Radio Music Society - Esperanza Spalding
Radio Music Society Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the 2011 Grammy-winning Best New Artist is described as a more upbeat album with two cover songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    It is a stunning achievement in contemporary pop. Yet, unlike so much of contemporary pop, it's timeless.
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    Spalding's improvised ensemble pieces put pay to the tittle-tattle about jazz being dead. It is very much alive. [Apr 2012, p.90]
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    Spalding's charisma, whimsical poetry and enthusiasm for jamming still run through the heavily produced set.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    Most of the record finds organic urban grooves, frosts them with sweet pop-soul hooks and serves them up hot and fluffy.
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    [Radio Music Society] positions Spalding as an artist looking forward and back, a powerful stance.
  6. Mar 19, 2012
    She's the kind of artist whose skills absolutely merit a wide audience, but Radio Music Society proves that she hasn't quite figured out how to capture one.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    Despite a charmingly lithe voice, her song writing has a way to go.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    Seriously this is my first Esperanza Spalding album that i have ever listen to. I had this album on repeat all day at work. Seriously one of the BEST albums this year!!!! Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    Radio Music Society, the follow album to Espreanza's Chamber Music Society is a wonderful jazz album that is must-buy. The first track "Radio Song" is a catchy Jazz/Bossa Nova song which makes you want to sing-along and have a good time. Now the album starts to slow down with "Cinnamon Tree", a spicy and delightful tune. "Crowned and Kissed" starts out with a few harmonies by Spalding and a simple trumpet intro, which later unfolds into a beautiful ballad-like song. "Land of the Free" is a short calm song (1:54 minutes) featuring a jazz organ, which sort of acts as an intermission in the album after the first 3 songs. The album's first single "Black Gold" is next, featuring Algebra Basset. This song has a Jazz/Pop vibe to it, a crossover of both genres. Next we have a beautiful cover of Michael Jackson's "I Can't Help It", turned into a Jazzy version of the original, a relaxing/beautiful song to listen to by the beach. "Hold On Me" starts with a movie-like/mysterious trumpet intro, and blossoms into a smooth/saucy tune. Followed by a soft song with a vague sound around it, funnily the name of this song is "Vague Suspicions". "Endangered Species" (the longest song of the album) featuring Lalah Hathaway is a funny mischievous tune, with intriguingly some synth patters to compliment the tune. "Let Her" tells the tale (narrated in the 2nd person) of someone who partner has walked out on them, later in the chorus Spalding "She's gone, bye bye so long, Let her, go!". "City Of Roses" is quite like a bed of roses, soft, calm and beautiful. Some songs are meant to make people happy and bring smiles to their faces, this is one of those tunes "Smile Like That". As a bonus on iTunes you can get another track "Jazz Ain't Nothing But Soul". Featuring Joe Lovano this track is very classic Jazz song, that should be played in coffee house. Overall Radio Music Society is wonderful Jazz album with consistent tracks that you would want to listen to in the car, at, the beach, in a coffee house or even your living to relax. From a tranquil and soft tune, to a jazzy and soulful piece, Radio Music Society reflects many different aspects of the Jazz genre. Splading's vocals are mesmerizing and meaningful. This is album is also not completely based on love songs, like most contemporary album of today. By far on of the best album's of 2012, and one of the best Jazz albums of the decade. Expand