Sam's Town

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 292

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Guidov.
    Jun 30, 2007
    3
    I really don't get this band and their rising popularity. What's special about this? It's pretentious, it doesn't really rock the balls out of your pants and the musicians are nothing special.
  2. TreyS
    Oct 2, 2006
    1
    How far down will Brandon's ego take the band?
  3. MC
    Oct 3, 2006
    2
    I recently them perform on SNL....when i heard Flowers "attempting" to sing I lost whatever small amount of respect I had for them. It was embarassing to watch him. This album has just cemented that. totally over-hyped hacks.
  4. JakeM.
    Oct 5, 2006
    2
    So if we were rating this on the Unintentional Comedy Scale, it would be a 10 out of 10. But let's keep this legit - this is junk, pure and straight up.
  5. RAGGAM
    Oct 17, 2006
    1
    Bad, boring, installed into a stardom that ironically have killed them. People use to talk about their new sound as a disguise that you can buy, but in music the real good things dont work like that. And this album is simply bad.
  6. James
    Oct 17, 2006
    3
    I've given it a week, but I cannot get past the 7th grade lyrics. Couple those embarrassing lyrics with the ultimately boring music and you have a classic sophomore slump. I guess the only question now is whether it's merely a critical or both critical and commerical disappointment. If it's the latter, then they'll get their third album out within the next 15 I've given it a week, but I cannot get past the 7th grade lyrics. Couple those embarrassing lyrics with the ultimately boring music and you have a classic sophomore slump. I guess the only question now is whether it's merely a critical or both critical and commerical disappointment. If it's the latter, then they'll get their third album out within the next 15 months...if they're smart. Expand
  7. GaborA
    Oct 3, 2006
    1
    It's hard to say what direction the killers stepped in considering they started off at terrible and landed in abysmal. As musicians they can be considered psuedo retards. As venture capitalists, however, they are geniuses. Eat this one up too america.
  8. Den
    Oct 3, 2006
    3
    Much more fun the last time. The killers are best when being clever with a smile, when showing a sense of humor. Sam's Town drowns in self-importance and buckles under the weight of their heros, namely Bruce Springsteen, U2, Morrissey, and Depeche Mode. Better luck next time!
  9. Sean
    Oct 4, 2006
    1
    This album is terrible. Bruce Springsteen should sue The Killers for damaging his legacy. Wow, just wow.
  10. stephenb
    Oct 6, 2006
    2
    "hot fuss" was damn near perfect. how did they go so horribly wrong on this album? bye bye simplistic catchy pop hooks. this album sounds like meatloaf and andrew lloyd webber wrote a musical about america. very disappointing.
  11. JMo
    Sep 28, 2006
    2
    The cracks are showing on this album...Flowers was obviously hoping that his delicate voice could touch Springsteen or Mercury (Freddie that is) and the simple fact is...it can't. The Killers shoulda stuck with what they knew best.
  12. DaveK
    Oct 15, 2006
    2
    Emo meets Springsteen with a closed head injury lyrics. Lacks the zeal of Hot Fuss and the updated-retro alternative fun. Sam's sounds clunky, over-dramatic and joyless. The change in sound is unfortunate, a backlash is coming.
  13. EricW
    Oct 3, 2006
    3
    Ouch. Watch The Killers crash and burn, blue-collar style.
  14. AndrewR.
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    ouch, tough to listen to. I didn't "enjoy the show", and frankly "Sam's town" should only have a population of 3.
  15. jimh
    Oct 5, 2006
    0
    no me gusta
  16. trimm
    Oct 7, 2006
    2
    im sorry but this sucks.
  17. PaulB
    Nov 21, 2008
    1
    Awful, was expecting a better album than the last one which was only half good but amazingly this is rubbish all the way through.
  18. joej
    Dec 1, 2006
    3
    The whole record is in a key that doesn't suit Brandon's voice. He sounds like he is struggling throughout. Musically lame and lyrically the same. Posturing significance doesn't give significance. Disappointingly weak.
  19. NicoleG
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    absolute garbage
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Uncut
    60
    The problem... is that size seems to be used as an excuse for the lack of musical ideas. [Nov 2006, p.102]
  2. Crucially, Sam's Town sounds like a complete collection, with a far better strike rate than its predecessor.
  3. 80
    It is very good.