• Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2003
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 365 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    8
    This is Metallica's return to the earth. They've come back with their instruments in their hands and not a single f*ck given. With the production sounding like a garage jam on a Friday afternoon and drums that are certainly "unique." St.Anger is an album that happens when you take all the struggles that Metallica went through and extracted all the rage and Anger from their souls and putThis is Metallica's return to the earth. They've come back with their instruments in their hands and not a single f*ck given. With the production sounding like a garage jam on a Friday afternoon and drums that are certainly "unique." St.Anger is an album that happens when you take all the struggles that Metallica went through and extracted all the rage and Anger from their souls and put it on this album! There's no auto-tune, there's no guitar solos, and most importantly, there's no bull-sh*t coming from them. This album sounded aggressive and rushed straight for your fists with rage, and even though this album suffered from fan backlash, did Metallica give a sh*t? NO. In fact they acted like the reviews didn't even exist...and they STILL don't. All they remember is how tough it was going through the recording process of the songs...That proves that Metallica does what they do for not just the fans but for what THEY think is best. This album is the perfect example of that and i praise and respect them for that...unlike YOU people Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2016
    7
    Uninspired riffs? Repetitive drums? No solos? What happened, Metallica? Perhaps you were in the right place, but in the wrong moment. Even though, some songs like "Frantic", "Some Kind of Monster", "The Unnamed feeling" and the eponymous song make from "St. Anger" an enjoyable work for the ears. Also, it contains the best James Hetfield lead vocals work.
  3. johnr
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    this album kicks mager ass the lyrics the music everything about matallica fucking rocks
  4. TiagoS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    It´s the best album of Metallica for me. So much anger in the musics and many great songs in this album. Off course there are not much "solos" but there are much energy, power and ANGERRRRR.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I know that some fans really dislike it, but you can feel their problems and anger from that album. They went through difficult times during recording this album and it feels like that. I simply love it, love that change, love that heaviness and love Lars snare, i usually dont like punk drums, but here its just awesome!
  6. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Yes, it worst Metallica album. But it still rock, maybe snare drum is bad, but i like this album, and like to take drive with this music. So **** good!
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    If could put 11, i would have put it, because this album is THE BEST THING IN THE WHOLE WORLD! If we will be able to heal aids, it wouldn't be as good as this album. it's not only the best Metallica's album, it's also THE BEST **** ALBUM IN THE HISTORY OF MUSIC!
  8. SeanM
    Aug 11, 2003
    10
    What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so What a fucking album! Not only is it quite up to par with most of thier other albums, but its so addicting to listen to@ With all the speed metal from the 80's, conbined with the bone chilling riffs of the black album to the serene sound of "sweet amber". Metallica definatly unleashed one hell of a beast on this one. I just got back from thier concert yesterday, and they played it so loud and hard that i could barely keep up with the lyrics of "frantic". Awesome job Metallica! Expand
  9. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    St. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it'sSt. Anger is different. A concept album at its core, and barking ferocity at face value, each song is essentially a different perspective on anger and all of the emotions related to it. If any other band had written it, it would be an instant classic. However, this is Metallica, and they've been crucified for trying something different. I commend them for it. This isn't Metallica, it's something new and unique. And god damn is it catchy. Expand
  10. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Okay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yetOkay, i think that, as many have said, this album is a blast from the past, with a little difference: the lack of soloing. People might say that how fast you play isn't important, but if you want a real good Metallica album, then it has to have soloing. I pretty much didn't like most songs individually (there are some exceptions; like St. Anger, which resembles Motorbreath in it's raw yet entertaining style), but i think that the album as a whole holds up pretty well. For that, i give it a 7. Expand
  11. bryanb
    Sep 6, 2003
    7
    this album is nothing compared to the early days but kicks loaded albums in the ass. there is know other metallica on the radio today. there sound is unique and there own. noone will ever touch there old shit and never will. they are part of history. kill em all kills anything released today and dont forget the other three.
