Overexposed

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Overexposed Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio album for the rock pop band led by Adam Levine includes production from Benny Blanco, Max Martin, J.R. Rotem, Shellback, Ryan Tedder, Brian West, and a guest appearance by rapper Wiz Khalifa.
Buy On
  • Record Label: A&M
  • Genre(s): Pop, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Payphone
Adam Levine: I'm at a payphone trying to call home All of my change, I've spent on you Where have the times gone? Baby, it's all wrong Where are the... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. While not every song is up to a "Moves Like Jagger" or "Payphone" standard hook-wise, the co-writers and producers never stopped breaking into new grounds for the band throughout the record.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    It's top-shelf radio sucrose.
  3. 60
    It's when he deviates from the plastic norm that he actually sounds most awkward.
  4. 58
    On much of the album, which never quite finds a balance between rock grit and dance-pop glitz, Maroon 5 barely sound like a band at all.
  5. Jul 10, 2012
    50
    Overexposed is not a great album, but that doesn't mean it's not interesting. What we're hearing is the band actually learning to have fun again, and with any luck, they'll only get better from here.
  6. 50
    'Sad' is an Adele-apeing weepie, 'Payphone' has a guest rap from Wiz Khalifa, and both 'Lucky Strike' and 'Fortune Teller' feature cod-dubstep breakdowns.
  7. The sooner this bunch of plums fade back into obscurity, the better.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 57
  2. Negative: 23 out of 57
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Can't believe the critics, and users do not like this album definitely one of my favorites I enjoy every song and appreciate the overallCan't believe the critics, and users do not like this album definitely one of my favorites I enjoy every song and appreciate the overall fun, dance tone of the whole album. And the slow songs are awesome as well. I think Adam Levine and Maroon 5 are pure genius. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    i really like maroon 5 as a band they connect with part of me that brings out my happy side. i feel like this album is a bit of a differenti really like maroon 5 as a band they connect with part of me that brings out my happy side. i feel like this album is a bit of a different sound to the usual maroon 5 music. It actual was too different for my mum to like and she is a huge fan of their song "she will be loved" i however love all of maroon 5's songs and am a huge fan of the band x Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    Adam Levine seems to have gone all out with the electro pop and featuring artists, forgetting what actually made Maroon 5 famous. AnotherAdam Levine seems to have gone all out with the electro pop and featuring artists, forgetting what actually made Maroon 5 famous. Another average performance.
    Best Tracks: The Man Who Never Lied, Lucky Strike
    Collapse
  4. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    While 2011's smash hit 'Moves Like Jagger' cast massive speculation regarding Maroon 5's direction towards commercialized pop, their follow-upWhile 2011's smash hit 'Moves Like Jagger' cast massive speculation regarding Maroon 5's direction towards commercialized pop, their follow-up album 'Overexposed' shamelessly confirms it. With Max Martin, the most commercially successful producer of the last 15 years serving as executive producer, as well as co-composer and co-producer of all of the scheduled album singles ('Payphone', 'One More Night' and 'Daylight'), accompanied by Shellback, another hit-making producer who co-wrote the aforementioned 'Moves Like Jagger', the results are undeniably pop-chart oriented as the success of the singles proved for the album. In the spotlight is now Adam Levine, the now unquestionable frontman who directs the band's sound much like Peter Cetera used to be for the band Chicago, and he aptly co-writes all of the material and co-produces nearly every song. This abrupt shift in power leaves the rest of the band reluctantly muted in both songwriting and performance, as their instrumental output is anything but noteworthy midst the electro-pop background music generated by the producers. The gap in quality between the songs made by the aforementioned producers and the rest of the tracks is hence notorious, with little if nothing to make of interest of the album tracks, with the minor exceptions of 'Lucky Strike' and Shellback's 'Doin' Dirt'. If anything, the songs on Overexposed are tied together by unflattering qualities; the album is more often than not bruised by jaded lyrics (e.g. 'Fortune Teller'), and altogether the lack of a unanimous output by both Levine, the producers, and the rest of the band, shines too often to redeem it from its bland, superficial qualities. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    3
    Overexposed is the worst Maroon 5's album. Songs about Jane was the better then It Won't Be Soon Before Long was good too. Then Hands All OverOverexposed is the worst Maroon 5's album. Songs about Jane was the better then It Won't Be Soon Before Long was good too. Then Hands All Over wich wasn't so bad and wasn't so good."One More Night" and "Payphone" was reassurings but when I listen all the album the day of his coming I was sad to see that the true Maroon 5 was dead for a f***ing electro-pop album. I was so sad... In this album only "Ladykiller" is great and only "One More Night" and "Payphone" can be cool to listen the rest this is a horror movie. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    2
    I have to admit payphone was a good song. However, the album is really not that good. Maroon 5 means Adam Levine in this album. I wasI have to admit payphone was a good song. However, the album is really not that good. Maroon 5 means Adam Levine in this album. I was dissapointed because the songs weren't that good. I don't think they are the same as they were before and they have changed in a bad way. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    I tried not to get mad. I guess you can't trust releases even if they are NEW. This album is so commercial, i found myself waiting for theI tried not to get mad. I guess you can't trust releases even if they are NEW. This album is so commercial, i found myself waiting for the show to come back on. Oh wait.... Expand

See all 57 User Reviews