Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded--the Re-Up Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 170 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pop rapper reissues her second release with eight new tracks featuring guest appearances by Thomas Brinx, Cassie, Ciara, Lil Wayne, Parker, and Tyga.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    Special note to the freakazoids who think "Starships" killed hip-hop: the rapper who rhymes "fri-vo-lous" with "po-ly-ga-mist" is X-Acto sharp as ever.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    Sure, she flirts with dance pop and R&B balladry, but you can forgive her for wanting to satisfy different tastes. Here, it actually works.
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    It is most definitely worth your time, money and investment and whilst the Re-Up section isn't particularly mind-blowing, it is definitely an intelligent addition that rectifies certain initial errors
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    On most of these tracks, Minaj rises to the occasion.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    The original Pink Friday was a competently crafted blend of rap and pop that, even when it skewed to one extreme or the other, did so with style and skill. Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded - The Re-Up appears to try to replicate that formula, and with predictably mixed results.
  6. 60
    An extra eight-track CD of new material, which is our primary concern here. [It does not] adds much to the Minaj experience.
  7. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    As its own EP, The Re-Up would help provide balance to the pop chart aspirations from last year. But as a tack-on for Roman Reloaded, it plays like a band-aid over a shotgun wound.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 46
  2. Negative: 17 out of 46
  1. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    awesome album!!! the songs on it are really good and unique. every thing about this album i love. If you like pop and rap music then you will probably like this album. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    NICKI MINAJ DID A great job!!!! i love roman reloaded the -RE-UP!!!!! I LOVE HOW SHE RAPS AND IS THE BADEST IN THE GAME RIGHT NOW!!!!!! LOVE THE RE-UP!!!!! Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    The Re-Up is everything you could ask for in Nicki. She blends singing and rapping so well without using the dance tracks to satisfy some hip-hop fans. The songs Freedom, The Boys, and Va Va Voom are something that both genres can listen to without judging its true genre. I really like Up In Flames as wel. It reminds me of something Kayne West would put out. A very critical acclaim track could win a grammy. The other 4 songs(High School, Hell Yeah, I'm Legit, and I Endose These Strippers) cater to the hip-hop fans that fell in love with her during her mixtape days.

    Another thing I love is that none of the features overshadow her unlike her previous work!!!!
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    You know I was skeptical in listening to this collection, but surprisingly, it's a great set of music. The Re-Up completely reassured me of how great of an artist Nicki can be.

    Stand-out tracks include: Up in Flames, Hell Yeah, and High School.
    Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    6
    In addition to the already 20-ish songs there are an additional few more new tracks in this re-issue. All up the album is still just OK as there are too many skip-worthy tracks, but at least there are a few stand-outs like the singles. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2013
    1
    TRASH! Annoying, boring, repetitive, boring, basic, nothing, boring, boring! She acts like a crazy person and keep on screaming on her songs, the hole album is trash, trash and more trash, burn it if you have one okay? Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    She's a weak, terrible rapper, the worst female rapper to ever join the female rap movement. Even with the fact that her next album is gonna flop and she's gonna disappear forever, what Nicki Minaj did to the female rap movement is totally terrible and very scary. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews