St. Vincent - St. Vincent
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 252

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The eponymous album begins with a shaky, frantic progressive track entitled "Rattlesnake". It slowly brings the audience closer and closer to the new image Annie has given herself. By the end of the track, the hair is let down, the feet are dancing, and the ever-creative guitar shrieks emerge in full force. Crank the amp up to 11, you're in for a joyride. The album's first single, "Birth In Reverse", offers an arrangement of head-scratching lyrics involving daily routines along with the type of instrumentals for a fast car ride. "Prince Johnny", an angelic, yet peculiar addition gives off simple vibes at the beginning. A seemingly innocent track trudges on until the voice of an angel cuts in to sing a few bars of nothingness. To describe the sheer beauty of this track would be an understatement, no matter how it is described. Just listen and fall in love. "Huey Newton" follows, giving quirky electro rhythms, heavy percussion beats, and soft, sultry acoustic riffs. Once again, this track explodes towards the end, letting a head-banging rock opera materialize. The following single, "Digital Witness", allows the listener to hear the obvious David Byrne influences. With a jazzy brass instrumentation, this track could be considered a bonus track from St. Vincent's 2012 collaboration with David Byrne, Love This Giant. And damn, is it ever catchy. "I Prefer Your Love" slows things down with an classic St. Vincent style, returning to the slow drums, the synth beats, and the calm vocals. This track shows that even with the power of a rock star, St. Vincent can still make a tranquil piece. However, the tranquility doesn't last long when "Regret" rolls in. With a slick bass line, heavenly acoustics, and the always beautiful vocals of Ms. Clark, it's an instant classic. "Bring Me Your Loves" is new. It's a track hidden at the end of unchartered territory. A new, frenzied pace of music sets this song apart from the rest of the album. With heavy guitar bits, an acapella section, and electronic rhythms from outer space, this brilliant, yet insane track provides a different side to the usual sounds heard. "Psychopath", a more straight-forward song, offers more bellowing guitar riffs, even if you were tired of them. With a incomparable instrumentation, it is another reminder of the David Byrne influence. As the album begins to end, "Every Tear Disappears" gives one final shout. Although it isn't an mad dash of sporadic beats, it finalizes the more unique side of Annie Clark's new-found music style. "Severed Crossed Fingers", the end of a masterpiece, the "ride off into the sunset as the credits roll" moment, is the perfect way to finish. Not only does it calm the listeners back down, it allows them to reflect on the last 40 minutes of their lives. What they just finished listening to is something exceptional. Something unable to be replicated.

    St. Vincent's fourth effort could be considered her best. It brings in new elements while remaining faithful to the style that got her where she is today. I admire St. Vincent and all she has accomplished. She is not only my favourite female vocalist, but also a top contender for the genre of indie rock. Congrats to you Annie. You and your funky, bleached hairdo.

    Check out more music reviews at Impossible Soul Music Reviews on Facebook!
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    St. Vincent with her self-titled LP, an album which is, my first introduction to a full length project of hers.
    And to least say, to start it up, I'm impressed. Well that's so gibberish (jokes aside), this is one heck-of a masterpiece singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Annie Clark has been cooking up.
    With a slide help on the production side from John Congleton, we have,
    St. Vincent with her self-titled LP, an album which is, my first introduction to a full length project of hers.
    And to least say, to start it up, I'm impressed. Well that's so gibberish (jokes aside), this is one heck-of a masterpiece singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Annie Clark has been cooking up.

    With a slide help on the production side from John Congleton, we have, sonically wise an cinematic and colorful experience through out. A journey full of heavy synthesizers, drown-out guitar riffs, distorted sequences. An album, experimental one, which blends the best bags off indie pop/rock music with an ounce of more electronic touch to it all.
    A record, yet beautiful, but grimy when Ms. Clark at times comes on twisted, lyrically. Lyrically a more odd figure in todays indie pop/rock I've heard in a while, she's quite unique, so is the writing on this. I love it, really loving it.
    And a guitarist as St. Vincent, as innovative of a solo artist, there's have a few off.

    Some of the most catchiest hooks, rythms, melodies and instrumentals we are going to have around in twenty-fourteen. Annie Clark is definitely one original and creative artist in music, an artist willing to push the culture, pop, rock, whatever she lays her hands on forward.

