Pearl Jam - Pearl Jam
Pearl Jam Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adam Kasper again co-produced the band's belated follow-up to 2002's 'Riot Act.' It is Pearl Jam's eighth studio album overall.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Pearl Jam hasn't sounded as alive or engaging as they do here since at least Vitalogy, if not longer.
  2. Pearl Jam is another straight-up collection of raw, blistered rock and moody mid-tempo balladry. The difference here, and the reason for excitement, is that the self-titled record more consistently achieves the grandeur, rage, and beauty they’ve always pursued, throughout its entirety.
  3. Unfashionable as they probably are, Pearl Jam have gone some way to regaining both their fire and their relevance with this, a record that takes equally from classic Neil Young stylings as it does raging, polemic punk.
  4. Songs like "World Wide Suicide" and "Severed Head" even come close to recreating the hard rock thrills of the band's billion-selling debut, Ten.
  5. 70
    Pearl Jam sound reborn, vital. [Jul 2006, p.112]
  6. It's got all the elements of a great album, but it doesn't evoke the feeling of listening to the band's first three seminal albums.
  7. [It] is a lusher and less challenging listen than recent efforts, but it's also curiously featureless, the sound of a group drained of passion and fresh ideas. [Jun 2006, p.118]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 192
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Finally regaining some of their original inspiration, Pearl Jam surprises everyone with this innovative album, one that actually keeps getting better as it goes along. Nothing they've done since Vitalogy has been anywhere near this good. Collapse
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    I once thought that Pearl Jam were going to be this band that reinvented their sound every album, and would eventually create this monster explosion of new fans that would come around and admit that PJ is one of the greatest bands in existence. That's not the case with this band. Instead, they are an entity that allows for its members to be a part of a song writing team that only true loyalist fans appreciate. This album is just a continuation for the love I experience every time I buy one of their albums every 3 to 4 years. Thanks, PJ. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    I enjoy Pearl Jam, but I found when they first released this that there were not many songs by them that I recognized on this album. However, when I actually listened to it, I found the songs were VERY catchy and I was only slightly disappointed. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    It returns to their routes in a way which, though not the same is commendable nonetheless. Vedder demonstrates his capability in writing some great hooks with 'World Wide Suicide', 'Comatose' and the very underrated 'Gone'. Expand
  5. j30
    Dec 9, 2011
    7
    Pearl Jam's self-titled, return to form, 8th LP isn't one ot their best records or even close to a classic. It's a fine addition to their already strong catalog. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    1
    This album is the worst thing this band has ever done. Awful lyrics, predictable and safe music, no emotion. Even the artwork is terrible. I turned my CD back to the store. Expand

See all 192 User Reviews