Section.80

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Section.80 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 368 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The California rapper who worked on Dr. Dre's Detox album releases his third independent album, featuring Colin Munroe, GLC, RZA, Schoolboy Q, Ashtro Bot, BJ the Chicago Kid, and Ab-Soul as guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    Section80 may not be a sacred text but I've got the feeling that in five years it may just prove to be prophetic.
  2. It's said that Lamar's goal here was to prove himself capable of standing alone. Well, in certainly one of the greatest critical understatements written, he's done it.
  3. Just when you're thinking not bad at all, come some songs.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Self-serious flaws and all, Section.80 still stands as a powerful document of a tremendously promising young guy figuring out his voice.
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Section.80 proves is that its author's brain is neither lost nor useless, as he weaves together carefully constructed thoughts before spewing raps on each of the project's 16 tracks, ensuring nothing is disposable or without purpose.
  6. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    This 23-year-old may have been searching for answers, but that journey allowed him to find one of this year's most outstanding albums with Section.80.
  7. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    He doesn't quite sell the thesis that that's the point.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Since the release of this album, I have heard/seen multiple people call Kendrick Lamar, "the next 2pac". This is a false statement, becauseSince the release of this album, I have heard/seen multiple people call Kendrick Lamar, "the next 2pac". This is a false statement, because Kendrick Lamar is the next Kendrick Lamar, and the only one at that. The only comparison I would make, is that he too gives a voice to his generation. His ear for production is quite astounding, and his lyricism and flow are both jaw dropping. Lamar dwells on a variety of subjects, most notably the Reagan Era, and the crack epidemic that occurred in his decade. There is no denying that in the matter of a few short years, this will be looked back upon as a classic, and I will surely have no arguments towards that. Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Not joking, but this is one of the greatest things I've heard in my life, and I've heard a lot of great things. Grabs you right from the firstNot joking, but this is one of the greatest things I've heard in my life, and I've heard a lot of great things. Grabs you right from the first track F*** Your Ethnicity, and follows up so strongly with Hol Up, and it never loses momentum. Damn epic! Expand
  3. May 2, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    A fantastic and gripping rap album. Probably my favorite rap album of 2011 and definitely in top 3 of my favs for the year. In this album,A fantastic and gripping rap album. Probably my favorite rap album of 2011 and definitely in top 3 of my favs for the year. In this album, Kendrick relays intelligent verses that serve a purpose. "HiiiPower" is a fantastic track and is amazingly produced by J. Cole. "Ronald Reagen Era" also has a few great hooks. Great album and I cannot wait to hear more from this promising, young rapper. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2016
    9
    The debut studio album from Kendrick Lamar immediately shows that he can write songs that are very positive and fun, but he can also writeThe debut studio album from Kendrick Lamar immediately shows that he can write songs that are very positive and fun, but he can also write stuff that is deep, very deep and sad. And that's why I love his music so much! He does it in a way that his music always feels alive and meaningful. Kendrick is a real treasure. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    7.9/10................................................................................................................................................
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    He is an awesome rapper, indeed. But in 10 songs of this 16 track album he doesn't show that. He makes it relatively good with the great songsHe is an awesome rapper, indeed. But in 10 songs of this 16 track album he doesn't show that. He makes it relatively good with the great songs (e.g. Keisha's Song, Rigamortis, HiiiPoWeR) but the album isn't any more than a 6, so. Some stuff on here is pretty disappointing, nothing is bad, but as I've listened to 'good kid, m.A.A.d city' first, I am disapointed with this former release. Anyway, Kendrick Lamar is one of the best rappers of our time, the lyrics are really good but as I said, many tracks disappointed me. Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews