One Of The Boys - Katy Perry
One Of The Boys Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once upon a time a Christian rock singer, the now-pop singer releases her second album, produced by the likes of Butch Walker, Dr. Luke, Max Martin, Dave Stewart, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. 70
    Perry’s creative-writing-class punch lines don’t always justify her self-congratulatory drag-queen tone. But she hiccups quirkily enough, and myriad big-name producers (from Dr. Luke to Glen Ballard) keep the new-wave synth hooks hopping
  2. Where it hits the mark, One Of The Boys is sparky and accomplished--though entirely disposable--pop.
  3. 60
    Gwen Stefani should be nervous. [Oct 2008, p.105]
  4. The bulk of Boys is sufficiently well put together; the generally witty pop walks that tricky line between edginess and accessibility.
  5. The problem is not with Katy's gender-bending, it's that her heart isn't in it; she's just using it to get her places, so she sinks to crass, craven depths that turn One of the Boys into a grotesque emblem of all the wretched excesses of this decade.
  6. Her producers furnish the punchy soft-rock that has become the default signifier of pop "attitude" and Perry obliges with self-congratulatory sass that never rings true.
  7. While undeniably catchy, the hyper-produced songs have a familiar radio-ready quality that becomes infuriatingly mind-numbing over time, and Perry's vocals sound like a less-soulful Kelly Clarkson at best, a drunken, spurned sorority girl at worst.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 54
  2. Negative: 12 out of 54
  1. AimeeC.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    OMG. I don't know why people hate. This is a great album to listen to while you're on a long roadtrip with your girlfriends! Katy Perry's lyrics are funny, witty, and easy to sing to. I recommend this to anyone who has a sense of humor and likes to have fun. Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of The Boys is not a ordinary album.Is original,stronger and fun.One Of The Boys it's the perfect started.I Kissed a Girl it's the best song of the album.Waking Up In Vegas is good but not enough.Thinking Of U is the best ever ballad i hear.Mannequin it;s stronger and contagious.Ur So Gay is A Guilty Pleasure.You don't stop to listen the song cuz u sing:Ur so gay but you don't like the boys.Hot N Cold it's cool and fresh but not so original.A mix between I Kissed A Girl and Ur So Gay.If U Can Afford Me:One of the best song.Lost a perfect ballad but not good position in the track list.Self Inflicted:It's a normal song i can't remember nothing about the lyrics or instrumental after ten listen.I'm Still Breathing A Perfect Ballad.Fingerprints:Fun and contagious.Conclusion:Super Cd Expand
  3. MarieO
    May 23, 2009
    10
    My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the boys". I can't understand the hate against Katy Perry who is a deserving artist... from a christian family, to church singer, waitress in LA, almost broke, to finally making it to the top because of her great music and songs. She's my hero! Her story is very touching. Collapse
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    Good album! Funny and simply! Love the way she sings with a guitar........... I prefer "Teenage Dream" but this is good, too. ( sorry for my English )
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    6
    The only thing anyone should listen to an album like this for is escape, which the music of Katy Perry's debut provides with some catchy pop bass lines and a contagious enthusiastic spirit, but the lyrics are so rooted in frustration that it's hard to grab on. But as individual songs, guess what? Not bad. Not bad at all, Miss Perry. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    5
    Not a huge Katy Perry fan. Her singing isn't anything spectacular, her songs are monotonous, but it's a nice attempt. Not sure why she is so famous, or what the hype about her is all about. Pass. Expand
  7. CharlieM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense just want some catchy song that just fulfills the moment, when there are so many better artists that never see the light of day. Such a disgrace. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews