My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1913 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best all around albums I have ever heard! Lots of creativity going on here!! The album has a great concept that will make it hard for other rap artist to compete with!
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    A veritable explosion of creativity--maybe too much creativity (some songs run too long/seem overwrought & over-saturated). The best album of 2010 nonetheless.
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    The album may as well have been called "Kanye West". That's the point of the record here, the rapper/artist points the finger on himself and jumps under his own lyrical microscope and explores the world he lives in from a bird's eye view. Fascinating results.
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    10
    An album this meticulously crafted, this unique, this complex, and this endlessly emotional and thrilling deserves all the praise for generations and generations I'm sure it will get; it's a milestone in hip-hop - bending the genre and making it the personal, soulful thing it always aims to be.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Honestly, for the aggregate user score to be this low is a clear manifestation of contrarian ideation. On merit alone, this album warrants a 9.5/10 rating, and given its replay value, it deserves the solid 10. No other artist has been able to create a contemporary hip-hop album that's so circuitous, with its multifarious themes and many layers. People who denigrate this piece of music areHonestly, for the aggregate user score to be this low is a clear manifestation of contrarian ideation. On merit alone, this album warrants a 9.5/10 rating, and given its replay value, it deserves the solid 10. No other artist has been able to create a contemporary hip-hop album that's so circuitous, with its multifarious themes and many layers. People who denigrate this piece of music are the ones who haven't immersed themselves in the genre. I see Eminem's name being thrown around; listen, technically, Eminem is very gifted, but as an artist, he's always been limited. On social impact alone, he stands as a top-10 rapper, but when you juxtapose his work to the likes of Nas, Jay-Z, Biggie etc. - and Kanye, it's awfully narrow in scope. Perhaps Ye requires an audience with an eclectic taste? He polarizes those who disparage hip-hop, or those who consider themselves "purists" (the underground/old school hip-hop fan archetype). Regardless, this album -- given hip-hop's metamorphosis during the 2000s -- is nothing short of a masterpiece. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    If you dont like this album you are ridiclous. just go buy it and listen again agian again and agian. thanks for the awesome mr west. also i kidnap dogs at night to cuddle with, then i return them later.
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    Man makes record bigger than himself- the prophecy is fulfilled. Stankonia, Illmatic, and The Blueprint welcome the record into their elite tight-knit circle. Instant classic.
  8. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Kanye West is a musicall genious, every thing this man touches turns to gold every song he gets on is a musicall masterpiece. he is deffenitlly one of my favorite rappers of all time. This album is his latest solo installment and has that sound that blows the radio in your car up.
  9. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    Kanye West's production style peaks on this record. After his slightly misdirected previous album, he comes back with an incredibly crafted piece of popular art. Fans of hip hop will appreciate the heavy instrumentation, glimmers of soul and occasional gloss. The best album of its genre I have heard for a long time.
  10. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    "Graduation" has more of my favourite Kanye songs, but as an album, this here is probably his finest hour. It has some standout tracks but works best as an album with the collective parts coming together perfectly. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is not only bursting with creativity but with epic tunes and melodies as well. Lyrically, Kanye is on top form and matches the quality of the"Graduation" has more of my favourite Kanye songs, but as an album, this here is probably his finest hour. It has some standout tracks but works best as an album with the collective parts coming together perfectly. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is not only bursting with creativity but with epic tunes and melodies as well. Lyrically, Kanye is on top form and matches the quality of the music. You have to take your hat off to the man when you listen to this - its pure brilliance. Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    This album makes my relize that Yeezy will never make a classics like Late Registration or College Dropout but pretty dam good albums like graduation was. This album is more like a peice of art so it's hard to pick out weak and strong tracks. It's a solid listen but some of the tracks just don't glisten like that others. Hip hop has changed so it's only naturally that the biggest starsThis album makes my relize that Yeezy will never make a classics like Late Registration or College Dropout but pretty dam good albums like graduation was. This album is more like a peice of art so it's hard to pick out weak and strong tracks. It's a solid listen but some of the tracks just don't glisten like that others. Hip hop has changed so it's only naturally that the biggest stars will too. Not a bad album...a solid one but i just wish Kanye could get back into his old stlye but that will probably never happen. While this album was being recorded, Kanye came up with Good Fridays where he would realese new records Every friday and he did untill a month beofre his album was to be realsed and then he released Christmas in Harlem before the album dropped. Some of the tracks from Friday (Chain Heavy, Don't Stop (The seconed Child rebel soldier (Lupe, Pharell and Kanye) song), Christmas In Harlem, Lord Lord Lord) SHOULD HAVE BEEN ON THE ALBUM. The Joy, another great Friday track was realesd as a bonus track many months after November 22nd. But MBDTF is still a strong album some of my top picks are (Devil in a new dress, Power, Monster, See Me Now, and Gorgeus). So go pick this up if you havn't heard it, it's very inspiring and shows a new Kanye West Expand
  12. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Best album of the decade, too soon? Absolutely not! All tracks are given such work and passion. The one problem though with this album is that it is always sad, will we ever hear any of the hilarious tracks from Yeezy like Gold Digger or the skits that he has done in the past? Hopefully no, but we'll never know until we see a new album on his facebook or wikipedia. Rating the tracks: 1.Best album of the decade, too soon? Absolutely not! All tracks are given such work and passion. The one problem though with this album is that it is always sad, will we ever hear any of the hilarious tracks from Yeezy like Gold Digger or the skits that he has done in the past? Hopefully no, but we'll never know until we see a new album on his facebook or wikipedia. Rating the tracks: 1. Dark Fantasy 9/10 2. Gorgeous 8/10 3. POWER 8/10 4. All of the Lights (Interlude) 8/10 5. All of the Lights 7.5/10 6. Monster 10/10 7. So Appalled 8.5/10 8. Devil in a New Dress 8/10 9. Runaway 10/10 (Best Track of the Album) 10. Hell of a Life 8/10 11. Blame Game 9.5/10 12. Lost in this World 10/10 (Tied with Runaway for me) 13. Who Will Survive in America 9.5/10 No one will Yeezy, no one will Expand
  13. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    MBDTF is artistically the best rap album in a long time. The story is great, yet very weird. But Kanye can do what Kanye wants. The music, although, is not at Ye's peak ability. I'm waiting for more albums like The College Dropout.
  14. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I remember buying this album and putting into my car's CD player on the way back. The booming sounds of "Dark Fantasy" instantly had me hooked. As I kept listening, I was astonished at how good it was. Kanye sure does know how to make fantastic beats and samples. Not to mention he accompanies them with the perfect tone with the right lyrics. One of the best albums of the decade so far. TheI remember buying this album and putting into my car's CD player on the way back. The booming sounds of "Dark Fantasy" instantly had me hooked. As I kept listening, I was astonished at how good it was. Kanye sure does know how to make fantastic beats and samples. Not to mention he accompanies them with the perfect tone with the right lyrics. One of the best albums of the decade so far. The Grammy's got it wrong, and it should have definitely been at least nominated for Album of the Year. Expand
  15. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    My Beautiful Dark twisted Fantasy is the "Achtung Baby" of Kanye West albums. Forget what you already know about Kanye and his mic stealing antics. Kanye is more than just some rapper talking about "Living Young,Wild and Free or talking through a overly used Auto-tune (Though 808's and Heartbreaks was mostly auto-tuned). If rappers are modern day poets then Kanye West is the king of ModernMy Beautiful Dark twisted Fantasy is the "Achtung Baby" of Kanye West albums. Forget what you already know about Kanye and his mic stealing antics. Kanye is more than just some rapper talking about "Living Young,Wild and Free or talking through a overly used Auto-tune (Though 808's and Heartbreaks was mostly auto-tuned). If rappers are modern day poets then Kanye West is the king of Modern day poets! Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I'd put this in the top 10 albums of all time and for sure the best rap album ever. Kanye always bring something fresh and this time he decided to make the perfect album
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Easily the best album of 2010, definitely in my top 5 best albums of the decade and over time has become one of my favorite albums of all time. You have to listen to it to understand.
