Outrun - Kavinsky
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    With Outrun on the books, Kavinsky has firmly defined himself as a musician capable of forming, and then effectively nailing, an overarching concept of artistic vision.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    There's a grandeur and purity of intent to the whole doofy concept that prove hard to resist. For Kavinsky, B-grade electronic '80s gunk is rocket fuel, and it makes Outrun soar.
  3. 80
    This album really shouldn’t work. That it does is down to Kavinsky’s painstaking production and his dark vision of the place where rock and electro meet.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    It’s not perfect--a couple of tracks slightly overdo the asthmatic-sounding compression--but mainly it’s a really impressively consistent and well-structured listen, and definitely worth the wait.
  5. It induces a heady sense of perpetual forward motion, whether graceful or full pelt. Stunning.
  6. Outrun is exactly what it aspires to be: a fun retro-pop-dance album for those who like to drive fast through cities at night, perhaps behind a pair of sunglasses.
  7. 70
    Once you’ve finished Kavinsky’s OutRun, you’ll want to buckle up and ride again.
  8. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    The main reasons to drop a quarter into this video game on wax (or digital download) are the sexy robot song "Nightcall" (which was featured prominently in the film Drive), the dubsteppy victory theme "Protovision," and the assurance that no matter what cool bits of the present are employed, the fetishizing of that 16-bit swagger will remain solid and inspired.
  9. Feb 26, 2013
    70
    Perhaps the most rousingly, entertainingly, ridiculously dumb record that 2013 will have to offer.
  10. Feb 27, 2013
    63
    The details of Kavinsky's intended narrative are blurry, and possibly nonsensical, but he succeeds in making an album that suggests that it's the soundtrack to something, and at least making it clear that it has to do with cars and the 1980s.
  11. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    A lot of the magic of Kavinsky was the box freshness of his reimagining of the past, but across these 13 tracks the allure of Beverly’s Hills Cop high-tops and alien blasting game soundtracks begins to sound tired and worn out
  12. Mar 22, 2013
    50
    Too much of Kavinsky's debut LP is overly repetitive, and little of it leaves any lasting impact. [Mar-Apr 2013, p.100]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    Lets break this album down by track.
    01. Prelude; This is both cheesy and fun, but more cheesy and doesn't really immerse you into any sort
    Lets break this album down by track.
    01. Prelude; This is both cheesy and fun, but more cheesy and doesn't really immerse you into any sort of concept album feeling. 5/10
    02. Blizzard; Fun, one of my favorites on the album. Holds true to Kavinsky's unique 80s-esque style with an amazing blend of french house. 9/10
    03. ProtoVision; Heard this on youtube and had to check out the lp after hearing it. Sure does go great with his car chase type music video, it would be fun in a night club as well. 10/10
    04. Odd Lock; Feels like a transition song away from ProtoVision at first but then female vocals come on. Reminds me of SabastiAn a good bit. 9/10
    05. Rampage; Wow, this opens up like Modest Mussorgsky's "Night on Bald Mountain" and holds the chaotic theme throughout. There is a break in the chaos to introduce a sample that sounds straight out of old westerns or something, reminded me of Kill Bill. Nice song. 8/10
    06. Suburbia; No, no, no... The vocals destroy everything in this song. They are over the top and obnoxious. I hated this song and it through off the grove for the rest of the album. The song is still well produced, I just can't take the vocals. 4/10
    07. Testarossa Autodrive; No more vocals, thank goodness. This song sounds like something straight out of a classic arcade police chase game. Has that 8-bit type sound to it. Feels unfinished however, compared to the other songs on the album this one has minimal changes in tone and direction. I got bored with it half-way in but stuck it out just hoping it would change. 6/10
    08. Nightcall; Straight from the Drive soundtrack, but it really does belong on this album. It doesn't feel rehashed or out of place. It is a good song for the movie Drive and a good song for his zombie night rider type theme as well. Really like this song, even the vocals fit perfectly unlike in that horrible song Suburbia. 10/10
    09. Deadcruiser; This also has a 8-bit sound about it. Not bad but not great either. 6/10
    10. Grand Canyon; Well produced, but I'm starting to think the idea of marketing an album for what sounds like a movie soundtrack isn't the best idea. I'm bored, there aren't any ambient sounds like a car racing by or the likes to put me in the place this song obviously wants you to go. It would go great in a movie, but this is just boring. It wouldn't really work in a night club either, people would sort of be confused. I don't think it is bad, I think it is just out of place. 7/10
    11. First Blood; This song is fun, and even though the vocals sound somewhat out of place, they still fit better than Suburbia. The track feels like a remix of ProtoVision with lyrics stamped on top, which is just making the album longer with little effort. I honestly don't hate this song though. 6/10
    12. Roadgame; The penultimate track, time to sum up the album right? It does exactly that, very well too. It is racy, energetic, dark, and far from boring. The album really should just end on this track, it just ends everything so well. 8/10
    13. Endless; Sadly, the album doesn't end at Roadgame, instead we get the incredibly cheesy track Endless. Sounds like something out of a soap opera with Thriller narration through in. I just see the show ER when I hear this song. It isn't needed, and it isn't entertaining. 3/10

    So, 91 13 7
    The album gets a 7
    But hell, maybe you think it is better than I do, maybe you think it is worse.
    Hope my review was helpful
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    This makes NO SENSE but this album reminds me of the FEELING I get when listening to Rage Against The Machine. Does that make sense? No.This makes NO SENSE but this album reminds me of the FEELING I get when listening to Rage Against The Machine. Does that make sense? No. But I liked that feeling. And so I'm giving this album a 10/10 review. Because I love RATM. Full Review »