier tracks), I can at least appreciate the effort he has put in exploring the black culture in other parts of the world.

    PS get to know the difference between afrobeat, mzansi house and dance hall. It will help you understand, and maybe appreciate his new stuff more.
    Expand
  26. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    Drake's latest "playlist" More Life is absolutely timeless. Even with a dramatic shift in sound from his previous works, this playlist still sounds as "Drake-ish" as ever. Its perfect.
  27. Mar 24, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Drake's More Life provides a diverse catalog of music that delves into Hip-Hop, Trap, Pop, RnB, and Dancehall. While the project may be called a playlist, it still flows quite like a regular Drake album with interesting interludes that seamlessly transition from song to song. Too often is Drake criticized for something that no artist should ever be criticized for and that is being diverse. The dancehall poppy songs on this album sound much more polished than his past work. They are flat out feel good music. The RnB is refreshing and reminiscent of past projects such as So Far Gone. The trap bangers are filled with interesting cadences and melodies. Lastly, your typical hip-hop tracks are what you would expect from Drake, a conversation between him and the listener where he reflects on what he's going through over beautifully sampled beats. Let's not forget when Drake wants to rap, he's as good as anyone. Expand
  28. Apr 2, 2017
    10
    The sound & theme is very perfect.
    Best Tracks are obviously the carribean jams "Madiba riddim" & "Blem".
    This is def. Best Drake project since "So Far Gone"
  29. Mar 29, 2017
    8
    All though this isn't Drake's best work, it is undoubtedly his most diverse project to date. From the melodic pop, dancehall cuts such as "Passionfruit" & "Blem" to boastful hard hitting bangers such as "Free Smoke," "Portland," and "No Long Talk" and last but not least his more signature emotional crooning Hip Hop & R&B where he seamlessly fuses his R&B vocals with his always evolvingAll though this isn't Drake's best work, it is undoubtedly his most diverse project to date. From the melodic pop, dancehall cuts such as "Passionfruit" & "Blem" to boastful hard hitting bangers such as "Free Smoke," "Portland," and "No Long Talk" and last but not least his more signature emotional crooning Hip Hop & R&B where he seamlessly fuses his R&B vocals with his always evolving flow in songs such as "Teenage Fever," "Can't Have Everything," and "Do not Disturb." Drake has displayed a level of versatility that can only be matched by his 'Take Care' days and has once again taken the music world by storm.
    Overall I would give this experiment an 8 largely to the rollercoaster ride of emotion and different sounds and vibes Drake seems to pull off in the project. Largely this project feels like everything VIEWS should have been in terms of execution and material. But at times it still feels like Drake has run out of things to say now that he is at the top. The fact it is difficult to determine and categorize whether he is a rapper, R&B singer, or pop star shows that he is doing something special here that has never been done and feels like he is creating his own genre. Although this project in my eyes doesn't seem to eclipse previous works such as "Take Care," "IYRTITL," and "NWTS" this project will be something that he can look back on as something successful in his career and hopefully can build off of this and find more inspirations to take his music to the next level.
    Expand
  30. Apr 5, 2017
    8
    After fan-pleaser 'Views' I hoped Drake would return to experimenting and come back with something more sophisticated like 'If You're Reading This It's Too Late' not giving a **** about sales, so when I heard 'Fake Love' I thought my prayers were answered, it's a song with power yet soul. However, this isn't so much the case for the rest of the album. It starts off nice with some memorableAfter fan-pleaser 'Views' I hoped Drake would return to experimenting and come back with something more sophisticated like 'If You're Reading This It's Too Late' not giving a **** about sales, so when I heard 'Fake Love' I thought my prayers were answered, it's a song with power yet soul. However, this isn't so much the case for the rest of the album. It starts off nice with some memorable songs until 'Get It Together'. After that two Dancehall songs that make me wonder if Drake turned into the hiphop-equivalent of Paul Simon. I have to say 'Tat on my wrist, like I do not know what permenant is' is my favorite lyric of the album, in terms of flow not so much meaning. Then Skepta has appears and more famous artists start to show up. I hate to say it but I feel like as the first half is Drake lending a platform for rather unknown artists, the second half is other famous artists lending their songs to Drake. It feels like my favourite songs off this album are because of the guest appearences and not so much Drake himself, with the exception of 'Sacrifices' which really feels like a Drake song, however 2Chainz could in my opinion be excluded... Still, we shouldn't forget making music is a process of cooperation, and though some songs sound like Drake has little to do with them, I still wonder how come PARTYNEXTDOOR's or Travi$ Scott's solo work never is as good as their work with Drake. I think the best thing Drake does with his music is bringing the best out of other artists, which in itself too is an art. Expand
  31. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    That's the best album of Drake since Take Care, he did a soft album. It's amazig how Drake evolved as an artist, in Views to More Life. This album is filled with different emotions,
  32. Mar 27, 2017
    10
    A sprawling take on every genre that Drake has dared to touch, this album feels more The Life of Pablo than Graduation, with a demanding track-list that even the most die hard drake fans might feel compelled to skip through. But within this plethora of rhythms, guest spots, and thematic material lies Drake's best material since Nothing Was The Same, maybe Take Care. It feels closer to theA sprawling take on every genre that Drake has dared to touch, this album feels more The Life of Pablo than Graduation, with a demanding track-list that even the most die hard drake fans might feel compelled to skip through. But within this plethora of rhythms, guest spots, and thematic material lies Drake's best material since Nothing Was The Same, maybe Take Care. It feels closer to the heart and more authentic than the impersonal Views, with verses that both reflect on personal insecurities, and attack the opposition. It also shares energy with his mixtape If You're Reading This, but with a more refined and mature tone. Drake feels fully aware of his perch within hip-hop, and seems to finally be honoring his unique power he holds over the genre. Some songs call back to "old Drake", with bare-bones instrumentals providing the perfect backdrop for Drake's high register to kick in. Others are in-your-face bangers, ensuring that this album will play through car stereos for the next few years. Still other tracks take on a tropical vibe, with tasteful guest spots allowing the genre to come across beautifully and authentically. No matter the direction, each track feels both fleshed out and natural, emphasizing Drake's ability as both the centerpiece and the man behind the curtains. Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2017
    8
    This is the best project of Drake's Career so far... It's really not even close.

