Red - Taylor Swift
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 290 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 290

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift has showed with this album that she is a musical force that is here to stay. Her ability to capture her state of mind at a particular moment, match it with an insanely catchy melody and then allow listeners a glimpse of it while not being overly navel gazing or overly introspective is unmatched.

    Say what you will, her ability to churn out solid songs with frightening
    dependability will see her in good stead for years to come and ensure that she does not remain a footnote in music history.

    Those who decry her seemingly immature subject matter don't get it. Taylor is the consummate truth-teller in her songs. She does not put on a false persona or fake a situation in order for emo points. She tells her life in her lyrics and allows her listeners in on her private inner thought-life.
    Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    RED showcases the development of Taylor as a singer-songwriter, and almost every song in this album can be a great single. My personal favorite songs are "22", "I Almost Do" and "Everything Has Changed", along with the first four promotional singles. This is also a step closer for her to harvest a bunch of awards at the next Grammy !
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I think Red is Taylor's most entertaining album by far. Many people accused Taylor of sounding the same for her past albums, now I think they can't say the same. She has definitely branched out a lot musically. Experimenting with dubstep, playing with pop, indie and rock, it is basically a buffet of genre choices and there is something inside that could appeal to each person. Not only did she improve sonically, her lyrics and songwriting has grown sharper than ever. "Treacherous", "All Too Well" are great examples how Taylor has shown growth and maturity in her writing, evoking feelings that few can do with words in a song. Some may criticise her going into pop, but I think her pop songs are more brilliant than most you hear on radio. "22", despite sounding like a brainless pop piece meant for dancing round the bedroom at the surface, it actually conveys the confusing emotions young adults have and I don't think you can easily find a mainstream pop song with such lyrical detail. Even if this album may not be her best album, I think it bodes for more better things to come, hopefully refining her sound yet still keeping her versatility . Who knows, she may be the next Joni Mitchell. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    This is definitely the best mainstream album of the year. The songs are written remarkably well, and the sound is so different from what everyone else is putting out in the industry right now. This is my first time listening to a Taylor Swift record and I didn't expect it to be this great. She is an amazing songwriter at such a young age of 22. Taylor really made me a fan after listening to this album. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Taylor Swift is one of the Greatest songwriters of Our generation. I have listened to the whole album and this album actually has a more Country Rock feel to it rather than her usual Country Pop sound. This is the most mature album of her career and its worth every penny. I have to give Taylor credit for this album, she has grown and mastered the art of being a true artist. Taylor has a mix of Country, Pop, and Rock songs but that doesn't mean she's left her County roots. Songs like "Stay Stay Stay," "I Almost Do," and "Begin Again" remind us why Taylor is wining in the Country World right now. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Red is more than a color on this album, represents so many different emotions. Different styles, different lyrics. This album is so mature than the other stuff that Taylor wrote before. I don't care if she has dance songs like "we are never...". For me, this is RED.
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Fantastic album, reminds me of a female contemporary Paul Simon meets Bob Dylan meets Springsteen with a touch of Alanis Morrisette but in a Taylor Swift way. No one can write music like this girl. She is a class act!!! I love this album already, been listening to it all day. It's a definite lasting artwork. And if you're feeling iffy that it's different let it grow on you because it is a masterpiece!!!! Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Taylor always will be a great singer, doesn't matter if she is singing country or pop, her voice is so amazing and the lyrics are great, haters gonna hate...