  12. DanP.
    Feb 11, 2008
    8
    Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good Despite the abuse this album has recieved in the past I thought that it was great to see Metallica try something different. Ineviatably it was going to horrify their thousands of devoted fans by dropping their guitars down a few steps, the phrase "sold out" probably came to a few lips too, but I thought that this album was solid with quite a few oddly catchy songs thrown in there for good measure. Listen to it if you can open your mind to the fact that all of Metallica's discography cannot be similiar or as good as Master of Puppets. Expand
  13. BasilH
    Jun 14, 2003
    9
    First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the First, the utter lack of any guitar solos is as disappointing to me as anyone else, but the rest of this album is the finest thing to blugeon metal fans since...well, since the last good metallica disc. Hetfields lyrics are more mature and profound, which is only upsetting to those who refuse to accept growing up. Lars is a man possessed and I have almost been moved to forget about the loss of Jason. It takes a couple of listens to get a feel for the album and to really appreciate it but once you start to get into it, you realize the relevancy that Metallica personifies. This is unquestionablely better than any of the insipid and uninspired "metal" currently droning over the airwaves. Metallica continues to grow musically without ever losing touch with TRUE fans of the genre. Listen, listen again, listen again and the you won't want to stop. This is adult metal for those who appreciate music beyond "rap-rock". Expand
  14. TAsh
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    It has to grow on you, but if you liked the old Metallica, not sure how you can't like this CD. Much heavier than anything since Justice but not too heavy to run off 'new' fans.
  15. ThomasB
    Jan 10, 2004
    7
    Well this is the worst Metallica's album so far. After ...And justice for all Metallica's started going worse and worse. I don't want to see what will their next album be like. Still in comparacent to other band albums, this one is not so terrible. So I rate this album with 6/7
  16. matt
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past I'll admit... at first i did not like this cd, but i stuck with it. Its just a new sound unlike any other; u gotta respect that at least. And for that reason mosty i listened to it over and over. Now i love it. The guitars are huge and have this underground feeling to them, and the lyrics... dont seem like hetfields writing but then again he has grown with his suffering these past few years. All in all the more u listen to it and the higher its turned up the better it gets. Expand
  17. motorbreath666
    May 2, 2004
    10
    A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for A band cannot sound exactly the same EVERY time! People, please if that was the case then it would get old and redudant fast. This album is aggression, made to unleash rage. For me there are two types of talica fans. The ones Pre-Load and the ones Post-Load. Pre-Load: Fans who like the melody and semi-aggressive songs. Post-Load: Fans who like aggressive/power songs (not really caring for songs like NEM or Unforgiven). St Anger lies in a realm by itself. Personally I think the album is an 8 but it gets 2 extra points because of its nature. That is the nature of the beast. The very fact that there are NO radio friendly songs on this album tells me as a fan that a good band cannot be defined. Expand
  18. PhilH
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    This album has got some kick ass songs on it, but it isnt as good as Metallica's previous albums
  19. RichardL
    Sep 4, 2005
    7
    Not a classic. But these giants nearly split in the process of making St. Anger. It is probably their most meaningful effort yet.
  20. suvoc
    May 2, 2007
    10
    fukin amazin. if u dont like this album u r a wanker
  21. NickC.
    Jun 2, 2007
    8
    Underrated. I didn't dig it on first listens, but after pulling it out a few years later, its good. Not as good as Master of Puppets, but I'd put it on par with Black.
  22. TomH
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Raw and powerful, the way metal should be.
  23. markp
    Jun 10, 2003
    8
    its heavy sounds good BUT WHERE ARE THE SOLOS
  24. anjananjan
    Jun 20, 2003
    10
    great buy it
  25. ChrisM
    Jul 27, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks ass! I will kick every1s ass if the say ne thing bad to metallica!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah so this cd is awsome buy it NOW!!!!
  26. MazenS
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    I love Metallica, they are AWESOME, this album shows how powerful they are, i only wish they could scream, or shout some more. Whoever got disapointed by Metallica for releasing this album is pretty screwed up.
