Playing With Fire

User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 340

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. yourmother
    Dec 14, 2006
    0
    i think the people who gave this CD good reviews were just kidding... or at least i hope they were.
  2. Parker
    Dec 20, 2006
    0
    "Playing With Fire" is truly horrible. However, it's name is not truly apt. Fire implies creation, creation implies intelligence, and K Fed, the man who signed a pre-nuptial agreement, is obviously not intelligent. Fire also implies impact. If you took the combined IQ of everyone who liked this album and thought "DAMN! This guy has fly-ass beats!," you would not have the intelligence "Playing With Fire" is truly horrible. However, it's name is not truly apt. Fire implies creation, creation implies intelligence, and K Fed, the man who signed a pre-nuptial agreement, is obviously not intelligent. Fire also implies impact. If you took the combined IQ of everyone who liked this album and thought "DAMN! This guy has fly-ass beats!," you would not have the intelligence to light a match (let alone play with it). In fact, they should be rewarded for the mere fact that they were capable of pushing the "play" button. No, nevermind. They should be charged with noise pollution, distubing the peace, terrorism, truency, jaywalking, and whatever else we can charge them with to lock them up for good. I give it 0 out of 10. Deal with it. Expand
  3. Skullhead
    Dec 2, 2006
    0
    I haven't listened to this cuz i know this album sucks big time and k-fed is a big loser
  4. DTMike
    Dec 24, 2006
    0
    WTF
  5. BrittanySpears
    Dec 26, 2006
    0
    WHAT A BUM. This record isn't just the worst record of all time, it's made by the worst singer and rapper of all time. Don't get me wrong, I already think rap is the dumbest style of music, it's just that Federline makes it so much worse. He should do a reverse-Jackson and dye himself black because he ain't going nowhere white. The ABSOLUTE WORST cd ever put
  6. naissury
    Dec 27, 2006
    1
    I'm sorry. This is not music, this is sh*t. Do NOT buy this CD, for christ's sake! There are more "sophisticated ways" to waste your money!
  7. Mike
    Dec 8, 2006
    0
    I mean this is trash, Vanilla Ice sounds like a god compared to this bullcrap
  8. JS.
    Nov 25, 2007
    0
    What an incredible load of crap. Male golddiggers do exist, and sometimes, they make bank with dumbass country girls. You know he had that idiot wife of his snowed for her to pay for this crap. This album is a prime example of the horrors that ensue when one person has too much money and no common sense. This isn't K-Fed's fault, he just wanted to be known for something other What an incredible load of crap. Male golddiggers do exist, and sometimes, they make bank with dumbass country girls. You know he had that idiot wife of his snowed for her to pay for this crap. This album is a prime example of the horrors that ensue when one person has too much money and no common sense. This isn't K-Fed's fault, he just wanted to be known for something other than impregnating women and then living off THEIR money. Unfortunately, boy hasn't learned it's the only thing he's good at. Maybe this will clue him in. Expand
  9. GabeC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    0
    wow i don't think anyone who posted anything positive about this garbage was listening to the same CD...snooze-fest
  10. JordanK
    Jan 14, 2007
    0
    k-fed is the most garbage artist 2 eva touch a mic is this really wut BIG and Pac died 4!?
  11. RazB
    Jan 17, 2007
    0
    Wow...an absolutely horrid album
  12. BaileyA.
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    See, this is what happens when stupid people get rich. They produce complete and total crap like this album.
  13. JohnathanE
    Jan 22, 2007
    0
    This man is an absolute joke...A complete waste of time and space!
  14. KenL
    Jan 22, 2007
    0
    you mean i can't give a score below zero??
  15. SpyderMan
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    ummm, yea
  16. bettys
    Feb 12, 2007
    0
    dump it and fast.....he needs to get a job at mcdonalds.....
  17. ValVil
    Feb 15, 2007
    0
    bad.
  18. AaronN
    Mar 31, 2007
    0
    i am still puking, but the bad taste just wont leave my mouth
  19. WillimS
    Apr 29, 2007
    0
    This album exemplifies the belief that it white people can't rap.
  20. RF
    May 27, 2007
    0
    This guy suprisingly has good beats and he still manages to fuck up the album with lame ass lyrics and a voice that sounds like he's mentally disabled. I hope he actually does play with fire so that this dumbass would get third-degree burns and hopefully die.
  21. JohnnyL.
    May 28, 2007
    0
    awful, just awful
  22. jasont.
    May 28, 2007
    1
    sucks fucking ass, but i'd rather listen to kfed than fort minor and linkin park. linkin park should've got the extreme disgust rating too, as well as a less than 0 rating.
  23. ElliottB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    0
    no thank you. i watched almost every WWE show k-fed was on just to see his butt get kicked, and his opening theme almost made me want to leave before it happened. and if music can pry me away from a television airing a beat down on a sissy like federline it must be monumentally good or insanely bad and the latter is what i heard. so to put it quite frankly, Cher putting the sounds made by no thank you. i watched almost every WWE show k-fed was on just to see his butt get kicked, and his opening theme almost made me want to leave before it happened. and if music can pry me away from a television airing a beat down on a sissy like federline it must be monumentally good or insanely bad and the latter is what i heard. so to put it quite frankly, Cher putting the sounds made by dragonforce's guitars into a vocalized sound while getting beaten by Gwar would be more appealing than this. Expand
  24. GordonB.
    Jun 22, 2007
    0
    I have never listened to this or heard of him but I reckon if I did hear it I would hate it!
