St. Anger

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 354 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    Drum sounds really AWFUL!! Repetitive, simple and boring riffs; no SOLOS and terrible vocal. Forget thrash, it's not even metal. That's all I can say about this failure. DO NOT LISTEN IT!!!
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Wow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the sameWow. This is incredibly awful. I can't believe it took them 7 years to release this. It's as if they were a bunch of 14 years olds sitting around in a garage with a guitar, getting incredibly drunk, when they decided to record this. Realising they had no drums they must have grabbed some garbage cans from the side of the road, brought them inside and started making music. Later on the same day they must have gotten some recording equipment brought around for them and 2 hours later, after making pretty much the same noise, released this. There was absolutely none of their classic masterful craftsmanship put into this album. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2012
    1
    1/10 simply because they actually made money of this piece of garbage. I have no idea why anyone would like this album but I guess some people really,really like Metallica.
  4. JackS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    3
    Just noise.
  5. AdrianL.
    Jan 5, 2008
    3
    Painful to listen to, this album just could have been so much more.
  6. ElpoA.O
    Jul 9, 2007
    3
    I love metallica, but this CD is really bad in comparison with EVERYTHING they've done before, even Load and Re-Load.
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    2
    I can't believe it. I can't even listen to this album without a break. Are we sure that it is by Metallica? Drums sounds like spoons hitting a pot. And it's difficult to find one good song. Horrible.
  8. RobA
    Sep 6, 2004
    1
    Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Those of you who think that this is metal... You're only kidding yourselves. The snare drum is so irritating on this album, I just want to smash it. James' voice is going downhill fast, and I can seriously see Metallica apologizing for this album in a couple of years, well, if they are still a band by then that is. The only person who I can see liking this album is Dave Mustaine, because all the Metallica fans will exchange it at the retail store for Megadeth's new CD. Expand
  9. BenJ
    Jun 6, 2006
    0
    St Shite!!!!!
  10. Sconf2
    Mar 3, 2007
    0
    Metallica is dead T.T
  11. Rickyc
    Jun 12, 2003
    1
    they need to go back to the old metallica sound like in the black album, they sound like they are tryin to be some hard core CRAP band like slip knot , most of the cd just sounds like a bunch of mumbling, with hard bangin on trash cans....the lyrics are the weakest i have ever heard from a metallica cd..''invisable kid, never see what he did'''...what the hell is they need to go back to the old metallica sound like in the black album, they sound like they are tryin to be some hard core CRAP band like slip knot , most of the cd just sounds like a bunch of mumbling, with hard bangin on trash cans....the lyrics are the weakest i have ever heard from a metallica cd..''invisable kid, never see what he did'''...what the hell is that crap i personally think they should have ended the band when jason quit...they suck fatt nuts now i have lost all respect and dont care for metallica anymore Expand
  12. seano
    Jun 17, 2003
    1
    good god this album sucks something fierce!
  13. CharlieP
    Jun 19, 2003
    2
    Regardless of what the diehards want you to believe - this Met Diehard speaks the truth - this album is NOT good - not by anyone's standards. I just cashed mine in today at CD Exchnage - so save some money and go there first if you really want this load of garbage.
  14. AxlRose
    Jun 19, 2003
    1
    This is absolutely the worst Metallica album ever. I don't get the good reviews.
  15. stevey
    Jul 5, 2003
    2
    Metallica has truly lost it. I have no idea what in the world they are trying to do, but they're certainly not rocking. Fifteen years ago, they were the greatest band on earth; now, they just make a lot of noise without any catchy or memorable rhythms at all. I never thought that a Metallica cd could ever be so...boring. Rest in peace, heavy metal. When someone finally resurrects Metallica has truly lost it. I have no idea what in the world they are trying to do, but they're certainly not rocking. Fifteen years ago, they were the greatest band on earth; now, they just make a lot of noise without any catchy or memorable rhythms at all. I never thought that a Metallica cd could ever be so...boring. Rest in peace, heavy metal. When someone finally resurrects you, it sure won't be these guys. Expand
  16. AndresM
    Aug 7, 2003
    0
    Horrible, a let down for metallica fans, and bob rock fans, a far cry from coherent, swimming in a sea of twisted noise and chaos. THEY DON"T EVEN USE "THEIR" E and F chords that they SUED TO PROTECT. TERRIBLE, NOT EVEN WORTH DOWNLADING
  17. miezo
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Use this CD when you're out of toilet paper. It's also a good frisbee. If the CD is for sale, don't buy it. If you can download the CD, don't do it. It will be the worst experience of your life.
