• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Aug 19, 2008
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DrewJ.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    to the reviewers screw you...you have no idea what your talking about go listen to some Britney spears and nsync thats probably what you consider music losers.
  2. kkmkkm
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Its a great album, no doubt about that. Learn music before you rate again people.
  3. F.M.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    Good music over all to enjoy. None of that shoot-em-up violent bullsh*t. real music. Lyrics could be better but either way good music.
  4. SamH.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    This is by far my favorite album of the year so far. The laid back style is different for the genre, but very enjoyable. the only problem is it makes you want to be stoned.
  5. JohnF.
    Sep 14, 2008
    0
    Shwayze's album is BAD, and not in the Michael Jackson kind of way. Clearly Shwayze has no talent except a big mouth and connections at MTV. Shwayze is to, let''s say, Kanye West what pee is to Crystal. Avoid, less he will make more of this swill.
  6. SeanL.
    Sep 4, 2008
    0
    This is act is terrible SpankRock rip off and shows how easily impressed some fans are these days. If you find shallow mindless lyrics over cheesy tacky beats to be entertaining then you might dig this. Just like Kottonmouth Kings, Bloodhound Gang and ICP, these impostors have no clue what hip hop is about and make money being a joke with no consideration for musical creativity. Save This is act is terrible SpankRock rip off and shows how easily impressed some fans are these days. If you find shallow mindless lyrics over cheesy tacky beats to be entertaining then you might dig this. Just like Kottonmouth Kings, Bloodhound Gang and ICP, these impostors have no clue what hip hop is about and make money being a joke with no consideration for musical creativity. Save yourself from his album which will make you dumber for listening to it. Expand
  7. MattD.
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    The reviewers featured on this site typically only give good reviews to spaced-out, sidestream indie bullshit. Don't trust this metascore in the slightest, judge the music for yourself. I mean, read the reviews here - they don't criticize the music so much as they take potshots at the artist and the listeners. And this gets a 39, but AC/DC's completely generic redux gets a The reviewers featured on this site typically only give good reviews to spaced-out, sidestream indie bullshit. Don't trust this metascore in the slightest, judge the music for yourself. I mean, read the reviews here - they don't criticize the music so much as they take potshots at the artist and the listeners. And this gets a 39, but AC/DC's completely generic redux gets a 71? That's a fucking mindbuster. Expand
  8. CrapO.
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    Quite possibly as bad as anything limp bizcuit, yanni or masta p ever put out. The entire human race is ashamed of you schwayze, ashamed....
  9. BenT.
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    Not music, more an expansion of a very funny (yet utterly terrifying) franchise. The kind of thing that makes me lose faith in humanity.
  10. SteveG.
    Nov 3, 2008
    0
    Drew J., Shwayze sounds just like NSYNC and Britney Spears. In fact, the whole album sounds exactly like that LFO song "Summer Girls." The reviewers aren't hating on Shwayze because they like different unintelligent pop music, they're hating on it because they'd prefer something with substance or something that couldn't have been written and produced by a 12 year-old.
  11. JeffB.
    Dec 2, 2008
    0
    This album represents the worst that music has to offer. This rapping moron sounds like he's trying to be early Will Smith without the talent. Add to this some sort of brain dead stoner hippie, and you've got a recipe for instant failure. I hope another Shwayze album is never inflicted upon us. And as far as sidestream indie bullshit goes, I've actually discovered a lot of This album represents the worst that music has to offer. This rapping moron sounds like he's trying to be early Will Smith without the talent. Add to this some sort of brain dead stoner hippie, and you've got a recipe for instant failure. I hope another Shwayze album is never inflicted upon us. And as far as sidestream indie bullshit goes, I've actually discovered a lot of new music worth listening to through Metacritic. It's a flawed system, but it DOES work more often than not. I guess I just have taste and intelligence. Expand
  12. JordacheK
    Oct 27, 2008
    1
    This music is an example of everything wrong with society. Clearly pop music hasn't taken a step forward since "No Strings Attached".
