Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Special note to the freakazoids who think "Starships" killed hip-hop: the rapper who rhymes "fri-vo-lous" with "po-ly-ga-mist" is X-Acto sharp as ever.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    Sure, she flirts with dance pop and R&B balladry, but you can forgive her for wanting to satisfy different tastes. Here, it actually works.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    On most of these tracks, Minaj rises to the occasion.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    Good news is, the too-pop Roman Reloaded now feels more balanced once this eight-track EP worth of material tips the scales.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    It is most definitely worth your time, money and investment and whilst the Re-Up section isn't particularly mind-blowing, it is definitely an intelligent addition that rectifies certain initial errors
  6. 60
    An extra eight-track CD of new material, which is our primary concern here. [It does not] adds much to the Minaj experience.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    As its own EP, The Re-Up would help provide balance to the pop chart aspirations from last year. But as a tack-on for Roman Reloaded, it plays like a band-aid over a shotgun wound.
  8. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    The original Pink Friday was a competently crafted blend of rap and pop that, even when it skewed to one extreme or the other, did so with style and skill. Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded - The Re-Up appears to try to replicate that formula, and with predictably mixed results.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 17 out of 46
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The Re-Up is everything you could ask for in Nicki. She blends singing and rapping so well without using the dance tracks to satisfy some hip-hop fans. The songs Freedom, The Boys, and Va Va Voom are something that both genres can listen to without judging its true genre. I really like Up In Flames as wel. It reminds me of something Kayne West would put out. A very critical acclaim track could win a grammy. The other 4 songs(High School, Hell Yeah, I'm Legit, and I Endose These Strippers) cater to the hip-hop fans that fell in love with her during her mixtape days.

    Another thing I love is that none of the features overshadow her unlike her previous work!!!!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Awesome! I love Nicki rap. She's amazing, and this album is epic. The Re Up means quality. I don't like Nicki pop, and i'm glad to see Old Nicki's back. I love it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Well, surprising The Re-Up is good, this is the Nicki that i love, there's a few weak tracks, but is Minaj at her best! My favorites are the epic Up In Flames and Freedom, her redemption song? Good Collaborations like The Boys and Hell Yeah, the typical and bombastic hit Va Va Voom (better than the crap Starships) and obvious the worst track I Endorse These Strippers, not mention to Lil Wayne (he sucks and ruined it all). But rectifies certain initial errors, yes! Full Review »