Ode To Sunshine

  • Record Label: Rounder
  • Release Date: Aug 26, 2008
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Brendan
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Great album, translates well to live sets - can't wait to hear the follow up.
  2. JonH
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    This album is one I'd never had come across if it weren't for a bookstore (Borders in Vancouver, WA) - and I'm SO glad I did! Now granted, I had many hours to get snuggle with these songs, but I can now say, without a single doubt that Ode To Sunshine is one one of the best albums of the year, and certainly of the band, Delta Spirit. Now, I understand if you don't like This album is one I'd never had come across if it weren't for a bookstore (Borders in Vancouver, WA) - and I'm SO glad I did! Now granted, I had many hours to get snuggle with these songs, but I can now say, without a single doubt that Ode To Sunshine is one one of the best albums of the year, and certainly of the band, Delta Spirit. Now, I understand if you don't like the music right away - I was one of those folks, as well. I didn't ever dislike the music, though. I just wasn't immediately moved by it. After a short while though, I was obsessed. And now, all I can say, is PLEASE give this album a chance... it's one of the best of the DECADE. I'll put it up there only NOW after all the countless hours of loving, indifference, dissecting, and ultimately, respect. It's a damn-beautiful album. And has inspired me to listen more, altogether. Expand
  3. DanT
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Beautiful album. One of the year's best. Can't stop playing it. Definitely a must have.
  4. Waldo
    Dec 24, 2009
    8
    This is an excellent album from first to finish. I listened to this album in a friend's car with no hope of running across it again. I end up in arecord shop in Jackson, MS and there it was! It was as good as the first time. I can't stop listening to it. Its nice to find a great album that starts strong and finishes stronger.
  5. Ryan
    Feb 18, 2009
    8
    Very original sound and excellent debut album. Looking forward to the follow up.
  6. EvanT
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Awesome album, but meant for LP.
  7. RyanS
    Nov 30, 2009
    8
    This is a strong effort. I can listen to this from beginning to end. The song "Children" would not sound out of place on an Arcade Fire album.
  8. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    Although my listening was warped, due to the fact that I was an idiot and listened to "History From Below" first, I truly enjoyed listening to the first attempts of a band that I believe should be huge, on the back of just two albums. The eponymous track was without a doubt my favourite on the album. Also, Vasquez's voice is just amazing, conveying an incredible amount of emotion.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The ex-Noise Ratchet founders shift to more rootsy territory with their new band, yielding impressive results.
  2. Despite Delta Spirit’s anarchic (i.e., creatively opportunistic) sampling of everything from cold war folk to the Cold War Kids, when the band members hit their stride--as on the rumbling, locomotive grooves of piano-stung epic Americana on 'Trashcan'--Sunshine becomes nothing less than an ode to musical joy.
  3. Catchy and pleasant but ultimately flawed, Sunshine is a solid effort from this up-and-coming band, and if they're able to harness their Southern revival hymns with the bravado of '70s guitar rock, Delta Spirit will be a force to be reckoned with.