Spiderland [Box Set] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The remastered 1991 sophomore studio release for the math rock band includes a 104-page book, 14 unreleased demos and outakes; and a DVD of the Lance Bangs film, Breadcrumb Trail.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 13, 2014
    It’s powerful stuff, still wholly worthy of “10 fucking stars”.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    Instead of disappearing amid the back stories and deep cuts, the hefty additional content and context only acts as so many glittering foils for the enduring, singular force of their crowning achievement, the album itself. [Apr 2014, p.70]
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    It’s a thoughtful look at a legendary act, and one that’s both long overdue and well deserved. Just as Spiderland rewards the patient listener, the box set rewards the patient fan.
  4. May 9, 2014
    The real beauty of all the context provided here for this batch of songs is not that it extols or magnifies, but that it humanizes.
  5. Apr 18, 2014
    These outtakes give a sort of new context for the album itself, which sounds brilliant in this remaster, but they don’t exactly give us a complete story. Even the huge booklet and documentary about the band here don’t exactly give us the clear picture of Spiderland.
  6. Apr 18, 2014
    Spiderland is a record that will sound just as exciting 20 years from now. Call it the gift that keeps on giving.
  7. 80
    There’s a wealth of delicious treats held within this set to more than sate your curious appetite.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 26, 2014
    Must listen music!!!!!! At first, when i see the review i was shocked but after i listened to the album on the internet i fell deeply into it. The music is so amazing. Expand
  2. May 8, 2014
    LOVE IT SOO MUCH......this is just perfect too listen in car...to relax :).This band is full of ironies and great jokes that's why I really like soo much...sadly there are not soo many people interested in it. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2014
    As different and unique as it might've been back in the day, this album is subtle and sublime at the same time. Sounds like very organized thrash and plays like an ambient masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    When I hear music like this 20 years late, I wonder if I might have been a different person if I'd heard it when it was new and had been listening to it all this time. The same thing happened to me with Jimi Hendrix and Radiohead and Neil Young etc. How much other amazing stuff is out there that I think is not for me or that I've never even heard of? I think this album, and their first one too, are true works of genius that I'll be listening to for the rest of my life! Very pleasing and so complex. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    The importance of this release, which doubles the group's released body of work, cannot be overstated. Spiderland was a true departure, a point of embarkation that led to so much other great music. The various demo and 4-track additions to the Spiderland story, not to mention Lance Bangs' documentary (included with the set), really tie the room together for a band whose influence has outlasted the first wave of imitators by a decade and today spans far and wide. That this work was produced by 19-year-old only speaks to the vital creative energies of youth. By the way, their reunion shows also prove that they are still the band that offered up an ironic, but heartfelt, cover of Cortez the Killer. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2014
    Definitely a challenging album, until you go back for the fourth time and realise how this truly is a genuine masterpiece. Each song has a different impact on you, and is definitely an album that changed my view on music in general. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    Upon first hearing this, I was blown away. I was skeptical at first because of the high reviews (as people tend to overrate albums from the past) but this album deserves every 10/10 that it is getting. It is at times calming, overwhelming, upsetting, terrifying, and skin-crawlingly uncomfortable, sometimes in the same moment.
    It CAN be a difficult listen for some who are not fans of post-rock music, with hook-less songs and many examples of spoken lyrics, but if you are a fan of Godspeed, You! Black Emperor or Sigur Ros (or any bands like these or close to this spectrum) this is perfect for you.
    Best Tracks - Everything, it should be taken in at its full length upon every listen (Washer, if I had to choose one)

See all 8 User Reviews