  27. Pupu-The-Alien??
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    if u dont like this cd u r gay this was the best cd and only cd ive ever actually listened to the rest were too boring
  28. AlexAlex
    Sep 20, 2003
    10
    good i like St. Anger
  29. joej
    Sep 6, 2003
    8
    not too bad, just get rid of that anoying snare and bring back the solos
  30. timn
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are I absolutely love this album!! This is the type of stuff i like to hear from METALLICA!!! Riff after riff of rocking heavy metal. what amazes me most about this album is the way they manage to keep the rhythm changes interesting minus any solos. while i'll be the first to admit that lyrically (compared to their first five albums) it's a little weak, but the fact that they are back to there hard rocking, more musically inventive selves is more than enough to make up for that end of it!!! I just hope the next one is as good or better (and arrives a lot sooner!!!) Expand
  31. DaveC
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh It's unbelievable to hear an album this fresh, raw and exciting released by what seemed to be a washed out heavy metal band. To be quite honest, have grown quite bored of the metallic sameyness of Metallica's early albums and so it's refreshing to hear an album with a raw sound that doesn't overemphasise any instrument. What is left is an immediate, visceral and (oh yes) angry sound. James Hetfield's lyrics which may have seemed a tad dumb on paper work brilliant within the context of the songs. This is Metallica's finest album largely thanks to the fact that Metallica's hardcore punk influences are more prominent this time round, giving it a raw energy, and it still sounds fundamentally like a heavy metal album. Enjoy! Expand
  32. TimothyD
    Apr 9, 2004
    7
    Well, I love Metallica, and this album is definitely better than what most of the other metal bands make. However, the absence of solos is a tragedy. Robert Trujillo on bass is definitely exhillarating
  33. DarrenL
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Maybe Metallica 5th best album, but that still makes it a great cd.
  34. TomC
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been I dont see how ANY metallica fan could diss this album. Complaining about no guitar solos is kinda lame... if you like them solely for those then you are not a true fan, go get a guitar and entertain yourself. I agree the album does have a more "rough" sound to it... as ive read some places "like a demo" but to me thats good. i like the album because it sounds good... it hasnt been doctored to sound good because it doesnt need it. if you like edited vocals go check out ashlee simpson or something. unfortunately time ages people... how can ANYONE expect James to maintain the same voice all these years?? of course it will change slightly etc etc, things change get over it!. this album shows that metallica are capable of changing their style of music and not having to use computers to make it sound good. they are good musicians and any true fan will know that they have been through a lot and to sound as they did in their younger days is impossible. with that said ima go now, anyone who wants to can email me at tom201184@yahoo.com.au take care all :) ROCK ON!! m/ Expand
  35. MesaBoogie
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs So what if the damn snare is pingy and there are no guitar solos? That snare sound enables it to cut through the massive wall of guitar/bass grunge. Who needs guitar solos? If you want guitar solos, listen to Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, John Petrucci or Eric Johnson. They do it much better. Besides, guitar solos are sooo fucking 80's. If NIN can be critics' darlings with songs without guitar solos, why can't Metallica? Besides, Hammet's guitar solos are typically musically meandering and sound like a poor excuse to stick in a flurry of random notes into the song structure. Why are people pissy about the production values on this record? The music in St. Anger is heavy, pissed-off, and raw, with tons of awesome drop-tuned riffage. As a musician, I give props to the Metallica guys to have the balls to release such a "live" sounding recording without the clinical sterility of their earlier masterpieces like Puppets and Justice, where every instrument sounds isolated and strangled. If there can be any faults in this album, it's probably the repetitiveness of some of the songs, no doubt caused by the band and Bob Rock staring at the ProTools edit screen too long and copy/pasting song arrangements. All in all, St. Anger sounds alive, refreshing, vital, and contemporary (without being a complete slave to current musical trends)- a welcome evolution in Metallica's music and a fine addition to their oeuvre. Expand
  36. NickB
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    This is a real album, its not watered down or run through a machine. If you want a Backstreet Boys album go by one. If you want something with some balls, buy St. Anger.
  37. PauloF
    May 24, 2005
    10
    It's a great album i gave it 10/10. Metallica just want it to do something different
  38. JohnC
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will I have been a metallica fan since day one. I can't say I have ever been disapponted. Metallica can never be accused of repetition or recycling old material. Two things are certain, new material from Metallica is going to be just that, NEW, and it will be HEAVY. While I will always love the older material, the new material has never disappointed. It will always amaze me how fans will be so quick to dismiss material that is different. Who wants to hear recycled riffs with different lyrics? While I was absolutely blown away by Load & Reload, others criticized the change. WTF. St. Anger is the most potent, heavy and unique material to be turned out by the 'Tallica boys, and again, heavily criticized. WTF. What are people listening to? The riffs are absolutely sick ! While Kirk Hammet is, as usual, stellar at lead, James Hetfield is a master at rythym, with some very cool leads as well. James, you the man !! Killer drums by Lars and most impressive bass by Robert, all come together to form a collection of material that will rattle the teeth from your jaws. If you haven't yet, go buy St. Anger right now. If hearing the songs isn't enough, well just pop in the DVD and watch them play the songs. Many thanks to Metallica for turning out, yet another, heavy and very angry piece of work. Metallica Rules !!! Expand
  39. JosephA
    May 12, 2006
    7
    I like this album, bt i love load and reload. Its seams like they are going in a new direction and i sorta like it but im hoping for more songs like "Die, Die, Die my darling" ; "Aint my Bitch". :)
  40. KyleC
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    This album absolutley fucking rocks! Fingers up to the idiots who have underrated this fantastic album produced from the anger within Metallica. 10/10. After watching Some Kind Of Monster DVD, I came to respect the album even more after seeing what they have been through to produce this album. Metal-Fucking-Allica For Life!
