Paris

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 171
  2. Negative: 76 out of 171

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. izata
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    all of the critics that gave this album less than 8 gave so bcuz it's paris! they dont care if this album rocks or not, they juz want to giv it as low as possible 4 d simple reason dt the singer is ms. hilton. people are being unfair wit her nowadays n as a big fan i felt extremely sorry 4 her. every track is a magical work, except HEARTBEAT. it's ballad n not exciting as the all of the critics that gave this album less than 8 gave so bcuz it's paris! they dont care if this album rocks or not, they juz want to giv it as low as possible 4 d simple reason dt the singer is ms. hilton. people are being unfair wit her nowadays n as a big fan i felt extremely sorry 4 her. every track is a magical work, except HEARTBEAT. it's ballad n not exciting as the other pop songs in here are.. TURN IT Up, StARS ARE BLIND, NOTHING IN THIS WORLD, SCREWED are the highlights here... dont listen to d critics, go ahead n follow ur intuition n buy this wonderful album! Expand
  2. DericMC
    Aug 30, 2006
    9
    Surprisingly good. I never expected it at all.. Wow. However, the amount of negative publicity it's receiving is very unfair. Don't hate the album just because it's Paris Hilton. This album is even more entertaining than Beyonce's latest album. Who would have thought Paris can do this? I highly recommend Jealousy, it's amazing.
  3. LealaniM
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I love it!! it's a fun poppy load of poppiness and i do enjoy that...most of the time.
  4. TripperR
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    It's actually pretty damn good. I listened to the whole thing today, and it's actually pretty damn good.
  5. Eleanor
    Aug 24, 2006
    9
    This album is okay for me.I love this album,It's not bad!
  6. nadiaho
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!!!
  7. AndyH
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    This is a great pop record, another Scott Storch classic. Forget the anti-Paris criticism, it's totally unjustified. This album delivers in spades. And if you don't believe me, head over to the respected AMG music site, they love it.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    love this album! u may hate paris but u can't hate good pop music
  9. PietJ
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    Quite the production . .
  10. GabrielC.
    Sep 3, 2006
    9
    Plain and simple its a great pop record. And AMG gave it a very honest straightforward review. Its production and tightness and Paris' half way pleasent sounding voice just make a great record.
  11. EdwardH
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    She rox y'all fell in luv wit "Stars are Blind" and all her songs are sooo like awesome and rad Paris is so freekin' awesome wit her album 4 reel. and production by Scott Storch super beat maker and producer is another awesome point bout diz totally rad ass album. You Rule P 4 Lyfe!
  12. Sarkes
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    I love this CD, it's got great pop songs, EXCELLENT DEBUT!! = )-
  13. Aik
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    I think her album turn out to be better than what most people thought... I like her album... Kinda cool pop songs
  14. NathanK
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Brilliant!
  15. josh
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    omg, you're all crazy, this album is SO good. just try not to think about how it's paris hilton. if it weren't freakin paris, no one would be so mean about it. it really is fun to listen to, (except for fightin over me, that song is atrocious). and if you've never even heard the album, ust crawl into a hole, you're an idiot
  16. DavidC
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    One of the best pop album released in a long time. Full of inspired, original and melodic dancing beats. Obviously there's a lot of haters out there.
  17. RossH
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    this album is terrific.
  18. andresh
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent album all the songs are catchy really easy to hear very enjoyable
  19. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album. I don't understnad how people can criticize this album. The songs are awesome and the tunes are just great and the remake of "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy" s one of the best on the album Key Tracks: "Stars are Blind" "Turn It UP" "Do Ya Think I"m Sexy"
  20. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    If Britney Spears or Rihanna sang "Stars Are Blind", the song would've been a worldwide #1. Hilton's is a great pop record and I'm looking forward to her new music, I think she's getting judged too much for her social condition, but she's really good.
  21. DouglasH
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Brilliant. An astonishing satire on celebrity vacuity in the 21st Century...Paris will have the last laugh. On the surface dazzlingly empty, yet full of subtle irony meaning for the more attentive, the lyrics convey something of the dense, multilayered/referential suggestion of Melvilles chapter on the "Whiteness of the Whale", or for that matter, Brett Easton Ellis. Paris Hilton - Brilliant. An astonishing satire on celebrity vacuity in the 21st Century...Paris will have the last laugh. On the surface dazzlingly empty, yet full of subtle irony meaning for the more attentive, the lyrics convey something of the dense, multilayered/referential suggestion of Melvilles chapter on the "Whiteness of the Whale", or for that matter, Brett Easton Ellis. Paris Hilton - musician/philosopher. Who would have thought? Expand
  22. JavierD.
    Oct 4, 2007
    8
    I think that more of the 90% who is scoring this album with less than 4 doesn0t even listened the Cd, They are only scoring with bad grades because of their hate to Paris but the true is that this Cd is really good , maybe her voice is not great but the melodies are really good and happy . To bad that some people don't give a chance to her album.