  18. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    simply amazing and epic album, from start to finish the album is original, catchy and also lyrically brilliant.some people doubted kanye could produce another masterpiece after controversies and a mixed reception to 808s and heartbreak but this album is a classic. if it does not win a grammy the sole reason is because of kanyes attitude and stubbornness
  19. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    I'm a huge kanye west fan, but this album does not deserve anything above an 8. Yes it has brilliant beats, fantastic features from the likes of Rick Ross and even the unexpected bon iver. But a classic implies that every single song was perfect, you can't honestly tell me that songs like hell of a life are perfect. You can't give me a reason why "who will survive in america" is good orI'm a huge kanye west fan, but this album does not deserve anything above an 8. Yes it has brilliant beats, fantastic features from the likes of Rick Ross and even the unexpected bon iver. But a classic implies that every single song was perfect, you can't honestly tell me that songs like hell of a life are perfect. You can't give me a reason why "who will survive in america" is good or interesting, or what even the purpose of it is? If you overlook kanye's lyricism, or lack thereof on this particular record then maybe its a 10, but for me its just a very good album that has been overrated. Expand
  20. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    A year later, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is still as breathtaking to me as the first time I heard it. This album is the emotional atlas into kanye west's mind. The production was out of this world, and innovative to boot. Kanye has never been the top dog when it comes to lyricism, but he holds his ground against greats like Jay-Z and Pusha T. His brutal honesty and vulnerability isA year later, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is still as breathtaking to me as the first time I heard it. This album is the emotional atlas into kanye west's mind. The production was out of this world, and innovative to boot. Kanye has never been the top dog when it comes to lyricism, but he holds his ground against greats like Jay-Z and Pusha T. His brutal honesty and vulnerability is what sold this album for me. This could very well be Mr. West's masterpiece. Expand
  21. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    The best album of the past decade. Mr. West always comes through with music that will make you think intricately about what runs through his Beautiful, Dark, and Twisted fantasy.
  22. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy crawls into Kanye's psyche and shows his deepest emotions through beautiful soul, well-executed rap, and most importantly killer production.
  23. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Yeezy leaves the country for a year and DEFINITELY comes back with a bang. This album is one of his best since Graduation! He managed to reinvent himself and his music yet again! 10/10
  24. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    MBDTF is just a dynamite album from start to finish. Typical ridiculous raps by Kanye sprinkled in with political points and whatever else is going on in Yeezy's head. Beats are phenomenal, and lots of great samples. **** Yeezy yeezy yeezy, it's yo boy Mark and this is a fire album.
  25. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Epic! West was able to incorporate your wounded soul in each one of these songs. Recovery really fancy, after all this pretentious Rapper lived. Unmissable and engaging!
  26. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked atThis album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked at how good he was. After that, I bought MBDTF. This album is truly one the best I've heard. It is perfectly produced, the lyrics are deep and it really reinvents the term Hip-Hop. It's a shame that this album wasn't nominated by the Grammys for Album Of The Year. Expand
  27. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Kanye West as good as ever! Best Album 2010.
    A perfect mix between electro-pop ballad 'Runaway' , dynamic and energetic songs like 'POWER' and 'All of the Lights' and rocking sounds. Lyrics brilliant.
  28. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Not over-rated at all and deserving its recognition as one of the best mainstream hip-hop releases of the decade. My Beautiful... is complex, satisfying and overcooked in every possible way but its a natural progression to Kanye's swaggery and boastfulness in lyrical content to what essentially is one of the most epic releases of our generation while expanding the genre boundaries.
  29. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I never thought one of my favorite hip-hop artists would be able to top his first two albums. This album shocked me in accomplishing that feat in only 12 actual tracks. The thematic elements illustrate the intricacies of fame and all that comes with it. West is at the zenith of creativity in his productivity, however the anthemic 'All of the Lights' is challenged by RZA's 'Dark Fantasy'I never thought one of my favorite hip-hop artists would be able to top his first two albums. This album shocked me in accomplishing that feat in only 12 actual tracks. The thematic elements illustrate the intricacies of fame and all that comes with it. West is at the zenith of creativity in his productivity, however the anthemic 'All of the Lights' is challenged by RZA's 'Dark Fantasy' for beat of the album. It's a moody, bombastic, visceral, gritty, polished package laced with West's trademark confidence and emotion. It's truly unfortunate this album was snubbed for an Album of the Year nomination. Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I give it a perfect. It had many flaws but they blended so well. He was capable of creating 10+ different sounding songs, but yet put it together as one. Not to mention almost every song had radio play. Not to say that means anything, but just to say it can be playe in different enviromets.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Uncut
    Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Mojo
    Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]