Repave - Volcano Choir
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    Justin continues amazing with this project. But it's not just his vocals and lyrics that make this project great. There is some truly impressive, unique music on here that make it stand out as one of the best albums of 2013.
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Repave is a great album. I really enjoyed hearing Justin Vernon again after being deprived of Bon Iver for so long. The best tracks are Dancepack, Byegone, and Comrade, but the other 5 are still a great. My favorite album of 2013 so far.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was fourteen when I got my first listen of Bon Iver. Their self entitled album took my brain for ransom. 'For Emma, Forever Ago' made me cry like a little girl. Front-man Justin Vernon's latest work as Volcano Choir did both of the aforementioned, and then some. Each song is its own story, its own emotional journey. Go buy this album so that people like Justin Vernon and his fellow Volcano Choir-er's never stop doing what they do. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    Repave is great. I just recently got my first taste of volcano choir after listening to Bon Iver for quite some time and I loved it!. This was everything I had anticipated. This is a must listen!
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    This is one of those few albums where you don't want it to end. After my first couple of listens I could not get enough of it. I let off for a few weeks then listened to it again and it has truly become one of my favorites which is why it's deserving of a 9.

    The jump from "Unmap" to "Repave" is truly remarkable, "Unmap" had a couple standout tracks but the rest felt like ambient
    nothingness. With this album you can feel the much more focused attempt at each song. It sounds like a more powerful Bon Iver but with a little edge that Collection of Colonies of Bees gives it.

    This album is truly a masterpiece with its bold arrangements and Justin using more of his powerful natural voice. You will definitely listen to this one on repeat.
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    80
    It’s a balance of brainy introspection and communal joy--hard to do but easy to listen to.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    At this point in time, Volcano Choir has made it clear that despite what the scattershot structure of Unmap may have indicated upon its release, this project is for real. Whether it remains on the musical radar for years to come remains to be seen.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Volcano Choir puts Mr. Vernon’s voice and words up front and builds something like songs around them, often with crescendos marching toward full-scale choruses--enough to make the often inscrutable lyrics sound passionate enough to be worth puzzling out.