    If it's ballads, or up-tempo tracks, what you wont be bored with, is her angelic voice.

    An extrodinary piece of work from St. Vincent, one of top records we are going to sum up at the end of the year. This self-titled LP is one of the most interesting records I've came across, a favorite it is, St. Vincent is up to top this decade, better watch out.
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    As someone who just recently discovered St. Vincent, I love this album! It is thrilling, exciting, strange and incredibly refreshing! A highly original album. I have not heard any of the other albums, so I cannot compare this to them - but I have heard that this is quite different sonically, so I certainly look forward to listening to those albums. This album does have some flaws, albeitAs someone who just recently discovered St. Vincent, I love this album! It is thrilling, exciting, strange and incredibly refreshing! A highly original album. I have not heard any of the other albums, so I cannot compare this to them - but I have heard that this is quite different sonically, so I certainly look forward to listening to those albums. This album does have some flaws, albeit very minor - and that is that some of the songs don't really leave up to the excitement of other songs, but however they are still great songs. Also I think the order of the songs should have been put more coherently, though this doesn't really affect the album. Fans would probably like this due to it's different sound (according to fans) and to it's exciting production, but I must warn; not everyone may like the album due to it being strange upon first listen. But overall, it is fantastic and certainly worth a listen. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. It is original, it is Annie ! I love how every song sounds. The whole album comes alive once you're into it . I highly recommend
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    With this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the false digital era, surrounding her personal life ,Annie Clark shows that her power is elevated and then , she can create innovative records with this fourth album she finds her true sound and like her last magnificent Strange Mercy, she crafted a unique,With this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the false digital era, surrounding her personal life ,Annie Clark shows that her power is elevated and then , she can create innovative records with this fourth album she finds her true sound and like her last magnificent Strange Mercy, she crafted a unique, beautiful and genius second masterpiece. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    Let me preface by saying I am a big St. Vincent fan. I'm not here to rip Annie or anyone who appreciates this album, but as much as I wanted to love it, I am personally disappointed by it. I was skeptical of how it would turn out after hearing the relatively unimpressive first two singles "Birth In Reverse" and "Digital Witness", and unfortunately my concerns were legitimized after gettingLet me preface by saying I am a big St. Vincent fan. I'm not here to rip Annie or anyone who appreciates this album, but as much as I wanted to love it, I am personally disappointed by it. I was skeptical of how it would turn out after hearing the relatively unimpressive first two singles "Birth In Reverse" and "Digital Witness", and unfortunately my concerns were legitimized after getting through the full record. Now I will give Annie credit for continuing to think outside the box. This album is like Strange Mercy's freaky love child. Definitely more quirky and out there than anything she's done. And while it's not a bad effort by any means, what I've come to expect from St. Vincent is nothing but the best, and I find this album lacking the substance found in her previous LPs. I'm a little puzzled at the absurdly high reviews to be honest. You figure there's going to be the St. Vincent fanatics that will give Annie a high score regardless of what it sounds like, but as you can see all of the reviews are overwhelmingly positive. Not here to disagree with anyone else's views on the album, just here to give the perspective of someone who very much likes St. Vincent, but couldn't fully latch on to this new record. To me it just seems to lack all those engrossing hooks and melodies from albums past. But perhaps it's a grower, who knows. I still love St. Vincent but I have to call a spade a spade in cases like this. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    This album is incredible. With St. Vincent, Clark has found a nearly flawless blend of accessible and eccentric, highlighting her idiosyncrasies while cranking out catchy tune after insanely catchy tune. This is one of the best albums I've heard in some time, and it deserves every syllable of the praise it's getting.
  8. Mar 19, 2014
    3
    I was ready to listen to this with high intentions that I would actually enjoy this. I gave it a few runarounds and after my 3rd time listening to it, I found no joy in the music at all. Yes, this is a catchy album all around but I found nothing new in this sound. It sounds overly cluttered and forced. Thoroughly disappointed by this.
  9. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    Fourth albums can sometimes prove the most trying; the third can make or break the artist, but the next has to answer to the question of ‘where do they go from here?’ Eight years into her career and three years since her last effort, St. Vincent (alias Annie Clark) seems altogether more confident in herself and her identity; St. Vincent stands as a further separation from the headyFourth albums can sometimes prove the most trying; the third can make or break the artist, but the next has to answer to the question of ‘where do they go from here?’ Eight years into her career and three years since her last effort, St. Vincent (alias Annie Clark) seems altogether more confident in herself and her identity; St. Vincent stands as a further separation from the heady idealism of Marry Me and Actor and a distillation of elements introduced in Strange Mercy. What stops this transition from being a full success is a tendency towards style and affectation, mixed with a reluctance to explore unfamiliar territory. A brief distance instead of a leap seems Clark’s way of announcing the completion of a full fledged persona, constructed in steps over time. St. Vincent hints at just how calculated some of these steps might have been.

