User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 1154 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Not over-rated at all and deserving its recognition as one of the best mainstream hip-hop releases of the decade. My Beautiful... is complex, satisfying and overcooked in every possible way but its a natural progression to Kanye's swaggery and boastfulness in lyrical content to what essentially is one of the most epic releases of our generation while expanding the genre boundaries.
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I never thought one of my favorite hip-hop artists would be able to top his first two albums. This album shocked me in accomplishing that feat in only 12 actual tracks. The thematic elements illustrate the intricacies of fame and all that comes with it. West is at the zenith of creativity in his productivity, however the anthemic 'All of the Lights' is challenged by RZA's 'Dark Fantasy' for beat of the album. It's a moody, bombastic, visceral, gritty, polished package laced with West's trademark confidence and emotion. It's truly unfortunate this album was snubbed for an Album of the Year nomination. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I give it a perfect. It had many flaws but they blended so well. He was capable of creating 10+ different sounding songs, but yet put it together as one. Not to mention almost every song had radio play. Not to say that means anything, but just to say it can be playe in different enviromets.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    I'm not the type to just give out 10's to every album I please, but this is a record that truly deserves it. Kanye went the extra mile to release one of the most compelling hip hop albums of all time, inspiring and ground breaking in every way possible. I'll be listening to this one for years to come.
  5. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the millenium. Every song is different, yet still great. Kanye's rapping, the guest verses, production... it's all great. I really like the aggressively exciting feeling the album gives off. Lost in the World is the best song I've ever heard.
  6. May 30, 2012
    9
    Explorations of Kanye West on the previous Graduation and 808s & Heartbreak pay on this fifth studio album, his best career. Not only do we find the efficiency of raw hip-hop's first efforts - pressing this flow and clever - but West maintains interest throughout the 69 minutes drive thanks to its ability to play with sounds (electric guitar, brass, piano, violins, electronic loops). Guests and artists sampled (from King Crimson to Bon Iver, KiD CuDi through and Elton John) give an idea of the wide registry covered. Kanye gives birth and takes advantage of very great songs. Not convinced? Take a look at the movie Runaway, available on the web: 33 minutes of the best moments of the compact. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    A meticulously drawn sketch of perfection, Kanye West proves that he is on the top of the world, bringing in new and old friends all over the music world to aid with his magnum opus, he takes influences from Aphex Twin, Trent Reznor, Dr Dre and shows that he can deconstruct his ego to create something truly beautiful.
    The highlight of the album, Monster, is worth the ticket price alone,
    with Jay Z's verse interlocking with West's production to unleash a few seconds of intelligent dance music, created from distorted samples and rap vocals, West has created something which is as advanced as technology and his brain can allow it to be; which places him above the rest.
    I give this album an 9 from a 10 for some unintelligent and unnecessarily vulgar lyrical content.
    Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' is Kanyes masterpiece, so unique and wonderfully crafted that it's easy to understand it's critical success.
    This 5th album once again shows Kanyes evolving nature, with the album (like his others) taking on it's own persona, sounding like no other Kanye album to date. It's this evolving style that makes Kanye seem so fresh each new release. Can't wait
    for his 6th studio album now. Expand
  9. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    Kanye West was let loose on this concept-ish album, this is sooo Kanye. Crazy beats, self-centered lyrics, artsy and very technical with the production. This album is one of the greatest in rap history with classics like Runaway and Monster and will continue revolutionizing the rap game 5 years from now. The sole downside of this album is the inclusion of Swiss Beatz, one of the worst performers in rap history, but even his part is limited. All in all, this album is a classic and I'm glad I was a fan when it came out. Expand
  10. May 31, 2012
    10
    In November of 2010, I was awaiting nothing more than Kanye West's My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll admit, I was a little bit wary of the results, especially after the disappointment from listening to 808's. However, I found myself indulged in the greatest music I'd ever heard. From the only good thing Nicki Minaj has ever done (the intro of Dark Fantasy), the the powerful closing music under Gil Scott-Heron's Comment No. 1. Interspersed with good, marketable music, in addition to some amazing, less mainstream tracks, I found myself loving it the entire time. My personal favorite moments were Gorgeous, Devil in a New Dress, Runaway, and Lost In The World, all of which were staples in the rest of the album. This album is something completely different from most hip-hop we hear today, and is without a doubt one of the greatest, if not the greatest, albums I have ever listened to. Expand
  11. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is a great album with well written and produced songs. It is truely a masterpiece. There isn't a bad son on the track at all. It's also nice how each song has a very nice and Lon length to it.
  12. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The greatest gift music has given the earth is its expression. Some of the most beautiful, haunting music is inspired by the most painful moments of an individual's life, think of "For Emma, Forever Ago" or "Pinkerton". So it's no surprise that Kanye West's most inspired, maniacal, and inglorious music was made during a time when the whole world seemed to hate his guts. Sure President Obama repeatedly called him a "jackass" and Taylor Swift now probably throws darts at a picture of his face, but damn the music that resulted from all the self-loathing and self-pity from his self-enforced exile is impressive. Controversy suits Mr. West well, and amazingly the music featured steals the stop-light from his turbulent life. The opening "Dark Fantasy" boasts a triumphant, angelic chorus and sharp lyrical word play that references everything from "Family Matters" to The Kings of Leon, early fan favorite "POWER" is every bit magnificent and moving as its title suggests, "All of the Lights" is a mainstream ready single that features an elegant piano interlude, but it all builds up to the climax "Runaway". The song is hauntingly disarming. Its blunt, unforgiving, uncomfortable, and beautiful. This is the sound of West's life crystalized, it captures all the noisy chatter of the media and his self-hatred into a song that is real in a way that few songs can hope to achieve. All in all this album is a tour-de-deforce and easily West's best work. It may just make you forget whoever Kanye West is, because this isn't just the work of a man; it's the work of his soul. Expand
  13. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Kanye West is certainly not the most popular icon in pop culture, but he sure deserves his credit as not a rapper, but an artist. Calling Kanye a "rapper" is a prime example of an understatement. Each and every song on this album shows true artistic vision at it's finest. The least satisfying song on the album is "So Appalled", not because of the production, not because of the lyrics, but because there is just not enough Kanye, his verse winds up being lost in the slew of features he collected for the song. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, simply put, is a masterpiece, a pop culture triumph, and deserves every bit of acclaim that it has received. Mr. West has yet again, shown growth, and truly remarkable artistry. Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    20 years from now, when people look back on hip-hop music, and how it's evolved over the years, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be looked at as a game changer. In fact, it very well could be grouped along with albums such as 36 chambers and Illmatic as one of the greatest albums in the history of the genre. With this album, West creates a groundbreaking work that has been previously unseen in the genre as far as artistry goes. The production is unbelievably different from any other hip hop album made, with the instrumentation having such a "real" sound to it, for lack of a better word. With My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye expands the definition of hip-hop so broadly that many artists will look to this album as inspiration. The saying "hip hop isn't art" although already invalid; My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is probably the finest work of art the genre has seen. Expand
  15. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    AMAZING !!! BRILLIANT !!! Before this album had no opinion about Kanye but after hearing My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy I was completely amazed !!!!!
    If you don't like hip-hop you have to hear this album because I started to love Kanye !
  16. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Hip-Hop relies on innovation - constant progression is essential for its vitality. This single characteristic makes it one of the most interesting of the new genres that the late 20th century has spawned. Just look at how much it has changed throughout the years - the 70's (Disco, comedy influences), the 80's (Jazz/Rock/Soul influences, rich storytelling), the 90's (hard-nosed, often political lyricism, heavy drums, post-Jazz influences) and... and... then it stopped. The 2000's are often regarded as the decade of downfall for Hip-Hop, and, although that's not entirely true, there is some validity behind the argument - the progression throughout the decade was not as evident. Sure, there were the stars (Eminem, 50 Cent, Ludacris), but, overall, only two major forces in mainstream Hip-Hop showcased that progression in style that had become so rare - Outkast and Kanye West. Kanye was always changing - from the soul-influences of "College Dropout" to the melancholic electronic R&B of "808s & Heartbreak". This album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy", shows Kanye at his strongest - both lyrically and musically. Each song is entirely distinct and perfected to the highest degree . The 90's Gangsta Rap inspired (yet so seemingly modern) "Dark Fantasy", the Rock-influenced "Gorgeous" and, the album's centerpiece, "Runaway" - all these tracks fully showcase Kanye's thirst for progression and perfection, two aspects that are very rarely combined in perfection. Is it the best Hip-Hop album of all time? No. There is no best album. Is it the best produced Hip-Hop album of all time? Perhaps - it's definitely up there with "The Chronic" and "Stankonia". Is it a great album that's worthy of your attention? Definitely.

    10/10
    Expand
  17. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    The best album Kanye has ever made. Hands down. In my opinion he will never make a better album than this, Yeezus does not even come close to this great album. There is never a dull moment with this album, all the tracks fit together perfectly, and will go down in history as one of the greatest albums ever made. Kanye West is a musical/creative genius.
  18. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Kanye West is a pure genius and it showed in this beautiful piece of art - yes, it is art, not just music. Life-altering stuff on there.
  19. May 10, 2013
    10
    The perfect album. Simply put. Nothing more. Nothing less. This is art. Not hip-hop. Not any genre. Just art. A piece of art that we're lucky Kanye only made us pay $9.99 for it. This album is worth at least $100. But I digress. Its beautiful. In any way.
