• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Dec 4, 2012
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    60
    On ONIFC he tilts the balance back--slightly. [Mar 2013, p.111]
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    60
    O.N.I.F.C. starts off with "Intro," a Cardo and Sledgren joint that sums up the production: 808 drums, skittering hi-hats and saccharine melodies, although the atmosphere is meaner than Rolling Papers.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    For someone so relaxed, he certainly sounds at odds with much of this album; even the warm, enveloping production, primarily by ID Labs, doesn't loosen up his stiff flow at all.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    60
    What works for Wiz is crafting similar songs to perfect the Taylor Gang aesthetic.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    O.N.I.F.C. lands somewhere between the growing pains of an artist forced to develop more quickly than he's ready to and material simply less inspired than the hungrier, more excited sounds that came before.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    The beats, by Pittsburgh homeboys ID Labs and others, whip up aural smoke billows, and Khalifa's are just off-kilter enough to give you a contact high.
  7. 50
    Wiz doesn't often come across as having much of direction, but things like that are what make him strike as more lost than ever here.
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    On O.N.I.F.C. Khalifa splits the difference between his druggy muse and his pop obligations, without much interest in finding a middle ground.
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    48
    O.N.I.F.C., his second major label album, is a resounding misstep, and it's the first sign that Khalifa's unwavering focus may be getting swallowed up by the haze.
  10. 40
    Even a late appearance from The Weeknd can't save this omni-tonal snoozefest.
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    40
    Success seems to have dulled his considerable rapping talent.
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    40
    Wiz himself is most notable on O.N.I.F.C. for his curious decision to ape the most grating aspects of (his fiancée's famous ex) Kanye West's flow.
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    40
    Surprises are few and far between.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    2
    I've been a huge fan of Wiz since Pittsburgh Sound, and I really am elated at his success, but it saddens me to my core at what he has become.I've been a huge fan of Wiz since Pittsburgh Sound, and I really am elated at his success, but it saddens me to my core at what he has become. There was such promise, and I had such hope that he was the one, a phoenix rising from a sea of ashes of mediocre hip hop, though it has become painfully clear that he is nothing but a false prophet, a fraud. I know that Wiz owes me nothing, but I can't help but feel cheated about what could have been. Hope is a dangerous word, but I am afraid that is all I got now. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    2
    Another dud from Wiz. Not only is his music one dimensional, but it's also not very good. As mentioned in another review I saw, the bestAnother dud from Wiz. Not only is his music one dimensional, but it's also not very good. As mentioned in another review I saw, the best verses honestly came from guests, though The Weeknd on "Remember You" and Cam'ron on "The Bluff" stole the show. If you want to check this album out at all, just check out those two songs and move along. Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    People need to stop hating on Wiz, this album is actually very good, and is LEAGUES above Rolling Papers, which was so bad that he actuallyPeople need to stop hating on Wiz, this album is actually very good, and is LEAGUES above Rolling Papers, which was so bad that he actually issued a statement apologizing for what it turned into. ONIFC is a return to form for Wiz Khalifa, it has some songs that pound, some that are more R and B, and then he has his trademark trippy beats and chill lyrics and everyone loves Wiz for. If you don't like this album, then you don't even know what good Wiz is, and shouldn't give him a bad score for nothing. Full Review »