Sound Of Silver - LCD Soundsystem
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 223

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    LCD Soundsystem mixed the dance genre with indie amazingly.
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    The perfect walking music. All songs are unforgettable and catchy, showing no signs of slowdowns or weakness and I don't know if anyone appreciates this part but James Murphy's vocals are one of the most versatile ever and one of the most creative musicians in the business, addition to his admirable scope and ambition with the LCD Soundsystem project.
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Sound Of Silver is an extraordinary album. Each song sounds like a single. It never gets boring and it's like nothing you'll ever hear. James Murphy's vocals and all the Synth electro funk beats go perfectly well together. "North American Scum" and All My Friends" are standout tracks on the album. All In All, Sound Of Silver is an incredible record that needs to be listened too. A
  4. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    You may be surprised how simple and amazing this album by LCD Soundsystem is. "North American Scum" shows off the rebellious side while "All My Friends" shows the soulful side. You have admit "All My Friends" is a masterpiece of the 2000's.
  5. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another amazing album from LCD, "North American Scum" and "All My Friends" are stand outs, "Sound of Silver", not so much. Thankfully it's only one track that's less focused than the rest, and even said track has more to it than most. Buy Sound of Silve. Expand
  6. May 12, 2011
    9
    i loved it. 2 great songs wer on this album. someone great and get innocuous those are the highlights of the album to me. i love how they incorporated funk with electronica and dance music.
  7. j30
    Feb 1, 2012
    9
    LCD Soundsystem's Sound of Silver grows on you whether you want it to or not. The first time I listened to it I was confused and wondered if had any place in modern music, with all the musical concepts seeming a bit dated. I was wrong. "Someone Great," "All My Friends," and "New York, I Love You but You're Bringing Me Down" have staying power. The record is so irresistibly strange that youLCD Soundsystem's Sound of Silver grows on you whether you want it to or not. The first time I listened to it I was confused and wondered if had any place in modern music, with all the musical concepts seeming a bit dated. I was wrong. "Someone Great," "All My Friends," and "New York, I Love You but You're Bringing Me Down" have staying power. The record is so irresistibly strange that you don't really know what hits you. Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I f@#$ing love this album!!! This is my best album of all time. Awesome dance tunes, intelligent lyrics, incredible ending. James Murphy is my idol and inspiration, as well as Pat Mahoney, and his incredible technique and endurance in his drums. That's why I am Silver Man here!!!
  9. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Dance-Punk at it's finest. That is what James Murphy and DFA Records have been doing for 10 years now. Taking all the best from Human League (Someone Great), Talking Heads (Watch the Tapes) and Elton John (New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down) LCD Soundystem gives it a modern lick with dry drums, Electro house synths and a metric of cowbell. Other influences from more modernDance-Punk at it's finest. That is what James Murphy and DFA Records have been doing for 10 years now. Taking all the best from Human League (Someone Great), Talking Heads (Watch the Tapes) and Elton John (New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down) LCD Soundystem gives it a modern lick with dry drums, Electro house synths and a metric of cowbell. Other influences from more modern bands like the Strokes and the Killers are present. (All My Friends is pretty much a danceable Mr.Brightside) Not only is Murphy's sense of rhythm spectacular, his lyrics are intelligent, clever and funny. If you love Indie Rock, punk, or house music, this album will take all of the best things of it into one perfect package. Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. True, LCD's music is not for everyone, which may have something to do with why their fans love them as they do. If you fall into the latter category, however, Silver is gold.
  2. A big, fun, and passionate record that sounds enormous. [#16, p.92]
  3. 100
    The vocals are where Murphy has developed the most, trading in his Mark E. Smith yelp for various crooning styles. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.75]