    Here, Drake's lyrics are genuinely substantive, and he comes off as considerably more emotionally mature than he did with any of his previous music. His performances sound incredibly dynamic in comparison to the performances on his earlier discography. On Views and other projects before that, with the
    This is the best project of Drake's Career so far... It's really not even close.

    Here, Drake's lyrics are genuinely substantive, and he comes off as considerably more emotionally mature than he did with any of his previous music.

    His performances sound incredibly dynamic in comparison to the performances on his earlier discography.
    On Views and other projects before that, with the exception of some of his more braggadocios tracks like Motto or Energy, he comes off as very monotone and maybe even somewhat uninterested. But throughout this project, the emotion that the lyrics should theoretically be backed by actually comes through into his voice on every song. and his singing is better as well as a result. He demonstrates more range, and his voice often sounds a lot smoother.

    And the production... oh, thank you Kanye, it's finally good on an Aubrey record! It's not the typical formula of spacey synths and hard percussion to make these 'up in the clouds' sounding bangers that normally occupies all of Drake's discography, but rather it's dynamic, it's experimental, it's really interesting, and it's actually... really GOOD.

    All of these improvements combine to make a genuinely compelling.... and actually great record. It almost gives me hope that Drake may actually be going down the right path. We'll see when he releases his next record (presumably) in 2019 though.

