• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2011
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    That sense of hostile irony may be one of the most underrated qualities on Nevermind, whose sly dismissals and cagey lyrics sound like an extension of Cobain's scabrous guitars and Dave Grohl's thundering drums.
  2. Dec 8, 2011
    40
    Live at the Paramount--also included as a CD--comes off as otherwise bloodless. Joyless. That goes double for the lifeless remastering of the original LP.
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    Should you be keen to pick your way through the evolutionary process of one of rock's greatest ever long-players, hearing every fuzzy demo and work-in-progress chorus, now you've the chance like never before.
  4. One of those rare, near-flawless works of art that only grows finer with age.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    The first thing to say is that the remastering is pretty good: it's in no way a record that needed remastering, but it's definitely one that suits being remastered.
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    Every inch of tape had emotional or melodic purpose. [Nov 2011, p.109]
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    The album is amazing. The reissue is amazing. The band is amazing.
  8. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    Despite how much better-left-forgotten material is being offered up here as essential, there's still more life in the real Nevermind than anything that's attempted to replicate its attack since.
  9. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    In the end, though, it may be the power of the sound that undid this two-minded performer. Two decades on and that power, tragic as it is, has yet to diminish.
  10. Sep 29, 2011
    100
    Twenty years, five discs, but Nevermind is always more than the sum of its parts. [Oct 2011, p.133]
  11. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    It's a museum piece, a record that merits a display in the Smithsonian.
  12. Dec 16, 2011
    80
    This reissue tweaks the sound with little discernible effect, and adds a package of goodies.
  13. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    It's an album undiminished by time, that can still make me want to throw myself around an imaginary mosh pit or curl up in a fetal ball.
  14. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    When Nevermind rocks, it does so extremely. [Oct 2011, p.101]
  15. Nov 1, 2011
    90
    Not only does the original record sound incredible, the bonus tracks are revelatory.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles areI expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles are overrated. There is this obsession with anything that garners major critical acclaim and popularity from sort of nowhere to face a backlash. A backlash from the sort of people who would have liked the album had it never been popular. The Album. It's perfect. Although, forgive me for this Orwellian wording, not as perfect as In Utero but that's fine this album is still perfect. I can't fault it. Every rock band since has been influenced by it. This can not be denied. It may not even be musically. Now to the music. It starts with, the most popular and most acclaimed (although in my mind not the best) Smells Like Teen Spirit. This was the moment that Hair Metal was told to **** off and Nirvana and all other equally good underground rock bands hit the mainstream (Sonic Youth, Pixies). It would take too long to do a track-by-track review. I'm not going to pick the best songs because all of the songs are amazing like OK Computer or Loveless or Daydream Nation. Equally good albums. Now..... the reissue. Forgive me for sounding like a raging hipster but it's just a horrible money making scheme. There is nothing new to know about this album, the remaining members and Butch Vig have spoke a lot of **** over the past few months because as perfect as this album is as much influence as it has had, it is an album. Just an album, just an amazing, influential, perfect album. Thank you Kurt Cobain. **** you people trying hard not to like it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Nirvana is the best freaking band every to walk Planet Earth. I have always been mostly unbiased with what I listen to, but when I firstNirvana is the best freaking band every to walk Planet Earth. I have always been mostly unbiased with what I listen to, but when I first listened to Nirvana, I got hooked, and I still am now. And NEVERMIND is their best album, so only an idiot wouldn't think of reissuing it for its 20th anniversary. Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Wow is it really 20 years since this was first released? I feel old lol! As others have said music is very much down to personal taste butWow is it really 20 years since this was first released? I feel old lol! As others have said music is very much down to personal taste but what can't be denied is this albums massive influence both on other band and the millions who have listened to it. So clearly anyone giving this a 0 is an idiot. I'll admit some of the praise is nonsense. Kurt didn't invent Grunge and honestly ther's nothing truly innovative or ground breaking musically. Listen to The Pixies, Mud Honey and Dinosaur Jr to see where Kurt got all his ideas from. Personally though i feel this is one album that justifies all the acclaim it has had simply because it's still the most exciting rock record i've ever heard period. From start to finish every single song is a classic and that in its self is quite an achievement. Full Review »