Shwayze

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Aug 19, 2008
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DrewJ.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    to the reviewers screw you...you have no idea what your talking about go listen to some Britney spears and nsync thats probably what you consider music losers.
  2. kkmkkm
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Its a great album, no doubt about that. Learn music before you rate again people.
  3. F.M.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    Good music over all to enjoy. None of that shoot-em-up violent bullsh*t. real music. Lyrics could be better but either way good music.
  4. SamH.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    This is by far my favorite album of the year so far. The laid back style is different for the genre, but very enjoyable. the only problem is it makes you want to be stoned.
  5. MattD.
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    The reviewers featured on this site typically only give good reviews to spaced-out, sidestream indie bullshit. Don't trust this metascore in the slightest, judge the music for yourself. I mean, read the reviews here - they don't criticize the music so much as they take potshots at the artist and the listeners. And this gets a 39, but AC/DC's completely generic redux gets a The reviewers featured on this site typically only give good reviews to spaced-out, sidestream indie bullshit. Don't trust this metascore in the slightest, judge the music for yourself. I mean, read the reviews here - they don't criticize the music so much as they take potshots at the artist and the listeners. And this gets a 39, but AC/DC's completely generic redux gets a 71? That's a fucking mindbuster. Expand
  6. MikeR.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    Dont listen to the critics, this is the kids first album and your hating on him, for his first album its amazing, 2 singles (corona and lime, and Buzzin'), usually its only one, hence the word single, very good album.
  7. QuinnA.
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    I liked this album, it had a really chill flow to it. I thought most of the songs really got their message through well (even though their message was damn stupid) and Shwayze has an addicting essence to his voice. When mixed with the simple, catchy beats that Alder puts together, it makes for a good chill-on-the-beach album. Some tracks can be looked over, such as 'Flashlight', I liked this album, it had a really chill flow to it. I thought most of the songs really got their message through well (even though their message was damn stupid) and Shwayze has an addicting essence to his voice. When mixed with the simple, catchy beats that Alder puts together, it makes for a good chill-on-the-beach album. Some tracks can be looked over, such as 'Flashlight', 'Polaroid', and 'Lost my Mind', but the good tracks overshadow the bad ones. Standouts include singles 'Buzzin' and 'Corona and Lime', and also 'James Brown is Dead', 'Roamin', 'High Together', and 'Mary Jane'. Altogether, this album is worth spending twenty bucks on, and I with the best to Shwayze and Alder, and any future music that they make. Expand
  8. BrianD.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    This album is very good, i guess everyone has an opinion.
  9. MarcoP
    Dec 12, 2008
    8
    I will admit, the beats on Shwayze's first album sound a little, well, cheap. But Shwayze delievers vocally, with catchy lyrics (My name is Shwayze/ kind of like Patrick). Although I'm not sure of the amount of people that relate to them though. He may not be the greatest rapper around, but he does deliver some nice solid beats. Good start, Shwayze
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. There may be no recognition of L.A. Style, but in their blissfully ignorant, lazily monotonous sunshine grooves, Shwayze does manage to be all about the style of L.A. in 2008, creating the quintessential record for L.A. sleazeballs.
  2. Adler's no beat master, and the tracks on Shwayze all sound like variations on thumb-strummed Jack Johnson tunes, topped with Sugar Ray-style rhymes about weed and women.
  3. 40
    The 23-year-old Malibu rapper's debut is as shallow as a spray-on tan; it's stocked with bro'd-out, giggly rhymes about 420-filled nights and T&A aplenty over lazy, midtempo beats from producer/reality-show rocker Cisco Adler.