    -Justin Howell
    Expand
  34. Jun 23, 2017
    10
    While Views was not his best work. More Life is a step in the right direction. My biggest critique is that it has a few too many songs. I believe Drake is at his best when he makes concise focused work. Hopefully his next project will get back to that. However, there are many enjoyable songs on More Life.
  35. Apr 21, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now since this is a "playlist" its more about the listening experience than the body of work. You have tracks for everyone to like and dislike at the same time: From R&B to trap influenced records to dancehall and even some grime, its all in here. This can obviously be good and bad, depending on how much you enjoy the different genres of music. This also implies that there is a clear lack of direction, which was probably intended, and personally I don't mind that. But it brings out one major issue: The focus on Drake kinda falls back on this one. It seems like its not him carrying this playlist, its the variety of sounds, the production, the samples, the features. Because fully focusing on Drake only further establishes that he seems to be running out of topics to talk about: Most of it is brag rap, there are 1 or 2 introspective tracks and of course his lovey dovey songs which at this point are mostly recycled from previous tapes. There is no clear identity behind the musician who is Drake anymore. Expand
  36. Apr 18, 2017
    10
    Drake's best effort in years. This album shows how Drake evolved as an artist. This album is filled with different emotions, It may not be regarded as his best work (it's a "playlist album"), but the versatility of different sounds amazing, ( A modern day classic )Good job Drizzy.
  37. May 8, 2017
    7
    Llamada por el propio Drake como una playlist, está lleno de sonidos que van desde lo más rítmico, mainstream hasta un hip-hop/rap estilo gangsta como se puede escuchar en “Gyalchester” y otras. En varias pistas me recuerdan a su álbum pasado (Views) que podría decir que usa la misma fórmula de “One Dance”, con ritmos caribeños y toques de música dance que hacen que este álbum tengaLlamada por el propio Drake como una playlist, está lleno de sonidos que van desde lo más rítmico, mainstream hasta un hip-hop/rap estilo gangsta como se puede escuchar en “Gyalchester” y otras. En varias pistas me recuerdan a su álbum pasado (Views) que podría decir que usa la misma fórmula de “One Dance”, con ritmos caribeños y toques de música dance que hacen que este álbum tenga canciones muy digeribles para el público popular como son: “Passionfuit”, “Get It Together” y “Madiba Riddim”. No soy muy fan del hip-hop, pero les puedo decir que es un álbum algo difícil de escuchar completo para una persona “común” porque es un álbum que te trae para todos lados al tener distintos géneros, puedes estar escuchando una canción suave como “Passionfruit” y al siguiente track cambiar abruptamente de género. Se podría decir que es un álbum bueno, no cae en lo mediocre, aunque el único problema que tengo es que muchas de las canciones suenan como si fueran demos, como si no hubieran pasado por un filtro para mejorar el sonido de las canciones, a lo mejor sea el toque personal de Drake, pero, en fin. Expand
  38. Apr 14, 2017
    7
    Drake has decided to call this Album a "Playlist' to try to be different, however the album has very little different from his previous work. While this isn't a bad move for him I do wish he would push a few more boundaries. Best Tracks: No Long Talk, Passionfruit, Get It Together, Portland, Ice Melts.
  39. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    Not afraid to change up, there's a different style of music in this album for everyone to like. Wether R&B/pop like teenage fever and passionfruit to hiphop/rap bashers like KMT and Gyalchaster, theres something for everyone.
  40. Mar 26, 2017
    10
    This Project shows the evolution of Drake. As always, there are Trap, Rap, R&B and Pop, which shows the incredible ability of Drake in singing and rapping. Shout out to the producers, they made an amazing work!
  41. Mar 27, 2017
    8
    I really liked it, even the slow tracks, but I think that the inclusion of Gibbs ruined two songs. Not only that, but I think Drake should have been more dominant in the album, being him the main voice instead of letting other artists take over the song.
  42. Mar 28, 2017
    7
    More Life did give me more life, but not enough to call it a classic. I have been listening to Drake since about 2008, like I am sure a lot of us have, but this is not what I wanted to hear from him. Songs like "Free Smoke", "Gyalchester", "Do Not Disturb", and the first verse of "KMT" are the type of Drake everyone wants to hear. He went back to his old self on his song "Lose You" withMore Life did give me more life, but not enough to call it a classic. I have been listening to Drake since about 2008, like I am sure a lot of us have, but this is not what I wanted to hear from him. Songs like "Free Smoke", "Gyalchester", "Do Not Disturb", and the first verse of "KMT" are the type of Drake everyone wants to hear. He went back to his old self on his song "Lose You" with intricate flows and a solid, careful hook. Other than that there aren't too many noteworthy songs on the project. Out of his 22 songs, coming away with 5 hits is mediocre at best for Drake. This wasn't what we all hoped it would be, but it was the next best thing. Expand
  43. Apr 20, 2017
    10
    Drake shows us different styles and genres performed excellently.
    More Life sounds pretty much amazing, doesn't seems overextended like Views did. Lyrics are little bit simple, but if you wanna listen to good sounding music, More Life is for you.
  44. Jul 17, 2017
    7
    good album............................................................................................................................................................
  45. Feb 27, 2018
    7
    An improvement from the snooze fest that was Views? Definitely.

    This is the project that Views was expected to be, and while More Life contains an almost equal amount of filler for certain tracks, the utilization of more renowned collabs makes for a consistent rap album. Production is saturated with the same old dance melodies that Drake is known for, but unlike the previous album,
    An improvement from the snooze fest that was Views? Definitely.

    This is the project that Views was expected to be, and while More Life contains an almost equal amount of filler for certain tracks, the utilization of more renowned collabs makes for a consistent rap album. Production is saturated with the same old dance melodies that Drake is known for, but unlike the previous album, Drake at least amps up on this one. The lyrical ability is always a given for this Toronto artist, along with the flows. However, this is not even the best mixtape that Drake has put out there. The continuation of Drake's repetitive style is what holds this album back from being compared to that of IYRTITL, and Take Care. Nevertheless, Drake delivers us a fine piece of work.

    This album will most likely be unable to stand out as time progresses, but at least we get a glimpse of what will hopefully be Drake's most triumphant comeback yet.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 28, 2017
    50
    More Life is another overly serious, musically uninteresting effort.
  2. Apr 5, 2017
    70
    The variety makes for a better listen, to say nothing of the care taken into sequencing the playlist. ... The filler is merely soporific.
  3. Mar 29, 2017
    80
    Thankfully, More Life is Drizzy’s homecoming, a vocalization of the heart in his heartless world, and a veritable return to form for it. Welcome back to the Firm.