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    As an artist My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is definitely Kanye West's best work yet. Kanye puts together what he did in his previous 4 albums and creates this master piece.
  21. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Do ever think on the perspective of an artist when an albums out, what must be going through their mind as its been released. Today for some its all about meeting the contract terms of the record label and just simply having good numbers in its 1st week. Someone who always sets the bar high in hip hop on a regular basis believes perfection is one thing to always take away when recording art such as the likes of Kanye. Do I need to repeat my love for My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and how its a serious contender for Album Of The Decade, YESSSSS!!!! An intro so epic and intense as Dark Fantasy with the likes of Nicki Minaj giving a Roald Dahl inspirised rhyme of entering Kanye's "Fantasy" is jaw dropping at first listen. Referred to putting in 5000 hours on "Power" to the beautiful charismatic "Runaway" to Chris Rock bootlegging copies on "Blame Game" lets not forget falling in love with Porn stars on "Hell Of A Life" the honestly and courage shown in his lyrics is a huge gain from his previous works. Bursting into the scene with College Dropout after working with Jay-Z in his early years his personality has changed now as well as his ego. With money an flowing into his bank account we all know its comes down to the absolute core when good music is concerned. Joined by the likes of Jay-Z, Raekwon, Elton John...yes Elton John he has crafted something special. Ambition is a trait we all have in us but using it takes skill and hard work. From start to finish you are reliving an epic never before told story of a man at the pinnacle heights of his powers and you will truly be touched. Albums come and go but this will easily be considered one of the greatest albums ever to be released in hip-hop.....scratch that of all time. In Power the sample of King Crimson's 21st century schizoid man is used for a reason and can't lie this album is going to be talked about for years to come. Bravo Kanye [A+] Expand
  22. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    A modern classic this. The Sgt. Peppers of hip-hop. Great melodies and hooks abound, a wealth of styles, moods and layers of production that reward repeated listening. My only gripes are with Kanye's lyrics, namely his trademark rhyming the same word over 2-3 lines, that really rubs me up the wrong way. Then there's the Chris Rock sketch at the end of Blame Game, wasn't funny the first time, incredibly annoying on successive listens. These problems aside there are still more than enough solid gold moments to still make this an incredible album. Expand
  23. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    An amazing album, probably the best rap album ever created on the face of the Earth, Kanye West provides an amazing sounding rap album and nails every line of every verse, making this a fun album to listen to. Its absolutely incredible.
  24. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    After the mixed bag that was 808s & Heartbreaks, Kanye went on to release the best album of his career, titled My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. One of the greatest albums of all time, MBDTF combines orchestral and thematic pop with the Kanye we all know and love. The album shows a two sided Kanye; a tortured star rapping about his life and revealing his inner emotions, and a braggadocious rapper showing of all the girls and money he gets. You really get a sense of Kanye's world and what has led him to the point of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. There is not one note of this album that is out of place. Even the 9 minute epic Runaway feels completely natural and unforced. This is hip hop art, and Kanye West at his best. Expand
  25. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    My personal all-time favourite. Some of the best production in the history of rap. The ambition of this album cannot be understated. Don't listen to it as 13 songs, but rather listen to it as one cohesive, beautiful piece of music.
  26. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This album was an all-time classic from the moment it was released. The very first time I heard it, I knew it was a classic. It was as obvious as the sun in the sky is: nothing like it had been heard before in terms of hip-hop music.
  27. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    If this album was weird to you at first, listen to it again. And again, until you understand that this is epic as hell. Epic as hell in every sense possible.
  28. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    To put this in a few words, 'My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy' is the Greatest Hip-Hop Album of the 21st Century. Take this into account, 'The College Dropout' and 'Late Registration' are two influential hip-hop Masterpieces that live on though music forever, and this album (My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy) is better than both of them... That's got to mean something...
  29. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This is both Kanye West's best album and the joint best album of 2010 (with Arcade Fire's The Suburbs). Each song on the album deals with fame, power, money and can be seen as Kanye's autobiography, he relies on autotune for most of the album which, despite its annoyance in certain cases, works for the album since it relies heavily on some impressive synthesiser work. If you like hip-hop, this is a must have; if you don't then buy Arcade Fire, and then this. Expand
  30. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    I am not the biggest rap fan, but Kanye West always seems to know what he's doing. MBDTF, at the time of it's release, was like a revelation to the rap world. It wasn't a rap album, it was music. It was beautiful. It was intense, and it was a hell of a lot to take on. Now four years later, the album still holds strong. It's still Kanye's most mature effort, with ideas that span along Money and Power, to Lost Love, to people's destruction of our country. The title of the album describes it better than anything else. Though it doesn't have the longevity that would be liked. Some of the songs are a bit tedious to listen to now. And thus is why it takes some marks off.

    A-
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]