  41. Joe
    Apr 4, 2008
    7
    Probably the best album Korn could have come up with. But since is played by Metallica, it's not what you'd expect.
  42. TristanS
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    This is not Metallica's greatest outing, but who can deny that a little bit of savagery isn't welcome after years of Country-induced twang Metal and pop-drenched choruses? I for one think this album is a bit of an acquired taste. And it is one of those things that you just may love, or just might hate with a passion. Frantic, St. Anger and All within My Hands are the best songs This is not Metallica's greatest outing, but who can deny that a little bit of savagery isn't welcome after years of Country-induced twang Metal and pop-drenched choruses? I for one think this album is a bit of an acquired taste. And it is one of those things that you just may love, or just might hate with a passion. Frantic, St. Anger and All within My Hands are the best songs on this metal groove of an album.... I recommend it, but beware: You may just hate it. Expand
  43. DamienP
    Nov 4, 2003
    9
    Metallica c tro cool headed
  44. Jennifer
    Oct 16, 2003
    10
    Metallica rocks and this is their best CD yet It can't get any better!
  45. JackB
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    this Album Kicks @ss
  46. SteveV
    Jun 13, 2003
    7
    Well let me state that my son who is 9 loves this CD. We actually watched the DVD 1st and that said the production on the rehearsals isn't a far cry from the production on the CD. The songs are great and with some production tweaks could have been awesome. The tinny kettle drum sound (is that the snare?) makes me cringe at times and makes some of the great parts of the CD not so Well let me state that my son who is 9 loves this CD. We actually watched the DVD 1st and that said the production on the rehearsals isn't a far cry from the production on the CD. The songs are great and with some production tweaks could have been awesome. The tinny kettle drum sound (is that the snare?) makes me cringe at times and makes some of the great parts of the CD not so great. I would love to hear Dirty Window without that (can I have the masters so I can remix this CD and make it sound like it should, surely even I could do a better job than Bob Rock does). A few solos wouldn't have hurt either, having watched the DVD first I thought maybe in rehearsal they wern't there but it held true on the CD also. If James had just growled on the whole CD instead of attempting to sing it would have made it even meaner, the one passage on Invisble Kid is awful, good Lord what were they thinking? Stand out tracks: Dirty Window with its killer groove, ditto to My World, Sweet Amber is evil, and the best track by far is The Unamed Feeling which combines the heavy with structure some the other tracks lack, Purify is the most intense track. Eliminate Invisible Kid, shorten Some Kinda Monster, add some solos, get rid of the awful "kettle drum", GRRROOOOOOOOOOOWLL don't sing, and this ranks with their best stuff. Collapse
  47. RobertW
    Jun 13, 2003
    8
    Its more hardcore than the previous CD's Load and Reload. But it doesn't compare to there earlier CD's Master of Puppets, Ride the Lightning, Black Out, Kill Em All, and And Justice For All. Its a different sound then what old school Metallica fans are used too. Therefore I gave this CD an 8 because it only has two recognizable flaws.
  48. StuartH
    Jun 14, 2003
    7
    Not exactly my favourite album to date... but I've only had it for a couple of days... there's still alot of time for it to grow on me.
  49. DT
    Jun 23, 2003
    8
    Some necessary steps before listening to this album: 1. Forget everything about the Napster controversy, Load and Reload, and whatever notions of 'Metallica having sold out' you might have. If you can't forget them, then at least try ignoring them. 2. Buy the CD - all the tracks that were leaked on the net are fakes (I've downloaded and listened to them myself, so I Some necessary steps before listening to this album: 1. Forget everything about the Napster controversy, Load and Reload, and whatever notions of 'Metallica having sold out' you might have. If you can't forget them, then at least try ignoring them. 2. Buy the CD - all the tracks that were leaked on the net are fakes (I've downloaded and listened to them myself, so I know what it feels like to listen to some rubbish and then find out it wasn't what you thought). 3. WATCH THE DVD. And you'll see that the boys never lost it - forget about the sound of Lars's drum, or Kirk not having any solos, or James barely doing any 'proper' singing at all. If you watch them play all the songs in the studio, and are the least bit fair, you will have to admit that these guys can still rock. Big time. Oh, and when you're done with it all, make some good VBR rips and put them up on the net, just to see how many people Lars is going to sue this time ;-) Expand
  50. arkansascracker
    Jun 24, 2003
    7
    This is a good solid CD. Poorly produced with some flaws, but a nice return to something more akin to thrash than their last few CDs. I like it alright.