  18. Steven-o
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    This ain't METALLICA. This is crap. Retire or get back making real music!!!!
  19. someguy
    Sep 8, 2004
    3
    this is a piece of fucking shit with only 2 good songs: Frantic and Purify, don't waste your money on this, just download it if you REALLY want it. Oh, by the way, Lars has a receeding hairline and is going bald
  20. KeithA
    May 4, 2005
    2
    One of my favourite bands (I've been a fan since 1985) - but this is soooo bad. Lars sounds like he's hitting a tin can with a twig. And the "songs" are dire. Very little to redeem this album. Even the live shows were poor - I ended up walking out in despair. Still, the kids liked it.
  21. Mike
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    Garbage
  22. philb
    Jul 31, 2006
    0
    St. Rubbish
  23. KevinH.
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    Possibly the worst album ever made, how a band who made albums like Ride the Lightning, Master of Puppets, and Kill Em' All made this garbage is beyond me.
  24. YoYo
    Jan 30, 2008
    2
    Hated it.
  25. JamesB
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    About as bad as music gets, all things considered.
  26. KevinM.
    Jun 14, 2003
    3
    I knew from watching the vid clip on metallica's website that I would not like this album,but since a lot of their music has to grow on you(and the fact that I'm a die hard fan) I bought it any way>This album is by far their worst offering,usually at least one song grabs you from the start,but not the case this time!I believe Justice was their finest piece of work,the music was I knew from watching the vid clip on metallica's website that I would not like this album,but since a lot of their music has to grow on you(and the fact that I'm a die hard fan) I bought it any way>This album is by far their worst offering,usually at least one song grabs you from the start,but not the case this time!I believe Justice was their finest piece of work,the music was in your face the lyrics had meaning and the sructure of every song was so tight that you would almost believe they were connected as ONE.no pun intended!I know the black album brought them to a godlike status in heavy metal but I think Bob Rock is the worst thing to happen to this band.Their collaborations have diminished with each new offering until you are left with St.Anger!Maybe it's not Rock's fault,maybe it's older and richer vs. younger and angrier.Who Knows?Maybe musicians should be like athlete's(quit while you still look good to the fans)what ever the case,I hope they won't leave this as their final mark on the greatest heavy metal legacy a band has ever had!I can't help but feel this album was a result of "we need to put a new album out,let's just slap something together".Does anyone else ever get the feeling that these guys are just sitting back laughing and saying "Hey!These people will buy anything we put out wether it's good or not!My message to the band would be "Come on guys!Put a little effort into it,we all knowyou are capable of so much more!who cares if rock-rap is the hot ticket today,give us something like what brought you to the show to start with.Loud,angry,perfectly timedmusic with lyrics that make you think!Justice was all of these things and more,who gives a !@#$ if it won a grammy or sold 50 million copies.At the end of the day you could sit back and be proud of the music you created!In a nutshell St. Anger is not back to roots Metallica,it's more like a raw jam session of half finished concept songs Expand
  27. billh
    Jun 17, 2003
    3
    Bizzarre drum sounds, hollow, annoying. no lead GUITARS or melody
  28. "Morbid"Angel
    Jul 23, 2003
    1
    Well... I don't know what the hell happened with Metallica after the Black Album. They lost the path. Bad change for me. Made me sick.
  29. stephenyo
    Jul 25, 2003
    3
    To address all those people who say that Metallica has changed and evolved...you are only half right. Metallica has certainly changed...but in the wrong way! They have devolved!! If you guys want to hear a real metal band, then check out Iced Earth. They have a much better chance of saving metal than these grumpy old men who are just shadows of their former selves.
  30. LarsAll-rich
    Aug 22, 2003
    2
    Pure Shit !!! Sounds like bad Pantera!! The drum and guitars are TERRIBLE!!! Where did Metallica put the fuckin' money they made!??? Certainly not in the CD production! I've been following Metallica FOR YEARS, and now, believe me, this is definitely OVER! These assholes pissed me off during the Napstergate, and are not f***ing able to make a godamn good song! DIE METALLICA DIE!!!
  31. TonyC
    Aug 3, 2003
    0
    Jesus H. Christ, this album should have ben called "St. Roe v. Wade" because it is an abortion! What a trivial piece of friggin garbage by bunch of washed up, self-indulgent, trite old men who are ripping off awful nu-metal bands. "But we inspired them so it's like they ripped us of first!" Shut up. Awful production and speedy riffs does not make the musc raw, it makes the music Jesus H. Christ, this album should have ben called "St. Roe v. Wade" because it is an abortion! What a trivial piece of friggin garbage by bunch of washed up, self-indulgent, trite old men who are ripping off awful nu-metal bands. "But we inspired them so it's like they ripped us of first!" Shut up. Awful production and speedy riffs does not make the musc raw, it makes the music desperate and histrionic. I don't mind that there are no solos but the reason aggrivates me. Kirk doesn't have to "prove himself anymore". That arrogant douche. There are dozens of musicians better than him who push themselves hard on every album and you just gave up! Do Dimebag from Pantera or Kerry King from Slayer give up on pushing themselves for every album? Everyone knows they're great and they still solo. Everone in the vicinity of the Milky Way Galaxy understands Tool have nothing to prove but they don't release an inaudible blank album after 5 years. They could easily release a blank CD, slap their name on it and sell it for $16 and it would be more intricate, soulful and powerful than St. Ass. St. Anger makes Enya look like Black Sabbath circa 1973. Lar$' must be taking lessons from homeless people because he's pounding on a friggin dumpster throughout the album. For all the sheep who bought this album (I prefer not to waste red cents on crap and enjoy divulging time on illegal dowload websites, thanks to Lar$) you got what you wanted and Metallica got what they wanted. You get to call yourself a "hardcore Metallica fan, man!" and they get their 16 bucks. St. AIDS is more like it. Expand
  32. kwt
    Aug 4, 2003
    3
    Better than most of the 90s albums. Nothing like the real Metallica albums of the 80s -- no haunting riffs and melodies. Maybe Bob Rock should listen to "Master of Puppets" at least once before screwing up another album. What the hell is Lars doing playing a steel drum??
  33. BigD
    Sep 9, 2003
    0
    Unfortunately, I tried to return this pitiful excuse for a metal album to the store I bought it at, and the kid claimed it was scratched...I didn't think they could give more "load" than "reload", but apparently they had an even better wad of spooge on deck than I could have imagined. Sorry, hard to sue me for downloading your "music". Lars, I'm not much into S&M.
  34. SamiString
    Aug 10, 2004
    1
    Sounds terrible, and feels uninspired.
  35. AsasJ
    Dec 31, 2005
    0
    Shit album
  36. JessicaK
    Mar 28, 2005
    1
    I was rooting for them. But this album sounds like a band trying to sound like Metallica. The singing is too emotional and the music is muddy and splattered. It was therapy for our boys and I am willing to forget this ever happened so long as they get it together and do better next time.
  37. JamesD
    May 5, 2005
    0
    the flight of icarus describes this album so well!