  9. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Such an outstanding album, showcases Swift's natural talent in songwriting. Her dabbling in different genres from pure country, to synth-pop, and to dubstep not only shows her versatility as an artist, but it seems almost daring and brave. Her progression in songwriting is evident in beautifully-crafted pieces such as Treacherous and Begin Again; and then in All Too Well, she unleashes her best-ever lyrics yet: "You call me up again just to break me like a promise/So casually cruel in the name of being honest". As a listener, one minute you're there crying in heart-break, and then suddenly, you're there dancing along to fast-tempo anthems like 22 and We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together. No matter what people say about the album in a positive or critical way figures never lie Red sold 1.2 million copies in its debut week, a feat achieved by less than a handful in music history. The commercial success is a testament of Swift's incredible talent. Red is sure to keep fans just as excited for her next album. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    I think this is Taylor's finest moment. Her music has matured in the works of something absolutely wonderful. People say she has changed, I just think she has grown up and expressing her talent throughout different genres such as: alternative rock, pop rock, and even dupstep. It's a pretty fantastic albums if you ask me. Why this has a 3.9 on the User score, I have no clue. But, most people are just mad because she isn't the sweet little country girl anymore. She has grown up and I think we should all respect her for her talent. Expand
  11. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Red is a visual album that aims to make its listeners dance. I like the new direction of the album and Taylor's grown-up voice. The collaborations are also good.
  12. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I just think the Britney Spears fans should stop with this unnecessary repression and stop to give low grades to the disc, which is perfect for a sign and go buy the Femme Fatale, because the album needs to give a big up in sales.
  13. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Red is a magnificently stunning album. The reviews on here are unusually low, but the album is most definitely not a disappointment in any way. It delivers on so many grounds that it's competing for one of the best albums in recent years on my list.
    *Best Song on the Album: The Last Time (feat. Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol)
    *Standouts: I Knew You Were Trouble., 22, Holy Ground, Sad
    Beautiful Tragic, Everything Has Changed (feat. Ed Sheeran), We Are Never Getting Back Together, Red, Begin Again Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great effort and full of surprise! Heart-touching country ballad - like I ALMOST DO and BEGIN AGAIN; The song with the best lyrics (descriptive/narrative) - like ALL TOO WELL; Funny country song - like STAY STAY STAY; Best country-pop stuff (a good combination of Country music and Pop/Rock music) - like RED; Good Duet - like EVERYTHING HAS CHANGED; Surprising breakthrough - like I KNEW YOU WERE TROUBLE and WE ARE NEVER EVER GETTING BACK TOGETHER. Expand
  15. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I'm a hugeeee Taylor Swift's fan. I love all her work, this album is spectacular and have some of the most beautiful lyrics I've ever heard such as 'All Too Well' and "Come Back... Be Here". This album is such a huge risk for Taylor, she's so perfectionist and it shows, this is a five stars album. Thank you Taylor.
  16. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Mudafans recalcados pq perderão o recorde. Bjos sabor milho. Adeus
  17. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    O Album é Otimo,Só falta msm o Feat com a Sely mais...Prefiro a taylor Pop do que country ,vendeu muuuito amooo isso é ótimo pois cantora que n vende n é nada -n
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Left me speechless. I've been a swifty for a long time now. Well, there is no way anyone could compare "Red" to any of Taylor's previous albums (Speak Now, Fearless..) Because on this one, she tried to change her style a bit which should not be received negatively! She was just trying to spread her wings musically and I'm a huge fan of her courage. Red may not be as lyrically strong as its predecessors, but it's still so Goddamn good and people love it! I personally do. I Salute Taylor for doing such a flawless album. I salute her and I appreciate this new astonishment.. It's sexy, fun and beautifully-done ! Cheers ! Expand
  19. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This is an entirely new ground for us Swifties. It's more pop than usual and some of the fans won't be happy, but for me it's an album I won't soon forget. Listening to it makes me remember sad moments, makes me feel like dancing, and feel happy. I was smiling the whole time listening to it. Once again she proves her prowess at writing songs.