  51. EricG
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    This CD is one of the best heavy metal CD's out there. It's got great songs like Amber and St. Anger. Its a keeper for people that have it and if you dont have it you should go out and buy it
  52. KevinM
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    If you dumb fuckers thought this would be like anything else than you are stupid. A band around for over twenty years is going to mature and change. soshut the hell up and go listen to rap you pussies. Dread Effect for ever
  53. EricH
    Jul 31, 2003
    8
    it may not be there best album but it is great
  54. RudyS
    Aug 23, 2003
    7
    The guitars sounds are well-overdriven,the bass is great (Well done Bob!).But I hate the snare drums' sound.It feels like my ass irritated! Where's the guitar solo? Can't you play it again Kirk?
  55. Josh
    Jan 21, 2004
    9
    As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. As I write this review I'm listening to St. Anger through my Windows Media Player, thinking how if everyone would stop hating Metallica just because of that stupid Napster crap (it is stealing by the way...) the world would be a better place. This is a great cd and even though I'll be the first to admit that their older cd's (i.e. Master of Puppets) are much better, St. Anger is better than 95% of the metal cd's in the market. Don't hate them because they want money 'cause we all do! Expand
  56. Nate
    Jun 4, 2004
    9
    This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you This album is no Puppets or Justice, but it is METALLICA. St. Anger- The title gives you the mood of the of the record. It's fast, aggressive, balls out, no excuses necessary, put the kids to bed early, brake out the devil horns, cover grandma's ears, Metallica. Void of the complex arrangements of the 80's, and the over produced sounds of the 90's, it's what you expect to hear from a band that was on the brink of doom before finshing this album. Best of all, Axl still cant get Chinese Democracy out. Expand
  57. Glock_
    Oct 27, 2005
    9
    An album close to what Metallica wanted it to be: raw, savage, in-your-face, ugly, and intimate. An artistic masterpiece, by a band who has definitely grown up over the years to release its most disturbing effort ever.
  58. jackv
    Mar 16, 2005
    7
    i love metallica to death.. but mesa "so 80s" is where metallica came out of.. so dont dis the 80s. metallicas solos arent like steve vai, satriana etc they are deep and heartfelt, and they brought rhythem and balance to songs. thru all of this, watching some kind of monster truly helped to boost my opinion of the album, seeing where they are coming from. at least live they add in solos i love metallica to death.. but mesa "so 80s" is where metallica came out of.. so dont dis the 80s. metallicas solos arent like steve vai, satriana etc they are deep and heartfelt, and they brought rhythem and balance to songs. thru all of this, watching some kind of monster truly helped to boost my opinion of the album, seeing where they are coming from. at least live they add in solos and licks.. ROCK ON TALLICAAAA! Expand
  59. carlyp
    May 10, 2005
    10
    love metallica! they absoutly rock! no one can beat them..Seen them live as well! oh yeah baby...rock on
  60. LouD
    Sep 21, 2005
    8
    Although a much different sound from their previous work, its vicious and powerful, and gets their point across very cleary. They aren't going anywhere.
  61. Brian
    Dec 20, 2006
    7
    Dude, Metallica Rocks, Master Of Puppets isn't on anybodys top 5 list of greatest rock albums of all time, and if it is, its a wank list. As for Black Album, it's meh.
  62. CrossieA
    Dec 29, 2006
    7
    1. Master Of Puppets 2. Ride The Lightning 3. Kill Em All 4. ...And Justice For All 5. St. Anger These 5 albums in this order so much better than anything else they have ever done. 'Black' ok but not for Metallica 'Load' and 'Reload' utter garbage St Anger best album since Justice
  63. Spawn
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    Super Album have everithing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  64. RicardoS
    Sep 9, 2006
    9
    It´s a really good album and a strong and "full of anger" comeback to Metallica!