  25. MariahK.
    Mar 18, 2008
    0
    Absolutely TERRIBLE.
  26. FatTony
    Apr 24, 2008
    0
    The sound of me taking a shit after eating a rancid, maggot infested pile of week-old burritos would sound better than this f*cktard's album. Metacritic should be ashamed for not having the option to give minus infinity points for garbage like this.
  27. ShaneV.
    May 13, 2008
    0
    The absolute worst piece of garbage.
  28. D.S.
    Sep 19, 2009
    0
    I would rather carve my entrails out with a rusty spoon and then slit my throat, than listen to this guy. Has anyone noticed how even MC dissed him in the summary? --- Kevin, please kill yourself if youre so damn upset about that slu-- *ahem*, don't insult us with these abominations.
  29. NathanS
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    Fed-ex (as he is now appropriately being called), is a waste of everyone's time. Please people, make him flop, stop talking about him, and perhaps, just maybe, he'll go away. This isn't even intriguingly bad; it's not even laughable. I think the worst part of an album like this is how he casually utters blasphemy in the lines of "Like Jesus in every way/I'm Fed-ex (as he is now appropriately being called), is a waste of everyone's time. Please people, make him flop, stop talking about him, and perhaps, just maybe, he'll go away. This isn't even intriguingly bad; it's not even laughable. I think the worst part of an album like this is how he casually utters blasphemy in the lines of "Like Jesus in every way/I'm crucified every day" in a way that he seems so oblivious to the importance of Jesus as anything more than simply being crucified at some point. Horrible, I wish I could put it into the negative. Expand
  30. K.Young
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    Simply Awful.
  31. Joe
    Nov 11, 2006
    0
    Well, you know what they say...when you play with fire, you're bound to get burned. In other words, if you listen to this album, your soul will suffer third-degree burns. Congratulations, KFed. You've made the worst album these ears have ever heard. Compared to this guy, Fred Durst is Tupac and Vanilla Ice is Biggie Smalls.
  32. ChrisW
    Nov 12, 2006
    0
    Terrible... as bad as Diddy's new album. All right maybe that's not fair to K-Fed... as bad as Flavor Flav's is more like it.
  33. W0nder
    Nov 13, 2006
    0
    Please Democrats, let your first action in power be the prohibition of this CD...
  34. TruthBeTold
    Nov 15, 2006
    0
    Garbage, pure and simple. This is a mockery of everyone in the music business.
  35. MadelineH
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    K-Fed??? HaHa. I coulndt believe it when i saw lose control debut on The Teen Choice Awards. I still can't.
  36. RuiS
    Nov 22, 2006
    0
    what happens when you play with fire? horrible.
  37. AdrianR
    Nov 25, 2006
    0
    The fact that this CD can get ratings greater than 5/10 from more than just fluke and drunkenness is statistical proof that one can never trust what any human critic says ever again.
  38. RudyL
    Nov 26, 2006
    0
    Here's my one word review: CRAP.
  39. KurtC
    Nov 26, 2006
    0
    MY EARS! MY EARS! AAAAAH!
  40. CameronC
    Nov 27, 2006
    0
    Worst rap cd i've ever heard. quite an accomplishment
  41. MannyZ
    Nov 29, 2006
    0
    Man you suck. I can cough up better rhymes when I take a shit (No Lie, I'm serious)
  42. matteo
    Dec 11, 2006
    0
    all the positive comments go like " hey, he actually sat down, wrote the stuff and rapped it! he made a great effort. we should compliment him for that ". well here's something you might not know. that's the job every rapper does. and there's a lot of them. and a lot of them are shitty like him, but they don't get big shiny promotion campaigns, or even a record deal all the positive comments go like " hey, he actually sat down, wrote the stuff and rapped it! he made a great effort. we should compliment him for that ". well here's something you might not know. that's the job every rapper does. and there's a lot of them. and a lot of them are shitty like him, but they don't get big shiny promotion campaigns, or even a record deal for that matter. kevin federline is a phony- he's pretending to be streetwise, black, cool, a gangster. come on. Expand
  43. RoyE
    Dec 21, 2006
    2
    I had hemroids that felt better than the crap I heard coming out of KFED's mouth. Only thing missing from the lyrics, was the lyrics themselves.
  44. Spartan234
    Dec 29, 2006
    0
    Should this crap even be considered music?!? I'd rather be stabbed in both ears than hear any more K-Fed...or the music of anyone who actually likes this garbage.
  45. Jan 24, 2016
    0
    Can you really call this a rap album I certainly can't and I'm glad I only listened to it once. I'm glad this guy never released another album. The rest of this review is just filler because I needed 150 characters.
  46. Jun 9, 2016
    0
    I'm not a hater in any way, but this is just weirdly bad. Terrible lyrics, terrible flow, I didn't like the beats and the lyrics are not like meaningful in any way. This guy is just saying that he is the best and stuff, no he's not.
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. The worst thing about Playing with Fire is that it's too stale and inept to inspire laughter: it can only elicit weary groans.
  2. Billboard
    30
    In general, Federline enunciates well. [11 Nov 2006]
  3. Other rappers might hesitate to brag about marrying into bling, but Federline isn't self-conscious about it.