    ‘Rattlesnake’, the album opener, holds your attention with casual ease - unfamiliar yet still readily identifiable. It hits right to the type of stilted yet playful rhythm that permeates through most of the tracks. ‘Birth in Reverse’ and ‘Prince Johnny’ both carry recognizable St. Vincent traits: the first amped up and manic, building in progressive intensity and the latter warm, wistful, yet still guarded and just distant enough to stay oblique. ‘Huey Newton’ and ‘Digital Witness’ follow the same path, and it’s then that the issue reveals itself: a feeling of production line thinking that only grows with successive listens. If Strange Mercy served to write a new blueprint, then St. Vincent only seems like a minor revision in response. With an overemphasis on lyrics, the music suffers from uncharacteristic simplicity; repetitive and cyclical melodies that eventually appear formulaic instead of inventive.

    Unfortunately, the latter half of the album doesn’t manage to shake the feeling. ‘Regret,’ one of the more straightforward songs, carries a welcome twist with the acoustic flourishes in the chorus, but despite its’ heartfelt admissions, ‘I Prefer Your Love’ bears more than a passing resemblance to ‘Champagne Year’ off of Strange Mercy. ‘Bring Me Your Loves’ assumes the role of manic wild card track, much like ‘Your Lips Are Red’ and ‘Marrow’ on her previous efforts. The remaining three songs take on a more subdued feel, with ‘Severed Crossed Fingers’ closing the album on a plaintive note.

    As an artist, St. Vincent has grown from wide eyed talent to seasoned professional, but along the way she seems to have increasingly raised her guard up. Much of St. Vincent appears so detached that honesty and pretense start to blur together and disfigure whatever initial intentions the songs may have had. With a greater focus than before on presentation, it’s the small details that ultimately grow to prevent the album from reaching its full potential.
    Expand
  10. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    I've been a huge fan of Annie Clark, ever since I discovered Actor. Actor is a brilliant album, and will live with me throughout eternity, but when Strange Mercy came out it shook things up. Her sound much dreamier, and emotions in a weird, pleading state. Another album I procured for my record collection. The collaboration between Clark and David Byrne, although slightly flawed, is aI've been a huge fan of Annie Clark, ever since I discovered Actor. Actor is a brilliant album, and will live with me throughout eternity, but when Strange Mercy came out it shook things up. Her sound much dreamier, and emotions in a weird, pleading state. Another album I procured for my record collection. The collaboration between Clark and David Byrne, although slightly flawed, is a great album. So here's going into St. Vincent's new album, and come on, it's St. Vincent for Christ's sake. It's a very accessible, exceptionally poppy assortment of songs. To me, it feels as if she's in her David Byrne phase, but mostly on "Digital Witness", synth line breaches pretty close to sounding like horns, which were the main instruments incorporated in "Love This Giant". Her first single, "Birth In Reverse" reminds me of the second track on "Strange Mercy". Annie's lyrics aren't as emotional as Strange Mercy's, but much more wittier, and slightly more mature. Her voice as cringing and beautiful as ever.

