• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Overexposed Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio album for the rock pop band led by Adam Levine includes production from Benny Blanco, Max Martin, J.R. Rotem, Shellback, Ryan Tedder, Brian West, and a guest appearance by rapper Wiz Khalifa.
  • Record Label: A&M
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. While not every song is up to a "Moves Like Jagger" or "Payphone" standard hook-wise, the co-writers and producers never stopped breaking into new grounds for the band throughout the record.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    It's top-shelf radio sucrose.
  3. 60
    It's when he deviates from the plastic norm that he actually sounds most awkward.
  4. 58
    On much of the album, which never quite finds a balance between rock grit and dance-pop glitz, Maroon 5 barely sound like a band at all.
  5. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Overexposed is not a great album, but that doesn't mean it's not interesting. What we're hearing is the band actually learning to have fun again, and with any luck, they'll only get better from here.
  6. 50
    'Sad' is an Adele-apeing weepie, 'Payphone' has a guest rap from Wiz Khalifa, and both 'Lucky Strike' and 'Fortune Teller' feature cod-dubstep breakdowns.
  7. The sooner this bunch of plums fade back into obscurity, the better.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 52
  2. Negative: 22 out of 52
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Can't believe the critics, and users do not like this album definitely one of my favorites I enjoy every song and appreciate the overallCan't believe the critics, and users do not like this album definitely one of my favorites I enjoy every song and appreciate the overall fun, dance tone of the whole album. And the slow songs are awesome as well. I think Adam Levine and Maroon 5 are pure genius. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    i really like maroon 5 as a band they connect with part of me that brings out my happy side. i feel like this album is a bit of a differenti really like maroon 5 as a band they connect with part of me that brings out my happy side. i feel like this album is a bit of a different sound to the usual maroon 5 music. It actual was too different for my mum to like and she is a huge fan of their song "she will be loved" i however love all of maroon 5's songs and am a huge fan of the band x Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Adam Levine seems to have gone all out with the electro pop and featuring artists, forgetting what actually made Maroon 5 famous. AnotherAdam Levine seems to have gone all out with the electro pop and featuring artists, forgetting what actually made Maroon 5 famous. Another average performance.
    Best Tracks: The Man Who Never Lied, Lucky Strike
    Collapse
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    Besides the lucky four singles, let's be honest: who else remembers this album? At least it has the truest title in Maroon 5's career. It'sBesides the lucky four singles, let's be honest: who else remembers this album? At least it has the truest title in Maroon 5's career. It's 'Overexposed' and completely corrupts the image we're force fed that Maroon 5 isn't just Adam Levine -- shocking, huh? Let's get to constructive criticism though, or should I say de-constructive criticism, because Overexposed is overwhelmingly glossed up with Max Martin-Shellback typical electro hooks even fellow pop "rocker" Avril Lavigne would scoff at, Auto Tune, and just overall polish that's shiny and yes, attractive at first sight, but cold and soulless inside. Dissecting the album track-by-track is unnecessary, since everything's basically "Moves Like Jagger" rearranged without even one percent of any effort to make it sound distinguishable from that multi-Platinum seller. Although I won't exchange effort to call the album "terrible", I actually admit it: I find half-assed records more listenable than formulaic, unidentifiable top 40 compilation albums. Especially in the case of a "band" that's actually just there to solidify Levine's "rock star" image. Make no mistake though, Disney princesses are more rock 'n' roll than this stud wishes he could ever be. Expand
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    3
    This album is one of the weakest I've heard all year. This is no longer Maroon 5. This is now Adam Levine's solo project. It has nothing goodThis album is one of the weakest I've heard all year. This is no longer Maroon 5. This is now Adam Levine's solo project. It has nothing good to offer. Avoid this album like the plague and move on. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2012
    2
    Payphone and Moves Like Jagger are strong singles.....but the rest is terrible. This album is missing soulful songs such as "She Will BePayphone and Moves Like Jagger are strong singles.....but the rest is terrible. This album is missing soulful songs such as "She Will Be Loved" that made them so successful. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    I tried not to get mad. I guess you can't trust releases even if they are NEW. This album is so commercial, i found myself waiting for theI tried not to get mad. I guess you can't trust releases even if they are NEW. This album is so commercial, i found myself waiting for the show to come back on. Oh wait.... Expand

See all 52 User Reviews