Someone To Watch over Me

Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    73
    Three albums in, Boyle sounds like she's finally arriving.
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    70
    Someone To Watch Over Me has the makings of a perfectly solid mopey-piano-girl album, largely eschewing chest-beating for a coarser-grained approach that serves the singer rather well.
  3. 60
    Her overemphasised enunciation puts Boyle firmly in the Julie Andrews stage show tradition but, at her best, she rises above inoffensive background music to gently brush the emotions.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    60
    Boyle isn't an interpreter, necessarily, finding new meanings of songs; instead, the songs are pitched toward her specific skills, so there's an inevitable sameness to her albums, as they all consist of slow, pretty versions of songs you know by heart.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    Nov 11, 2011
    50
    She sounds like a showbiz bet marking time. [11 Nov 2011, p.75]
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    50
    Cut by cut, Someone to Watch Over Me is not as strong as its forerunners.
  7. Boyle's versions are professionally executed but phenomenally dreary.
  8. Nov 7, 2011
    40
    Boyle has proven herself capable of doing one thing and one thing only, and Someone to Watch Over Me simply doesn't change that.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    What a shocking album, way to slow, doesn't have anything there to keep me interested in the album. The album sound like a desperate attemptWhat a shocking album, way to slow, doesn't have anything there to keep me interested in the album. The album sound like a desperate attempt to build her her previous success, but it fails miserably. Her vocals aren't as strong and yh the songs just aren't interesting. Its just a way to slow album for mainstream success. Full Review »
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Some music critics arent telling u how they tweeted on Review day of how they dreaded reviewing her cd b4 they even did. Many were biased 2Some music critics arent telling u how they tweeted on Review day of how they dreaded reviewing her cd b4 they even did. Many were biased 2 begin with.
    One called her a church rodent whom only sang â
    Full Review »