    All In All, I'd honestly call this St. Vincent's least best record, but nevertheless unbearably enjoying and another batch of songs by an extremely talented artist. B+
    Expand
  11. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    "St. Vincent" is a marked departure for St. Vincent: While "Strange Mercy" is more emotionally complex and much more of a strange, twisted (though above all else, deeply beautiful) "art rock" album, Annie Clark's self-titled work is both a decidedly poppier and more sonically adventurous affair; still, it's no less of a masterpiece than its predecessor. Ms. Clark continues her streak of"St. Vincent" is a marked departure for St. Vincent: While "Strange Mercy" is more emotionally complex and much more of a strange, twisted (though above all else, deeply beautiful) "art rock" album, Annie Clark's self-titled work is both a decidedly poppier and more sonically adventurous affair; still, it's no less of a masterpiece than its predecessor. Ms. Clark continues her streak of vital indie rock albums while propelling her significance to stratospheric levels. She may well rule us all from that throne of hers. Expand
  12. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    It has been a long time since I've been able to listen to a single album for almost 24 straight hours. St. Vincent has been able to create a sound is at the same time beautifully mesmerizing and intriguingly off-putting. I would highly recommend this for all who appreciate a challenging and engrossing listening experience.
  13. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    With guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is this concept that makes the album accessible enough for easy listening and lyrically stimulating enough to create deep listening. She hops from genre to genre without failing to meet a common tone that makes what would seem like a disjointed effort inWith guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is this concept that makes the album accessible enough for easy listening and lyrically stimulating enough to create deep listening. She hops from genre to genre without failing to meet a common tone that makes what would seem like a disjointed effort in less adroit hands cohesive from start to finish. Expand
  14. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Best of all her albums to date - so consistent in everything she does. Can't put a track on without then listening to whole album - time and time again!! EVERY track is a STANDOUT track! Saw her live at 02 Shepherd's Bush, London last week - AMAZING! Annie is such a hard working lady - deserves all the success she gets. Hope there's another album next year - I'm 69 and might be running outBest of all her albums to date - so consistent in everything she does. Can't put a track on without then listening to whole album - time and time again!! EVERY track is a STANDOUT track! Saw her live at 02 Shepherd's Bush, London last week - AMAZING! Annie is such a hard working lady - deserves all the success she gets. Hope there's another album next year - I'm 69 and might be running out of time!!! Expand
  15. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Oh God is so good..She can't disappointed us..Every song has something to say..Something to give you.Really i don't find one moderate song...I fell in love with this..With "Annie"..With everything..I can't sleep with that album.Is impossible right now.The most important thing for her is,at debut album until now,move on and raise the bar.."Actor" is better than "Marry me".."Strange mercy"Oh God is so good..She can't disappointed us..Every song has something to say..Something to give you.Really i don't find one moderate song...I fell in love with this..With "Annie"..With everything..I can't sleep with that album.Is impossible right now.The most important thing for her is,at debut album until now,move on and raise the bar.."Actor" is better than "Marry me".."Strange mercy" is better than "Actor"..And "St.Vincent"(self-titled) is better than "Strange mercy"..Every time she raise the bar and for every artist is one challenge to beat your own self."Annie" do that so easy without problem..Show us,she don't have limits..For this and only,we see what special artist is.Very few bands/artists beat your own self 3 times.And i'm sure she dont say the last word..That album for sure is more mature than "Strange mercy" and more fully..Has more music styles like any old album of her discography.If that album has released 10 or 20 years ago,perhaps the ratings is 0.20 higher..I hope the new users give chances to those special artists who carry the music today.."Annie" deserve to give one more chance..I don't tell specific my thoughts for every song..Is one complete 100% masterpiece..That album really have everything.God bless that woman because for that difficult times,give us music so nicely..That album is the same difficult like "Strange mercy"..Difficult to catch it..But it grow up very easy with every hearing..Relax and enjoy people..That album at least is outstanding.And don't forget..The singles is in that album and not out..Don't confused..All packet always must see.. Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2014
    1
    I love Annie's music. Seriously love. But I fear she's jumped the shark here. I understand the need to expand as an artist, but I feel somewhat alienated. Bring back the warm fuzzies, Annie! I'll be waiting.
  17. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This is pretty magnificent. An album that is so diverse in style, yet so coherent. It's totally ridiculous to name any favorite tracks, as the whole album is a must-listen.

    St. Vincent is a big transformation from the previous album Strange Mercy. And it's a most welcomed one. Not that Strange Mercy is bad; it's terrific. But this is just another level. St. Vincent has proven herself
    This is pretty magnificent. An album that is so diverse in style, yet so coherent. It's totally ridiculous to name any favorite tracks, as the whole album is a must-listen.

    St. Vincent is a big transformation from the previous album Strange Mercy. And it's a most welcomed one. Not that Strange Mercy is bad; it's terrific. But this is just another level.