  23. ChrisE
    Oct 14, 2006
    8
    Surprise, surprise! Hotel heiress Paris Hilton CAN deliver a dancefloor-ready pop record that isn't half bad. Of course, her performance on a certain now-infamous homemade video is really what's made her such a huge feature in today's pop culture, but don't let it be said that just because she's rich she lacks talent. Sure, her singing abilities come off Surprise, surprise! Hotel heiress Paris Hilton CAN deliver a dancefloor-ready pop record that isn't half bad. Of course, her performance on a certain now-infamous homemade video is really what's made her such a huge feature in today's pop culture, but don't let it be said that just because she's rich she lacks talent. Sure, her singing abilities come off indistinctive in a soft-and-sweet baby coo, but that's not atypical from most female teen pop stars of today. And who cares that most of the album's material slides from one track mentioning how hot she is to another saying about the same thing? From the summer's biggest faux-island drink of a single "Stars Are Blind" to recent smash hit (and best song on record) that is "Nothing In This World" (which features a hilarious accompanying music video), Paris (Paris Hilton's debut's title into the music world) remains a piece of dance fluff that is as good as it is overproduced; and it is overproduced. Top producers Scott Storch and J.R. Rotem deliver awesome beats here, which is probably the biggest reason Hilton's record plays as well as it does. Nonetheless you might find yourself enjoying this despite your personal feelings toward the buxom blonde. To put it into perspective: after listening to it, you can be sure it's bad for you--and yet you still just can't get enough of it. Expand
  24. Jimmyn
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    dude, it is so amazing. it sounds like blondie! it sounds like the cars! it sounds like madonna but funnier and with a technically less impressive but at least w/o a stupid british accent voice! this is better than the new tv on the radio album that everyone is creaming their jeans about. and i am not kidding.
  25. Jasmine
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    i think it's good anyway
  26. mikes.
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    Everyone hates Paris Hilton, even critics. However, I'd have to say that I agree with AMG's review on this album, It's a good guilty pleasure album and the production of storch and friends is excellent. They took a girl with no talent and made an album that has potential to make big success, in fact her single stars are blind has already blown up the charts. Paris has Everyone hates Paris Hilton, even critics. However, I'd have to say that I agree with AMG's review on this album, It's a good guilty pleasure album and the production of storch and friends is excellent. They took a girl with no talent and made an album that has potential to make big success, in fact her single stars are blind has already blown up the charts. Paris has charisma and her music has an infectios personality and charm. The melodies are catchy as well, all which gives way to a fun and entertaining pop album. Expand
  27. Bill
    Aug 26, 2006
    7
    I bought this CD as a joke. But, to be honest, the joke was on me--she's not half bad. The songs are actually quite catchy and her narcissism on the lyrics is hysterical, but probably intended.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Aug 23, 2006
    8
    If you had no grasp of English and no connection to pop culture, you might enjoy this CD. I found it catchy and pleasing despite being utter drivel.
  29. JamesL
    Aug 27, 2006
    7
    As expected, people and critics are judging this cd based on their opinion of Paris Hilton and her lifestyle as opposed to the music on the cd. The truth is, this cd is a very well-made, fun dance-pop album. Sure, Paris probably had very little to do with that, she was able to buy some good producers and song-writers and you wouldn't really call what she does "singing", but her hired As expected, people and critics are judging this cd based on their opinion of Paris Hilton and her lifestyle as opposed to the music on the cd. The truth is, this cd is a very well-made, fun dance-pop album. Sure, Paris probably had very little to do with that, she was able to buy some good producers and song-writers and you wouldn't really call what she does "singing", but her hired help have crafted a cd which is as good as anything put out by britney or christina... Expand
  30. AceM
    Aug 29, 2006
    8
    Whether you like Paris Hilton as a person or not, people need to be honest and admit that this album is quite enjoyable....bubble-gum pop at it's best! To rate the album based on whether or not you like Paris as a person is moronic!
  31. MauricioG
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    Don't think about who "sings". If you focus on the songs you'll find that this is a great album.
  32. keiji
    Aug 24, 2006
    7
    this is ok for me, better than ashlee simpson n hilary duff....so i luv her.
  33. ChristianE
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    Like many I didn't expect to like Paris Hilton's debut album Paris. But like over half of the majority I decided to purchase it anyway--just to see how it sounded. It surprised me to say the least that I ended up enjoying it and not finding it utterly pathetic. There are two bad, bad missteps (the bland "Fightin' Over Me" and the horrendous cover "Do Ya Think I'm Like many I didn't expect to like Paris Hilton's debut album Paris. But like over half of the majority I decided to purchase it anyway--just to see how it sounded. It surprised me to say the least that I ended up enjoying it and not finding it utterly pathetic. There are two bad, bad missteps (the bland "Fightin' Over Me" and the horrendous cover "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy"), but the remainder is great pop music, especially current hit single "Nothing In This World." It's hard to tell where Paris begins and production ends due to overproduction--but does that matter? Love her, hate her or just don't give a crap about her, this disc might surprise you. Expand
  34. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    It might be Paris Hilton that is singing destroys the album's reputation. It might be an album for vanity purposes. We just can't deny that her debut sounds good and fun. It creates several dance-hits.
  35. May 23, 2011
    7
    She might've just bought the best producers to hit the scene and whipped their asses to make her sound great, but she certainly can make a proper pop album.
  36. May 27, 2015
    10
    Great music, good job Paris! the album paris Rocks! don't listen to negative critics, go ahead and buy this wonderful album! don't listen the haters.
  37. Apr 15, 2016
    10
    Perfect, Star Are Blind is amazing, ela lançou um álbum leve com uma identidade bem legal, as pessoas não escutam e já julgam não acho isso bacana..
  38. Aug 16, 2016
    8
    A solid album, after 10 years since it's initial release I still find myself coming back to this album and playing it. Highlights are "Stars Are Blind", "Nothing In This World" and "Heartbeat".
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Like a silly holiday cocktail with umbrellas and sparklers, there is much to enjoy about Paris Hilton, albeit for one mad Med fortnight only.
  2. What's most surprising about Paris's album is that it's really not all that bad; released by any other, ahem, artist, it would likely earn better notices than recent albums by the likes of Lindsay Lohan, Hilary Duff, or Ashlee Simpson--not that that's really saying much.
  3. She sings like a woman who has heard of something called singing, can't be sure of exactly what it might entail, but is fairly certain you do something a bit like this. She sounds both distracted and bored stiff, as if making an album is keeping her from the more serious business of standing around a nightclub in a pair of really enormous sunglasses.