  38. JoshA
    Sep 14, 2006
    3
    This album may have had a few plusses but overall it well...sucked. They were obviously trying to recreate the past with this album yet they failed. First of all, if they wanted to recreate the past, then Kirk needs to stop playing rhythm guitar and become that lead man that made him 11th best all time in Rolling Stones top 100 guitarists. Second, Lar's drumset is a problem. It This album may have had a few plusses but overall it well...sucked. They were obviously trying to recreate the past with this album yet they failed. First of all, if they wanted to recreate the past, then Kirk needs to stop playing rhythm guitar and become that lead man that made him 11th best all time in Rolling Stones top 100 guitarists. Second, Lar's drumset is a problem. It literally sounded like he was building a shed. Either that or his neighbor woke up one morning to discover his trash can lids missing. I mean really! The last glitch to an ok album is James' voice. If he wasnt angry it sounded god awful. Sorry but it did. This album had a few good songs such as Sweet Amber and The Unnamed Feeling but I mean they could've done a better job and on future albums I hope they do. Expand
  39. redf
    Feb 16, 2007
    0
    complete and utter crap from a band that used to be ok
  40. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    0
    Tripe, absolute...tripe. Its a shame Metallica have fallen from their former grace
  41. JohnS.
    May 20, 2007
    0
    Absolutely terrible. Metallica is dead.
  42. JoaoM.
    Jun 14, 2007
    3
    Well, it's pretty poor.
  43. Tic-tic-toc
    Jun 27, 2007
    0
    fukin crap. if u like this album u r a wanker
  44. Stormwatch
    Apr 3, 2008
    0
    I think Metallica got confused with the meanings of the word "drum", because the drums in St. Anger sound like metal barrels. The sound is insanely compressed, there are no dynamics, no music -- just a wall of noise. This is not only Metallica's worst album, but also one of the worst metal album ever.
  45. DaleK.
    Jun 17, 2008
    1
    A one because that's how much percent of integrity Lack-of-Metal-lica, has left. HAHAHA It's funny how SPIN magazine gave this garbled garbage 91/100, yet Mudvayne a 0. Sad that people would ever buy according to their reviews. probably the same critics who gave the so called movie "The Village" good ratings. Stupid religious garbage.
  46. BryanH
    Apr 8, 2009
    1
    This is by far the worst peice of crap metalliica ever produced. It's so bad I can't even believe it's a studio allbum. The recording quality? There isn't any. Distorted, choppy, and painful to listen to. Lars is so off beat on the drums, and for the love of god, loosen up the snair! It sounds like a tin can! James stop trying to sing so much dude, you don't have This is by far the worst peice of crap metalliica ever produced. It's so bad I can't even believe it's a studio allbum. The recording quality? There isn't any. Distorted, choppy, and painful to listen to. Lars is so off beat on the drums, and for the love of god, loosen up the snair! It sounds like a tin can! James stop trying to sing so much dude, you don't have good range. Not to mention you're way off key buddy. Lost your voice after the black album and sadly have never sounded like the hetfield of the old "badass". Hammett!!!! WTF are you doing here?!!! No leads, just riff after riff, with no "awe" in the middle. Tick, Tick, shut the hell up. What I don't understand is how people can hear this and go, this kicks ass! I don't think it is a matter of this pleasing their ears, it can't be. It's just simply that it is Metallica. So I guess it's "cool" to like whatever they produce. As an old school metallica fan I have to say it's embarassing to listen to. Because this used to be my favorite band in the world. Metallica was so lost on this album when newstead left that bob rock actually played bass in the studio. It's a joke, it's actually quite sad considering what metallica used to be. To those that favor this I say you are all musically impaired. Your like the people that like the C rate movies on the Sci Fi channel. St. Anger=St. We are so angry that we forgot how to make music. Expand
  47. RobertO
    Jun 16, 2003
    0
    This album is utter crap. Avoid at all costs.
  48. CharlieP
    Jun 19, 2003
    2
    Regardless of what the diehards want you to believe - this Met Diehard speaks the truth - this album is NOT good - not by anyone's standards. I just cashed mine in today at CD Exchnage - so save some money and go there first if you really want this load of garbage.
  49. davec
    Jun 23, 2003
    2
    WEAK. Metal is already simple enough, basic cord structure, easy to solo on...and now metallica just turns out garbage like this that is akin to nu-metal...and what's added? Wow, it's faster and there's more aggressive drumming...great...there's tons of better bands out there, this is hardly a 6+ album.