  65. MattF
    Feb 11, 2007
    8
    First of all, if you post a comment about the whole downloading fiasco, your an idiot. i can sense some of you morons posting 0's simply b/c you didnt like what they did. This is about the music, so lets get to it. i like all of Metallica's music, except Reload, which sucked it hard. But this album i thought was hard and angry. i disliked only 3 songs, Sweet Amber, My World, and First of all, if you post a comment about the whole downloading fiasco, your an idiot. i can sense some of you morons posting 0's simply b/c you didnt like what they did. This is about the music, so lets get to it. i like all of Metallica's music, except Reload, which sucked it hard. But this album i thought was hard and angry. i disliked only 3 songs, Sweet Amber, My World, and Purify. Everything else i enjoyed. But this album isnt for everybody. And yes Ulrich's snare drum sounds retarded but i didnt mind it too much. Frantic St.Anger, Shoot Me Again, Invisible Kid, and The Unnamed Feeling, are my favs. Expand
  66. Clay
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    I'll probably get some flack here, but this is my favorite Metallica album.
  67. Oliver
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    A dense, raw, no compromise record that traduce a powerfull statement from the band! They have this genius to always push further and to destabilize their fans like only Legends can do...They will certainly loose fans with this album, but they will also have new ones: like it always been since debut album Kill'em all.
  68. Janee
    May 11, 2008
    10
    If you feel what the band felt at the time they made the album, you'll realize: this is not about the great solos of the past, or something like this. this album is about releasing the anger from the pain and kickin' out of the crisis the band got through cause of James etc. each song has a meaning. u just don't realize it! haters suck, METALLICA FAN FOR LIFE!!!
  69. ColinG.
    Jul 17, 2008
    8
    A strong set of songs.
  70. PauloG.
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    Is a good disc, but a just don´t understand why it hasn't one little solo!
  71. PetriU
    Nov 30, 2003
    9
    This record is that kind of CD that you just have to listen to it, and you are going to start to like it. I know i did :)
  72. LeandroB
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Pure , fast and clean , what the f.. else do you want ?
  73. MatP
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    Kevin L says it well. It's not Ride the Lightning and I miss the solos but the album gets my heart going and I'll never miss a chance to see them live because the energy they give out is like no other band out there.
  74. riska
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    WOW! a drinalin rush from this band almost makes me want them to be as my leader in my life. the words, the music, his voice make this all come to gether in a beautiful peice of music. a lot of anger and emotion seemed to have gone into this so its over all a good cd cause of their dedication to the music. the feeling when i drive with the cd make me wanna just reve up and go through town WOW! a drinalin rush from this band almost makes me want them to be as my leader in my life. the words, the music, his voice make this all come to gether in a beautiful peice of music. a lot of anger and emotion seemed to have gone into this so its over all a good cd cause of their dedication to the music. the feeling when i drive with the cd make me wanna just reve up and go through town crazy like and paint the city red. Expand
  75. cmilne
    Jun 18, 2003
    9
    In the name of all that is sweet and merciful, IT"S ABOUT TIME!! To say that the heavy metal formula ( riff, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, verse, chorusx2) has been abandoned is to understate the obvious. It feels like they've decided that less is more. Play from the gut and commercial implications be damned. The Metallica fans who are familiar with Kill Em' All, both In the name of all that is sweet and merciful, IT"S ABOUT TIME!! To say that the heavy metal formula ( riff, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, verse, chorusx2) has been abandoned is to understate the obvious. It feels like they've decided that less is more. Play from the gut and commercial implications be damned. The Metallica fans who are familiar with Kill Em' All, both Garage Days and Ride the Lightning will appreciate the rawness that has been captured. This is Metallica sans apology and it is long overdue. The subject matter is at times extremely introspective, and the ferocity with which they play behind it really brings the angst to the forefront. If you like raw, loud, and agressive, this is your album. If you are a long time Metallica fan that remembers them before they made videos this is Nirvana. I gave it 9 out of 10 because I feel a 10 is only worthy if I feel the same 10 years down the road. Expand
  76. ryannp
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    metallica roccs! they r so cool and no 1 can say shit about them, cuz i will kicc ur ass, i know i am a grl, but damn, they rocc, they know how to play some real music!!
  77. RobN
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    Simply Amazing.
  78. tim
    Apr 28, 2004
    7
    this is a decent album. the lack of lightning guitar solos is a downer though. at first, st anger sounds like crap compaired to metallica's old stuff, and it is, but after a while youll really start to like it. its a good effort but i hope the next one is better
  79. GaborA
    Mar 16, 2005
    8
    Very different but as good as classic Metallica. The only thing this album could use is a little more diversity.
  80. robbiem
    Mar 16, 2005
    9
    lovely melodious beautiful best metal band ever
  81. MetallicaRocks
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Yes, while St. Anger sucks in comparison to the giant albums that metals most respected band has put out in the past, a la Master of Puppets, and Metallica (the black album), take a look at what you are comparing it to. Master of Puppets is on almost everyone's top five list of greatest rock albums of all time. Ride the Lightning or ...And Justice for All, ususally is in the top ten Yes, while St. Anger sucks in comparison to the giant albums that metals most respected band has put out in the past, a la Master of Puppets, and Metallica (the black album), take a look at what you are comparing it to. Master of Puppets is on almost everyone's top five list of greatest rock albums of all time. Ride the Lightning or ...And Justice for All, ususally is in the top ten as is the black album. You can't compare St. Anger to such monolithic masterpieces. As an intety by itself, St. Anger is a decent album. The sound quality isn't quite their, and the drums are definately lacking, but it is still better than half the crap put out by many of today's artists. It is by far not their best album, but it could be worse. Hopefully, now that Bob Rock is out of the picture, Rick Rubin can do what he did for Johnny Cash, revive Metallica's career. Let's stop bashing St. Anger, and hope to God that the next album is a lot better. Maybe they will come out with something worthy to wear the name Metallica. We all know that it can't get much worse. Expand
  82. ChristopherS
    Jul 27, 2006
    8
    Yeah, the production is not 'slick' the way suburban teenagers and mallrats might expect. But this is heavy fucking metal! It's not about the production...it's about channeling anger through a drum beat and a guitar riff, and St. Anger succeeds admirably at that. Their best album since ...and Justitice for all.
  83. WilliamT.
    Nov 10, 2007
    7
    Definetly not the best album Metallica have released but not bad all the same.
  84. RyanD
    Jul 18, 2007
    7
    Certainly not there best album ever, but id definitely pick it in 3rd place, its not smart, progressive or inspiring, its just brutality and anger. I didn't really like the fact that lars sounded like he was pounding crowbars into steal garbage cans, the bass could have been done better too, but on the whole it was a pretty good album.
  85. JackP.
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    A very good album with some of Metallica's best songs. But not their best album.
  86. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sounds strange and so not-Metallica.James has totaly lost his voice and he doesnt sound like the old him.This is not a thrash metal.Its more nu-metal or heavy metal.If i live in 1985 and hear this album my last guess would be that this music is made by metallica.All in all this album is not bad but not what i espect from metallica 7.0 Expand
  87. May 24, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh boy... where to begin...

    Compared to Load and Reload, its far heavier, the raw effect is pretty good, and the lyrics are very good... perhaps one of the best of them.

    However, the new switch will not be for everyone. The heavy metal here is far more modernized and the some of the drumming is f**** terrible.

    Overall when you get down to it, a pretty good album, better than Load and Reload in some aspects, but still far behind Master of Puppets, Ride The Lightning, Kill Em' All, ...And Justice for All and the Black Album as far as i am concerned.

    Lyrics - 9/10
    Style - 8/10
    Sound - 8/10

    FINAL SCORE: 8/10
    Expand
  88. Jan 12, 2016
    8
    St. Anger by Metallica. A german review.
    Schnell. Hart. Direkt. Dreckig. In die Fresse. Genau das was die Fans nach Load/Reload gebraucht haben.
    Anspieltipps sind Frantic, St. Anger, Dirty Window und Sweet Amber. Viele Leute mögen dieses Album nicht, obwohl es all das mitbringt worauf lange gewartet wurde. Schade eigentlich, meine Wertung: 8/10
  89. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    This album is great. I'm not joking. It's not only just a "back to heavy" thing, it's also their last album to date where Metallica tried to add new directions into their style. Way better than overcompressed Death Magnetic.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Mojo
    80
    This is miffed and exemplary metal. [Jul 2003, p.108]
  2. Uncut
    80
    Against all odds, St. Anger constitutes the cutting edge of commercial yet aggressive heavy rock in 2003. [Aug 2003, p.106]
  3. The production on St. Anger is abysmal.