Ode To Sunshine - Delta Spirit
Ode To Sunshine Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The group featuring ex-Noise Ratchet founders releases its debut album, which was recorded in a cabin in Julian, CA.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. What Ode to Sunshine really boils down to is excellent songwriting. And it only helps that the album’s pacing is fantastic and hardly ever drags.
  2. 82
    Some songs are happy songs; some are sad, but the pure joy of melody shines through in every one. [Summer 2008, p.92]
  3. 80
    Loose, raw, a bit funky, it illustrates the band's knack for creating new-but-classic-sounding songs and getting them down on disc with a sizzling live feel. [Aopr 2009, p.87]
  4. Despite Delta Spirit’s anarchic (i.e., creatively opportunistic) sampling of everything from cold war folk to the Cold War Kids, when the band members hit their stride--as on the rumbling, locomotive grooves of piano-stung epic Americana on 'Trashcan'--Sunshine becomes nothing less than an ode to musical joy.
  5. Their sound is timeworn and instantly familiar: the “set me free” chorus of ‘Streetwalker’ is pure Springsteen, while the honky-tonk of ‘Trashcan’ is classic Stones, made more remarkable by the sandpaper snarl of their frontman.
  6. The ex-Noise Ratchet founders shift to more rootsy territory with their new band, yielding impressive results.
  7. Catchy and pleasant but ultimately flawed, Sunshine is a solid effort from this up-and-coming band, and if they're able to harness their Southern revival hymns with the bravado of '70s guitar rock, Delta Spirit will be a force to be reckoned with.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    Although my listening was warped, due to the fact that I was an idiot and listened to "History From Below" first, I truly enjoyed listening to the first attempts of a band that I believe should be huge, on the back of just two albums. The eponymous track was without a doubt my favourite on the album. Also, Vasquez's voice is just amazing, conveying an incredible amount of emotion. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews