Overexposed

  • Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Jun 26, 2012
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 160
  2. Negative: 58 out of 160
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    Of course I understand a band needs to adapt and change as they go along. I'm always open to new sounds and experiementation. But only when it is willfully attempted. This just sounds like Timbaland told Adam Levine to do whatever he told him to and to give some royalty checks to the rest of the band so they still feel like they are a part of it. Maroon 5 has changed drastically sinceOf course I understand a band needs to adapt and change as they go along. I'm always open to new sounds and experiementation. But only when it is willfully attempted. This just sounds like Timbaland told Adam Levine to do whatever he told him to and to give some royalty checks to the rest of the band so they still feel like they are a part of it. Maroon 5 has changed drastically since their first CD, and unfortunately it's for the worst. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    2
    What a tremendous letdown. I understand trying to stay relevant and getting radio play, but part of what made Maroon 5 great is that they're good musicians who write good music. But now they're outsourcing all that to hot names in the industry, and the result really stinks. Lousy hooks, boring production, lame and lazy lyrics... I'm hoping they listen to all their alienated fans and comeWhat a tremendous letdown. I understand trying to stay relevant and getting radio play, but part of what made Maroon 5 great is that they're good musicians who write good music. But now they're outsourcing all that to hot names in the industry, and the result really stinks. Lousy hooks, boring production, lame and lazy lyrics... I'm hoping they listen to all their alienated fans and come back with a second 'Songs About Jane', but I have a feeling that band is lost now. Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    2
    Maroon 5 was one of my favourite rock-bands, but all I hear on this album is pop. They didn't have to change, but it was obvious that "Overexposed" won't be another great album. After "Hands all over" which was great, this is an unexpected disappointment.
  4. Sep 2, 2012
    0
    One of the worst and most disappointing albums released this year so far. What the hell happened to Maroon 5? They used to be such a great band. I wish they would record more songs like This Love.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    0
    So, is this Maroon 5 or Adam Levine with a backing band? I thought they were a Group? seems like they went pop and forgot that the other members need to play instruments. The album itself is not the Maroon 5 we are used to know and love. One of the Biggest let downs of they year.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    1
    To borrow a line from that show "The middle", I had the lowest of expectations, and I'm still disappointed. Adam Levine's ego has grown so large that he can't hear the crap he's created. Only "Payphone" deserves a second listen.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    1
    As previously mentioned by other reviews, this album does really seem like the Adam Levine show. Vastly disappointing and i actually like Maroon 5. I really enjoyed their last album but this i can't listen to. I just don't like it and I hope that their next album would actually progress their sound instead of making another pop inspired album.
  8. Aug 21, 2012
    3
    Overexposed is the worst Maroon 5's album. Songs about Jane was the better then It Won't Be Soon Before Long was good too. Then Hands All Over wich wasn't so bad and wasn't so good."One More Night" and "Payphone" was reassurings but when I listen all the album the day of his coming I was sad to see that the true Maroon 5 was dead for a f***ing electro-pop album. I was so sad... In thisOverexposed is the worst Maroon 5's album. Songs about Jane was the better then It Won't Be Soon Before Long was good too. Then Hands All Over wich wasn't so bad and wasn't so good."One More Night" and "Payphone" was reassurings but when I listen all the album the day of his coming I was sad to see that the true Maroon 5 was dead for a f***ing electro-pop album. I was so sad... In this album only "Ladykiller" is great and only "One More Night" and "Payphone" can be cool to listen the rest this is a horror movie. Expand
  9. Jun 26, 2012
    1
    Except for the second single, One More Night, the best song in the album (even without a good chorus), every song sounds like "whatever". It's like you have heard it all before. Maroon 5 has almost become a boyband, lost its identity and sounds like everything but the band everybody used to know.
    The album was released in the same week that Linkin Park's Living Things and The Flaming Lips
    Except for the second single, One More Night, the best song in the album (even without a good chorus), every song sounds like "whatever". It's like you have heard it all before. Maroon 5 has almost become a boyband, lost its identity and sounds like everything but the band everybody used to know.
