Queen of the Wave - Pepe Deluxe
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    100
    Never in recorded history has there been an album of such audible variety, distinctive fidelity and lyrical intensity.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    100
    The most impressive album ever painstakingly assembled across space and time.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    Dense, satisfying, and fun--this deserves to go down as one of the peaks of baroque pop in recent years.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    80
    All in all, hugely ambitious enjoyable fun.
  5. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    Its cleverness and humour burst like springs from an overstuffed rococo couch.
  6. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    Fans of the band will love it--but anyone looking for a return to the good old days when albums were invested with tender loving care will want to hear it too.
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    Those only aware of Pepe Deluxé through their Levi-assisted one-hit wonder won't know what hit them, but fans who have continued to keep up with their abstract brand of electronica should enjoy most of the ride.
  8. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    An epic, widescreen journey which is busy and bonkers but constantly entertaining.
  9. 70
    Yeah, it's garish, but it's also gaudy, loud, and primarily fun.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    There's just too much noise here, and not enough cohesion, for a singular identity to sing clearly.
  11. Feb 1, 2012
    60
    All over the shop stylistically--but a keen handle on dynamics and narrative holds it all together. [Feb 2012, p.97]
  12. Feb 1, 2012
    60
    [Their] constant supersize-me approach is a bit exhausting, but few albums this year will strive this hard to entertain. [Feb 2012, p.95]
  13. Feb 1, 2012
    60
    What we're left with feels like a big blur--an entertaining and wacked-out trip to Wonderland, but not one that I feel particularly compelled to return to.
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    50
    Queen of the Wave just makes you lay prostrate at the feet of Pepe Deluxé in the hopes that you won't mind them relentlessly hammering you with tacky quirks and leaving absolutely nothing to the imagination.
  15. All the talent in the world can't cover up the fact that Queen of the Wave simply tries too hard and succeeds too infrequently.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down. It's beyond brilliant. If Quentin Tarantino directed a Cirque du Soleil show, this would be the score... And Lord knows that needs to happen. Full Review »
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I've never heard anything like this album before. I mean, I've heard a lot of stuff like it, but never this far out there. It's like all of the best parts from all of my favouritest albums put together. Full Review »