One Of The Boys

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
One Of The Boys Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 438 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Once upon a time a Christian rock singer, the now-pop singer releases her second album, produced by the likes of Butch Walker, Dr. Luke, Max Martin, Dave Stewart, and Greg Wells.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. 70
    Perry’s creative-writing-class punch lines don’t always justify her self-congratulatory drag-queen tone. But she hiccups quirkily enough, and myriad big-name producers (from Dr. Luke to Glen Ballard) keep the new-wave synth hooks hopping
  2. Uncut
    60
    Gwen Stefani should be nervous. [Oct 2008, p.105]
  3. Careering from tart-tongued vixen to rough-and-tumble tomboy to woeful lonelyheart may reflect her real life, but it makes for a thematically bumpy ride.
  4. The bulk of Boys is sufficiently well put together; the generally witty pop walks that tricky line between edginess and accessibility.
  5. The problem is not with Katy's gender-bending, it's that her heart isn't in it; she's just using it to get her places, so she sinks to crass, craven depths that turn One of the Boys into a grotesque emblem of all the wretched excesses of this decade.
  6. 'Mannequin' features some cleverly written lyrics, but Perry doesn't possess the grit or vocal prowess to follow through, and the title track is like No Doubt's 'Just a Girl' sans personality and conviction.
  7. While undeniably catchy, the hyper-produced songs have a familiar radio-ready quality that becomes infuriatingly mind-numbing over time, and Perry's vocals sound like a less-soulful Kelly Clarkson at best, a drunken, spurned sorority girl at worst.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 13 out of 76
  1. StephaneC
    May 23, 2009
    10
    Excellent album... from a talented young lady. The first time I buy something for ages. It goes from rock to pop to ballads with her raw and Excellent album... from a talented young lady. The first time I buy something for ages. It goes from rock to pop to ballads with her raw and strong voice, which is full of energy. Don't miss this fun and entertaining album and artist. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. so the album in general was average , but the fact that Hot N 'Cold him, made ​​the album had a quality boost, katy is an amazing artist and I love it Expand
  3. MarieO
    May 23, 2009
    10
    My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the My favorite album of 2008 and still waiting for another one that will match the quality and number of great songs that are on "One of the boys". I can't understand the hate against Katy Perry who is a deserving artist... from a christian family, to church singer, waitress in LA, almost broke, to finally making it to the top because of her great music and songs. She's my hero! Her story is very touching. Expand
  4. JoshuaM.
    Oct 5, 2009
    8
    It's a good album with some good singles on it. Come one. All you guys can't say that "Hot N Cold" went through your heads at least It's a good album with some good singles on it. Come one. All you guys can't say that "Hot N Cold" went through your heads at least once! My favorite song is "Fingerprints". Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    7
    I've decided to lower my rating a bit for this album. I still think it's enjoyable and fun, and it's refreshing to listen to pop music thatI've decided to lower my rating a bit for this album. I still think it's enjoyable and fun, and it's refreshing to listen to pop music that isn't the same kind of electronic dance pop that is so common now. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2011
    6
    I'd recommend it, but it's your choice. Katy Perry, with this album, creates a solid start to the beginning of her career--at least breakingI'd recommend it, but it's your choice. Katy Perry, with this album, creates a solid start to the beginning of her career--at least breaking away from Christian rock music. There are only a few songs, on the other hand, that you actually need on ONE OF THE BOYS, which are "I Kissed a Girl", "Waking Up in Vegas", and "Hot N Cold". Expand
  7. CharlieM.
    Sep 3, 2008
    0
    This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense This album sux. Her vocals are bad and just shows people don't have talent anymore. Aimee, plz ok Seriously, people like you no offense just want some catchy song that just fulfills the moment, when there are so many better artists that never see the light of day. Such a disgrace. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews