One Of The Boys - Katy Perry
One Of The Boys Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 286 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once upon a time a Christian rock singer, the now-pop singer releases her second album, produced by the likes of Butch Walker, Dr. Luke, Max Martin, Dave Stewart, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. 70
    Perry’s creative-writing-class punch lines don’t always justify her self-congratulatory drag-queen tone. But she hiccups quirkily enough, and myriad big-name producers (from Dr. Luke to Glen Ballard) keep the new-wave synth hooks hopping
  2. 60
    Gwen Stefani should be nervous. [Oct 2008, p.105]
  3. Careering from tart-tongued vixen to rough-and-tumble tomboy to woeful lonelyheart may reflect her real life, but it makes for a thematically bumpy ride.
  4. The bulk of Boys is sufficiently well put together; the generally witty pop walks that tricky line between edginess and accessibility.
  5. The problem is not with Katy's gender-bending, it's that her heart isn't in it; she's just using it to get her places, so she sinks to crass, craven depths that turn One of the Boys into a grotesque emblem of all the wretched excesses of this decade.
  6. 'Mannequin' features some cleverly written lyrics, but Perry doesn't possess the grit or vocal prowess to follow through, and the title track is like No Doubt's 'Just a Girl' sans personality and conviction.
  7. While undeniably catchy, the hyper-produced songs have a familiar radio-ready quality that becomes infuriatingly mind-numbing over time, and Perry's vocals sound like a less-soulful Kelly Clarkson at best, a drunken, spurned sorority girl at worst.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 62
  2. Negative: 13 out of 62
  1. RichardH
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    Very catchy album, I don't understand the negative reviews. I love it!
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Debut's In Along Time!
  3. MarieO
    May 23, 2009
    10
    My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the boys". I can't understand the hate against Katy Perry who is a deserving artist... from a christian family, to church singer, waitress in LA, almost broke, to finally making it to the top because of her great music and songs. She's my hero! Her story is very touching. Collapse
  4. MarkF
    Jan 1, 2009
    8
    As with most albums I like, there are some songs I think are utterly awful on this album. On the other hand, Katy's voice grows on you. As with most albums I like, there are some songs I think are utterly awful on this album. On the other hand, Katy's voice grows on you. The first time I heard Hot N Cold, I hated it because her voice sounded creepy. I grew to like her voice and songs because, unlike most people in the industry (looking at you Brit, as much as I like you), she can write and has a unique voice. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2014
    6
    This is my favourite album by Katy, but I think she can do way better than this. My favourite songs by her are unreleased gems like Wish YouThis is my favourite album by Katy, but I think she can do way better than this. My favourite songs by her are unreleased gems like Wish You The Worst, Simple, Diamond. It's such a shame that she had to repress her artistry to pursue commercial success. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    5
    A good exception to all the other stupid pop stuff on the radio! Katy Perry has got a really nice voice and the sound is much more rockingA good exception to all the other stupid pop stuff on the radio! Katy Perry has got a really nice voice and the sound is much more rocking than the usual (also you probably won't expect when you only heard the songs that got airplay). But there are many mistakes: She really overdoes the high- and low-singing and some songs aren't even catchy after hearing them three times. But still the album is a well-made and diversified Pop CD. Expand
  7. CharlieM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense just want some catchy song that just fulfills the moment, when there are so many better artists that never see the light of day. Such a disgrace. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews