User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air for Sum 41. After their disappointing 2007 album "Underclass Hero", they've come back after a long break to prove themselves. Their song writing is much stronger this time around. Songs like Screaming Bloody Murder and Skumf*k have a very familiar Sum 41 sound, with a darker, heavier twist. They also have new songs like Blood In My Eyes, which has very strong guitar work, on the album. There are also two songs that are simply Rock n' Roll. 'Time For You To Go' and 'Baby You Don't Want To Know'. It is a very different direction for Sum41. Then there is 'Crash', which is one of the best ballads the band has ever come up with. I'm not one to listen to lyrics to often, but this song that was written about a car crash that front man Derek Whibley witnessed, really hit me.

    Overall, this is a very solid album. If you are a longtime Sum 41 fan, there are songs for you. If you are new to the band, there are many different styles found on Screaming Bloody Murder that are sure to suit some of our tastes. The album is much heavier than their last, and a very large improvement. I am extremely happy for the band. They took 4 years to make this album, but the extra time has seemed to pay off.
    Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    It's a great album. And there are great messages in the lyrics. It lacks epic guitar solos from brown sound but its just amazing how great the songs are. RECOMENDED
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    i've figured out that this album is all the hate, frustration and love for Sum 41's frontman Deryck Whibley's ex wife Avril Lavigne.
    1. Reason To believe- Starts with total sum 41 drum beat like something is rising, riff in this song is played like its played by the drums, lyrics got the power to influence. Ends with the fade that keeps you on the hook. The song ends really cool way as it
    slows and slows but it doesnt fade.
    Lyrics that made me think about the song is worth ''but i have a feeling, the pain in my tears that i cant hide''.
    //- 9/10
    2.Screaming Bloody Murder- First thing first, this song really shook my nuts off my pants. Its an awesome song. Full of rage and power, but the riff is a bit similar to Lamb Of God's- Decending. Song starts slow, when the drums starts and the riffs then the rhythm, that part almost take the piss outta me. Song's got an awesome bridge part, one of the best. You just cant get enough with this song.
    Lyrics that made me think about the song is worth ''watch me bleed!! Bloody murder we will scream!!''
    //- 10/10
    3. Skumfuk- Starts with an electro acoustic guitar. The verse goes on with that guitar only. After some time..its **** What the **** is that?? that's what i said when i heard that ****in thing, Total punk Song. Awesome awesome song i ever heard. There's pain, there's hate in the song...ends again with the fade. I'd give it 11/10 but i gotta control.Lyrics that made me think about the song is worth ''all i need is time for me to breathe''
    //- 10/10
    4. Time For You To Go- This song is like a new genre. Like a break up song. Lyrics are classic. In vocals there's a change in the microphone sound. The solo gets you dancing and when the bass guitar enters just after that. That's something ****in genius i'd say.
    //- 8/10
    5. Jessica Kill- Starts with the fast electro plucking. The guitar after the verse with the coordination of drums is just awesome. Drums are really good. And then the bridge was the part that took my breath away. Another awesome punk song by Sum 41.
    //- 10/10
    6. What Am I To Say- Starts with a continuation with Jessica Kill. Starts with acoustic then starts with distortion. A really really good song to listen to. Will remind you about your life. The solo starts with chords then the pentatonic continuation is used. Best distortion slow song like the song 'pieces' from their former to former album 'chuck'.
    //- 9/10
    7. Holy Image Of Lies- Holy image of PERFECTION i must say...song starts like a goodbye song, goes slow all hate and crap she's done. Then the Breakdown sounds shattering, fallin apart, awesome use of the instruments when the drums play and the bridge part where there's fast piano playing with the drums and guitars. Awe ****ing some song..hell yeah!!
    //- 10/10
    8. Sick Of Everyone- to be honest, its an awesome song, drums are like fading and rising constantly and the guitar is screaming with the voice of Deryck. Starts like the subject, point to point. Ends like an awesome punk band ends.
    //- 9/10
    9. Happiness Machine- the song literally sounds like the machine..hahaha i mean like, awesome use of instruments they play. One guitar on the back playing constantly and other pumping up the rhythm. Lyrics are cool. The solo part is awesome, its herd to figure out whether its a bridge or solo. Drums in that ****in solo would take your breath away literally.
    //- 10/10
    10. Crash- Song wrote on the condition of Deryck over Avril Lavigne. An acoustic song, melody is like its own last breath. Chorus part has some crunch distortion. Lyrics are the major part in the song.
    Lyrics that made me think about the song is worth 'remember just to live everyday like its your last'..