  20. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    1. State of grace, the first music on Red return to us a good beat, but isn't the best music 7/10. 2. Red, the music album title is the one of three best music on 'Red' 10/10. 3. Treacherous is a calm music, relaxed, good but it's not good like Red or I Knew You Were Trouble 7/10. 4. I knew you were trouble is the first music by Taylor Swift that mix country and dupstep, Taylor is the first artist to do it and I knew you were trouble is the best music on album Red 10/10. 5. All too well has passed for us the characteristic by Taylor 8/10. 6. 22 is the pop music on Red, Taylor knows how do a pop music like 22 9/10. 7. I almost do is, like All too well, the music by Taylor, own Taylor, like the music by Fearlss 8/10. 8. We are never ever getting back together is a good music. But Taylor can do more than Never Ever. Taylor has enchanted world with Never Ever 10/10. 9. Stay Stay Stay is more country music on Red 8/10. 10. The last time ft. Gary Lightbody is a different music, so good 10/10. 11. Holy Ground is the worst music on Red 6/10. 12. Sad beautiful tragic could have a BIG remix, it's so sad 6/10. 13. The lucky one is like Taylor's lucky number, but I think this music could be better the another on Red 7/10. 14. Everything has changed ft. Ed Sheeran is, with I knew you were trouble, the best music on Red, Ed Sheeran helped with a lot of success 10/10. 15. Starlight, I don't like this music 6/10. 16. Begin Again has a PERFECT clip, Taylor knew how to make it, in Paris 10/10... Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    this was a really good listen, and I am actually going to buy this album and then make sure I listen to her past albums as well because I
  22. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This album combines her best side of the country, with a touch of dub-step and pop, it makes this record so beautiful from the artwork, to the lyrics, HER BEST ALBUM!, I didn't like Taylor Swift, until I heard this, the vocals, the essence, the sound, the lyrics, makes this Album PERFECT!
  23. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Taylor Swift explores all the edges of music, and with this album, she's done it again, Red is one, if not the best album that I've heard in my entire life. Expand
  24. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Taylor Swift's best album to date! This album has more Genres than her usual Country music. Starting with Begin Again, which was one of the best songs of the album. Then "We are never getting back together" another awesome song. My favorite is "Red" song, even though critics say Taylor Swift is not good for pop rock, I found that song to be incredible!
  25. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    Album of the year!
    RED includes two or three weak songs, BUT there's 14 Amazing songs in there!
    State of grace, I almost do, All too well.... This album was absolutely one of the best albums of the year
  26. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Just awesome. We can't comment a lot. Every song on RED is worth a listen. Stand-outs: I Knew You Were Trouble, All Too Well and Begin Again. Well done Taylor. You proved, once again, that you're one of the best artists nowadays.
  27. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Taylor Swift despite how "in" it is to hate her proves once again that she is one of the most talented songwriters/composers of our time. There is not a single song on this album that I would even consider mediocre, they are all exceptional. While Ms. Swift might be a bit overexposed by all the not-so-successful relationships she had in recent times, it does not take away from the quality of this album at all. She writes about her life, her experiences and it si shared by millions of your girls all over the world. I'm amazed that despite being a 36 yrs old divorced "grown up" man, I am also in love with this album and the feeling of youth, love that it radiates. Expand
  28. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Amazing album, Taylor has got a very good voice, i enjoyed all the songs. The songs were all good or brilliant. 22, Red, State of grace, we are never getting back together, I knew you were trouble and Stay Stay Stay are the best songs
  29. May 2, 2013
    10
    This album is absolutely the best album that Taylor has ever done. She's very talented and even tho her voice is not very strong and powerful the way she composes her songs is brilliant. Once again congratulations Taylor Swit
  30. May 28, 2013
    10
    Fantastic album, one of the best albums of the year so far. Taylor has a very good voice and her vocals are excellent on the alum, and all the songs are great, especially 22, i knew you were trouble, red, state of grace, stay stay stay, we are never getting back together and begin again.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    80
    Hearing Taylor Swift sing makes you remember these things, how you can wax poetic one day about the efficacy of love to change lives permanently for the better, and the next rail about how love leads only to pain and heartache.
  2. I like the feisty ones, as I generally do. But "Begin Again" and especially "Stay Stay Stay" stay happy and hit just as hard.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    More varied in its offerings, but also more disjointed than her previous work, Red sounds like a transitional album for Swift.