  50. NiceIceDude
    Aug 15, 2003
    2
    I know that it's important for bands to evolve because we don't need to hear the same thing over and over again. The problem with Metallica is that they're not evolving...they're DEvolving! No, Lars, playing an out-of-tune drum does not make any sort of artistic statement; it just shows that you must be losing your hearing. There's nothing wrong with growing old I know that it's important for bands to evolve because we don't need to hear the same thing over and over again. The problem with Metallica is that they're not evolving...they're DEvolving! No, Lars, playing an out-of-tune drum does not make any sort of artistic statement; it just shows that you must be losing your hearing. There's nothing wrong with growing old as long as you know your place. This album shows that the only rocking that the guys in Metallica need to be doing is rocking in some rocking chairs. Expand
  51. Dave
    Dec 22, 2005
    0
    Complete and utter tripe. Used to love Metallica, but this album should never have been made.
  52. oneilg
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    Rolling Stone Magazine gave this 4 out of 5 stars. Are their heads wedged up their asses or what?! The mix sounds grotesque, like hacking a loogee in slow, slow motion. Absolutely unmusical. Unlistenable. The lyrics are hideous: "I'm madly in anger with you" "My lifestyle determines my death style." And watching the documentary "some kind of monster" made this abomination seem even Rolling Stone Magazine gave this 4 out of 5 stars. Are their heads wedged up their asses or what?! The mix sounds grotesque, like hacking a loogee in slow, slow motion. Absolutely unmusical. Unlistenable. The lyrics are hideous: "I'm madly in anger with you" "My lifestyle determines my death style." And watching the documentary "some kind of monster" made this abomination seem even more deplorable. These self absorbed multi millionares have little to complain about, but that's all you hear on this cd and throughout that tiresome documentary. I can't remember hearing a worse cd than this. Expand
  53. fudgey
    Aug 25, 2005
    0
    this album sux. the drums sound like tin cans. i'm very disappointed in this effort
  54. Eli
    Jul 15, 2006
    2
    I was shocked when I came to this page to see this album has a positive rating. This album has the effect/feeling of being raped in the ears repeatedly if there is such a feeling possible. Don't worry about people illegally downloading tunes from this one metallica. There might be some decent parts in a few songs but about 95$ of the album is quite honestly laugh out loud awful. I was shocked when I came to this page to see this album has a positive rating. This album has the effect/feeling of being raped in the ears repeatedly if there is such a feeling possible. Don't worry about people illegally downloading tunes from this one metallica. There might be some decent parts in a few songs but about 95$ of the album is quite honestly laugh out loud awful. Dreadful lyrics and painful vocals combined with mostly terrible instrumental sound makes for the worst Metallica album ever! To put it simply Metallica tried to create a straight up head banging album and failed miserably. Metallica had another album coming soon and I hope and pray they have learned from the shitstain of an album called Saint Anger. Expand
  55. WillL
    Jul 23, 2006
    1
    Please Metallica. Spare us all, and leave while you still... kind of rock. Your juvenile attempt at creating another Kill Em All turned out to be worse than Kill Em All. Metallica, unless you want to go back to the 80's, and pull out your best efforts, DON'T RELEASE ANOTHER ALBUM.
  56. BrettS.
    Jun 25, 2007
    3
    Metallica still remain my favorite band, but this album sucks. The drums sound like trash cans which is just fuckin annoying. Why did they even release this album? Didnt they realize all the flaws in this album before they released it? the only reason why they made this album was for the money. hope the next album doesnt suck like this one. Do yourself a favor, stick to the first 5 albums.
  57. ErichV.
    Dec 21, 2008
    0
    Album is terrible and reminiscent of the Titanic sinking.
  58. Nov 24, 2016
    2
    St. Anger has awful drums, no solos, and each song feels like the next on this horrendous album. This is very far from Metallica's best work, definitely what I'd consider to be their worst.
  59. Jun 15, 2016
    2
    There are a lot of reasons this doesn't work, and most of them can be grouped under the umbrella of "This sound here and that sound there don't sound like they even belong in the same song." But mostly, it's Lars' terrible, terrible Frankendrum. This is the Will Ferrell SNL cowbell sketch extended to album length.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Mojo
    80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. Uncut
    80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.