  13. SarahT.
    Oct 8, 2008
    1
    I unfortunately saw these guys at the roxy in la at the andre legacy and dirt nasty concert- who actually have not only talent, but original lyrics. shwayze and cisco came out and did some songs and let me tell you- they were super lame and are complete POSERS! i bet their whole act is funded by cisco's trust fund. i haven't heard the entire album, but from what i heard that I unfortunately saw these guys at the roxy in la at the andre legacy and dirt nasty concert- who actually have not only talent, but original lyrics. shwayze and cisco came out and did some songs and let me tell you- they were super lame and are complete POSERS! i bet their whole act is funded by cisco's trust fund. i haven't heard the entire album, but from what i heard that night- i'd shit on the whole album if it was in front of me. Expand
  14. MikeR.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    Dont listen to the critics, this is the kids first album and your hating on him, for his first album its amazing, 2 singles (corona and lime, and Buzzin'), usually its only one, hence the word single, very good album.
  15. AndrewB
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    I don't know how people can like this. MTV needs to stay out of making music. Danity Kane, Day 26 are some of the worst crap. Shwaze is a wannabe and the reviewers are all right. A 39 average is pretty damn generous if you ask me. They can do no right.
  16. RichC.
    Nov 16, 2008
    1
    Look at the reviewers, none of them have ever championed N Sync or Britney Spears. They look for originality and flair in their music, this lacks all of those. It's a tired 'thug life' pastiche. Boring and horribly shallow.
  17. QuinnA.
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I liked this album, it had a really chill flow to it. I thought most of the songs really got their message through well (even though their message was damn stupid) and Shwayze has an addicting essence to his voice. When mixed with the simple, catchy beats that Alder puts together, it makes for a good chill-on-the-beach album. Some tracks can be looked over, such as 'Flashlight', I liked this album, it had a really chill flow to it. I thought most of the songs really got their message through well (even though their message was damn stupid) and Shwayze has an addicting essence to his voice. When mixed with the simple, catchy beats that Alder puts together, it makes for a good chill-on-the-beach album. Some tracks can be looked over, such as 'Flashlight', 'Polaroid', and 'Lost my Mind', but the good tracks overshadow the bad ones. Standouts include singles 'Buzzin' and 'Corona and Lime', and also 'James Brown is Dead', 'Roamin', 'High Together', and 'Mary Jane'. Altogether, this album is worth spending twenty bucks on, and I with the best to Shwayze and Alder, and any future music that they make. Expand
  18. BrianD.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    This album is very good, i guess everyone has an opinion.
  19. SeanR
    Aug 25, 2008
    1
    Hahahaha Drew J, that was awesome. Not because you meant it to, but because your ridiculous comment with your 10 score only solidifies why these reviewers are probably right. I haven't listened to this album, but the band is called Shwayze. SHWAYZE. That sounds like a 1 to me.
  20. MarcoP
    Dec 12, 2008
    8
    I will admit, the beats on Shwayze's first album sound a little, well, cheap. But Shwayze delievers vocally, with catchy lyrics (My name is Shwayze/ kind of like Patrick). Although I'm not sure of the amount of people that relate to them though. He may not be the greatest rapper around, but he does deliver some nice solid beats. Good start, Shwayze
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. There may be no recognition of L.A. Style, but in their blissfully ignorant, lazily monotonous sunshine grooves, Shwayze does manage to be all about the style of L.A. in 2008, creating the quintessential record for L.A. sleazeballs.
  2. Adler's no beat master, and the tracks on Shwayze all sound like variations on thumb-strummed Jack Johnson tunes, topped with Sugar Ray-style rhymes about weed and women.
  3. 40
    The 23-year-old Malibu rapper's debut is as shallow as a spray-on tan; it's stocked with bro'd-out, giggly rhymes about 420-filled nights and T&A aplenty over lazy, midtempo beats from producer/reality-show rocker Cisco Adler.