Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 25, 2012
    100
    These songs may not be self-styled major statements, but they are endearing and enduring, as is Ram itself, which seems like a more unique, exquisite pleasure with each passing year. Hardcore fans will definitely find the big set to be a worthwhile investment.
  2. May 25, 2012
    100
    It's more of a "real" record than McCartney, but it just as firmly rejects rock-star self-importance.
  3. May 25, 2012
    92
    Ram is a domestic-bliss album, one of the weirdest, earthiest, and most honest ever made.
  4. Ram's 2012 reincarnation sounds impeccable. Though the bonus tracks don't pack much punch, the LP's dozen original cuts, crowned by the breakthrough sensation "Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey," arguably make this LP McCartney's seminal solo effort.
  5. May 25, 2012
    90
    Ram sounds ahead of its time.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 2, 2015
    10
    For the longest time "Abbey Road" by the Beatles was my favorite album of all time, it is rock n' roll's quintessential swan song. But thereFor the longest time "Abbey Road" by the Beatles was my favorite album of all time, it is rock n' roll's quintessential swan song. But there was something that kind of bothered me in "Abbey Road": it's too perfect. Absolutely wonderful without a doubt, but the lack of the "bare bones factor" i appreciate so much in music just distanced me from it. And then i heard "Ram". By the time i heard that record i already had heard the essential Post-Beatles albums ("all things must pass", "plastic ono band", "band on the run", etc.) and the Beatles discography of course but when i came i cross this one, with such a sloppy, childish front cover i felt intrigued and when i heard the leading single "Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey" i knew THAT was the purest McCartney i've ever heard and yet it was so refreshingly new in the context of his work as a songwriter. My curiosity peaked and i finally heard the album. It is, dare i say it, the most brilliant set of songs McCartney has ever released. The jaw-dropping blend of flawless musicianship and a "i don't give a damn" attitude in the overall sound of the album makes it miles ahead record from anything any pop/rock musician was doing at the time. Mind you, this was released in 1971 and this album might as well be the birth of indie pop. It is full of amazing musical ideas and some of the most honest and unpretentious lyricism McCartney has ever put on paper. It is pure domestic bliss, done by one of popular music's most gifted artists. So unapologetic about what it's trying to convey and full of brilliant melodies wrapped up in an unique sound in the context of McCartney's discography and popular music in general at the time. It is an imperfectly perfect album.
    In the beginning i mentioned "Abbey Road" cause Ram's grander moments prove that Paul was probably one of the main architects of the Abbey Road Sound, but the key difference between Ram and Abbey Road is that Ram shows a much more joyful approach to mistakes, not just sound wise but also pen wise. It doesn't fear the carefree mindset that family life and music can give someone and it takes chances on so called lazier approach of song-crafting, but it no way sounds like it's "just another album that has to be recorded". This album on the hands of lesser artists would have been a disaster (and some major critics insist this is a disaster), but Paul is anything but lesser, cause nothing on "Ram" seems calculated. It is genuine and blissful and it is Paul's magnum opus in his solo career and i hope, soon enough, it may occupy his deserved spot in the "classic albums pantheon". An absolute masterpiece...
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This album was criminally under-appreciated in it's day, because most critics I don't think "got" what Paul was trying to do here. InThis album was criminally under-appreciated in it's day, because most critics I don't think "got" what Paul was trying to do here. In contrast to Lennon's "important statement" Plastic Ono Band, and Harrison's career defining epic "All things Must Pass", this was just Paul largely recording independently signing songs that superficially didn't appear to be about anything in particular. How could the writer largely responsible for Abbey Road and Sgt. Peppers release something that didn't make some sort of grand sixties statement?

    But that's part of the genius of this album and why it deserves to be in the pantheon of "Greatest former Beatle solo projects". Ram is arguably the first indi-pop album, that doesn't try to be anything more than it is. Paul's musical talents are brilliantly understated on this album, songs like "Ram on" "Dear Boy" and "Back seat of my car" get under your skin without even really trying. The lyrics have some coded (and not so coded) shots at his former bandmates, but they're largely just a celebration of his new life with Linda+ Kids on the farm. In many ways, by not trying to make a "grand post-60's statement", it sounds less dated than some of Lennon's blatant political messages he was releasing around this time. It's a shame this album received the critical backlash that it did when it came out, because Paul reversed course almost immediately and dedicated the rest of this decade and the 80's making music that tried so hard to be liked. It's not really until the late 90's and early 00's that Paul felt comfortable making albums that are comparable to this again.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    First album I listened of Paul outside of The Beatles and I love it. Quite a few good songs though out such as Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey andFirst album I listened of Paul outside of The Beatles and I love it. Quite a few good songs though out such as Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey and Smile Away. It's just a real feel good album and definitely worth checking out. Full Review »