    The album was released in the same week that Linkin Park's Living Things and The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends... and it's sad to know that Overexposed is, probably, going to be the week's top selling.
    Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. maroon 5 is dead......................................................................R.I.P.................................................................. Expand
  11. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    I tried not to get mad. I guess you can't trust releases even if they are NEW. This album is so commercial, i found myself waiting for the show to come back on. Oh wait....
  12. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    This album is one of the weakest I've heard all year. This is no longer Maroon 5. This is now Adam Levine's solo project. It has nothing good to offer. Avoid this album like the plague and move on.
  13. Jul 21, 2012
    2
    Payphone and Moves Like Jagger are strong singles.....but the rest is terrible. This album is missing soulful songs such as "She Will Be Loved" that made them so successful.
  14. Jul 22, 2012
    2
    I have to admit payphone was a good song. However, the album is really not that good. Maroon 5 means Adam Levine in this album. I was dissapointed because the songs weren't that good. I don't think they are the same as they were before and they have changed in a bad way.
  15. Oct 21, 2012
    1
    Clearly Maroon 5 has given up. What used to be a musically talented, always at least interesting band is now Adam Levine and a few goons who break out some **** keyboard/synth effects and make the radio the evil thing it is today. It's no longer Sunday Morning for Maroon 5... I don't even think they deserve to have the moves like Jagger.
  16. Nov 2, 2012
    1
    This is the saddest thing to ever happen to Maroon 5. The previous albums were taut with intelligent and clever lyrics that have now been completely thrown away in favor of ridiculous lyrical hook play that sounds like something out of a 12 year old's notebook. I miss you, Maroon 5! Please come back!
  17. Nov 12, 2012
    3
    I fear what we used to call Maroon 5 doesn't exist anymore. Just a bubble-gum, poppy, pointless romp meant to satisfy a much younger audience. Songs like "Wake Up Call" and "She Will Be Loved" are gone forever.
  18. Mar 1, 2013
    2
    What a damn disappointment. All I can say. It gets a 2 because it's Maroon 5, and I really hope that they just make another Jane album again. This was a waste of time.
  19. AGK
    Oct 8, 2013
    1
    only 2 kinds of people listen to this garbage, girls aged from 9 to 35 or guys who are annoying and rude. levine's voice makes me want to die halo style, the album just sucks!
  20. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    I hadn't listened to Maroon 5 in a long time, but I heard this awful song, Moves Like Jagger, and was shocked to see it was Maroon 5 checked out rest of album so unimpressed. A total WTF moment.
  21. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    I know I probably sound like everyone else here but I can't help it, this is a terrible album just downright bad. The lyrics are lazy, the vocals are lazy, the production is lazy, the whole album just feels like a Adam Levine phoned it in and just decided, "Hey, lets go full pop for this one. Screw what made Maroon 5 famous, this is my band now." "Love Somebody" is the only song on hereI know I probably sound like everyone else here but I can't help it, this is a terrible album just downright bad. The lyrics are lazy, the vocals are lazy, the production is lazy, the whole album just feels like a Adam Levine phoned it in and just decided, "Hey, lets go full pop for this one. Screw what made Maroon 5 famous, this is my band now." "Love Somebody" is the only song on here that deserves any recognition of any sort but the rest of the album is truly rock bottom for Maroon 5. Expand
  22. Sep 6, 2014
    1
    Um dos piores albuns da banda Maroon 5, músicas terríveis. A banda mudou muito desde o primeiro CD, e mudaram pra pior. Esse álbum é resumido somente em Payphone, a única música que presta.
  23. Jun 8, 2015
    3
    An album that kicks and stomps on the devoted fans who loved the soul and funk they've displayed over their career, replacing them with throw away beats that are sell out worthy. Overexposed is the perfect title for this album as it feels uninspired, and over produced and has little to no soul.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Overexposed is not a great album, but that doesn't mean it's not interesting. What we're hearing is the band actually learning to have fun again, and with any luck, they'll only get better from here.
  2. 60
    It's when he deviates from the plastic norm that he actually sounds most awkward.
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Overexposed is rather patchy and its highs are countered by some fairly wretched lows.