    //- 10/10
    11. Blood In My Eyes- wait a second? Is that Sum 41?? Holy mother of all mother****ers..its all hate hate hate for avril lavigne. Blood in my eyes is something epic something bizarre but huge. If you want a hate song or album, grab this one. Brekdown just gave me goosebumps starts with all dead note chords. I was like what the **** That's what you call sum 41. Yeah it starts with no sum 41 and suddenly becomes all sum 41.
    Lyrics that made me think about the song is worth ''so i leave that all behind, leaving with blood in my eyes'', ''and i'm over you, congratulations!'', ''there's nothing to say now, the feelings are already dead'', ''i cant see straight anymore with this blood in my eyes!!''
    //-10/10
    12. Baby you dont wanna know- Starts witha funky riff that will make you dance all the wayy. Chorus is just perfect as all the verses. Solo sounds exactly like punk. Pretty awesome song.
    //- 8/10
    13. Back where i Belong- this song is crazy, fast and scream..riffs drums bass, all just a perfect 10. Lyrics are ****in cool. The best part, the song ends like they usually ourto the song in live.
    //-10/10
    14. Exit Song- That's the last song of their album.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    Great album, way better than underclass hero!! Every song sounds nice. Remind me chuck....Probably the best sum 41 album so far....I dont understand the bad critic reviews.
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    I don't get why this album has such low ratings! It's incredible...I'm so in love with every song, especially with slower ones. This album is epic!
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    I think this is the best Sum 41 album... Very good songs... Screaming Bloody Murder the single was really good.........................................
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    screaming bloody murder is without doubt the best album of 2011, i am willing to say, for me it was simply life changing!! it has a lot of passion and pain, it is something i can listen to everyday and dont get tired of it....legendary
  8. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    Sum 41 have been developing real character in the past 2 albums.
    This new album really gives the band a more hard rock flavor, a la My Chemical Romance
    but with a different voice to it.
  9. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    The first song what I heard from the album was the "Baby, You Don't Wanna Know". It was an instant favourite to me. The second was the "Holy Image of Lies". I found this song very unusual from the Sum 41, but after I listened it a few times, I started to love it, and that was my second favourite. It was the same with the Blood In My Eyes and the Scumf**k. The only problem for me is that Deryck divorced with Avril Lavigne, and it affects on the whole album. The songs' mood are dark and sad, and I miss the songs like "In Too Deep", "Fat Lip" and the others, but it doesnt matter, if you like Sum 41, you must give it a try. Maybe you won't like it for the first time, but after a few listenings, everything will change. Strong lyrics, perfect guitar solos from Deryck and Tom, true statements from the dark side of the life, fresh Sum 41 sounds, that's the Screaming Bloody Murder. I can't wait for the next album.

    (ps sorry for the spelling mistakes)
    Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I really liked this album. There are some songs on it that I listen regularly to and it is completely my style. In my opinion this is Sum 41's best album. Keep up the good work!
  11. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    Not sure what the critics have hated on this album for. I am here 2 years after the release of the album and i am still listening to it. Theres two bad songs on there: "Baby You Don't Wanna Know" and "Time For You To Go". Beyond those two songs, every single song is a complete original and epic masterpiece. As I said, this review is written 2 years after release and I am still listening. This is most defiantly one of my favorite albums. It's much darker than a lot of their most "successful" stuff "In Too Deep" etc. But if you listen to anything other than cheery, happy music and like more emotional and meaningful stuff, then you will defiantly wanna check this album out. Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    I have never looked forward as much as I have for this. Screaming Bloody Murder too put it simply is perfection. Catchy, more technical and heavier than other albums, my personal favourite!
  13. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    I just discovered SBM and am in paradise. Does This Look Infected is one of my favorite albums of all time it is a masterpiece in my opinion. Chuck is also incredible. The adrenaline charged energy of these albums is like rocket fuel to me and Screaming Bloody Murder (which I JUST discovered yesterday) is a gift. This album is awesome. The energy is at full tilt, with classic SUM-41 sound. Even the slower songs are good. GREAT album, and glad to see this band still churning out what makes them great! Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    I think this is their second best album. Although there's no more punk-pop style in this album, they still make a great songs. Meaningful songs, great riffs and catchy notes. But Sum 41 hasn't been the same since Brownsound left this group in 2006.
  15. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    I actually made an account due to the madness evident with the critic reviews. Make no mistake this is not only SUM 41's best album since All Killer (albeit with a different darker flavour) it is an excellent album full stop. Highly recommended
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 58
    Murder ultimately drowns in flavorless thrashing. [1 Apr 2011, p.77]
  2. Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Sadly, Sum 41 spread the good stuff far too thin over an ambitious but not always successful 15 songs, and, to paraphrase an old title of theirs, there's too much filler and not enough killer material to truly convince. [26 Mar 2011, p.52]
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    40
    They're still making forays into metal (Crash), but most Sum fans will agree that the band just hasn't been the same since guitarist Brownsound left town.