    St. Vincent has proven herself as one of the most exciting musicians in the scene today.
    Expand
  18. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    I can't imagine a better album being released this year. Amazing.
    My faves for the decade?- "The Whole Love" by Wilco..."So Beautiful Of So What" by Paul Simon..."Strange Mercy" by St. Vincent & "St. Vincent" by St. Vincent.
  19. Jul 11, 2014
    5
    Nem sempre o que parece a "regra" é o que deve ser o que norteia nossas opiniões, principalmente, quando se trata do mundo da música. Por exemplo: o álbum homônimo da cantora americana St. Vincent foi aclamado criticamente por muitos especialistas dando uma classificação de 89 no Metacritic. Porém, nem por isso todos que ouvirem o álbum vão achar a mesma coisa. Esse é o meu caso.

    St.
    Nem sempre o que parece a "regra" é o que deve ser o que norteia nossas opiniões, principalmente, quando se trata do mundo da música. Por exemplo: o álbum homônimo da cantora americana St. Vincent foi aclamado criticamente por muitos especialistas dando uma classificação de 89 no Metacritic. Porém, nem por isso todos que ouvirem o álbum vão achar a mesma coisa. Esse é o meu caso.

    St. Vincent é um álbum interessante e com boas sacadas, mas, na minha opinião, um trabalho apenas mediano. Não há como negar que a produção não faz um trabalho criativo e bem diferente construindo uma sonoridade pop, mas conceitual em sua estrutura minimalista misturando estilos como art pop e rock indie. Porém, dando uma boa analisada na sonoridade de St. Vincent, fica claro que mesmo envolto em um belíssimo "papel de presente" o álbum é apenas um CD de pop comum mais requintado. É fácil até notar em alguns momentos como, por exemplo, em I Prefer Your Love tem uma vibe meio Madonna das baladas dos anos oitenta misturado com a temática religiosa. Não é uma falha, mas não impressiona como vários críticos falaram. Vocalmente, a cantora St. Vincent tem personalidade bem definida sabendo como se colocar nas canções se adequando ao seu próprio estilo. Nada realmente marcante, mas um trabalho bem conduzido. O ponto negativo do álbum são as suas composições. Entendo perfeitamente e até curto quem busca algo mais autoral e indie, mas aqui o trabalho é hermético demais e não passa emoção ou mesmo um sentimento de afinidade com as mensagens passadas no álbum. É um trabalho bem escrito, mas faltou um toque mais acessível. Resumindo: regras estão aí para ser quebradas.
    Expand
  20. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    This was the first album I listened to by St Vincent, but it's a fantastic first impression. Annie melds experimentation & accessibility together in a fantastic way, creating songs with interesting sonic flavor, clever songwriting, and awesomely catchy hooks.

    (If you wanna see my full review where I go a lot more in-depth, look up "Spin It Reviews" on YouTube.)
  21. Apr 24, 2014
    6
    This is by far her most experimental work yet, but overall, it's her least accessible album by far and for me, her worst. It's not a bad record, but it left me feeling pretty underwhelmed. The first half is pretty good, but the backside is what i'm having a problem with. They feel like tired rehashes of what was just at the beginning of the album. Even though this here most experimentalThis is by far her most experimental work yet, but overall, it's her least accessible album by far and for me, her worst. It's not a bad record, but it left me feeling pretty underwhelmed. The first half is pretty good, but the backside is what i'm having a problem with. They feel like tired rehashes of what was just at the beginning of the album. Even though this here most experimental work yet, it's still pretty safe and a tad boring. No thematic statements here, nor is it really that cohesive of a work. Feels more like a compilation. Expand
  22. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Annie Clark is a goddess, for sure. Now, I don't think St. Vincent is as good of an album as Strange Mercy is, and it doesn't have the same top-end power (there is no "Cruel" on this album). But there are so many great songs, and so much variance that it's hard for someone to not at least find one or two songs they'll really love. Disregarding the pre-released singles, my personalAnnie Clark is a goddess, for sure. Now, I don't think St. Vincent is as good of an album as Strange Mercy is, and it doesn't have the same top-end power (there is no "Cruel" on this album). But there are so many great songs, and so much variance that it's hard for someone to not at least find one or two songs they'll really love. Disregarding the pre-released singles, my personal favorites are "Rattlesnake" and "Bring Me Your Loves." Expand
  23. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    St. Vincent's self-titled album is a work of experimental alternative genius and a triumph of human spirit in an age where, more often than not, that spirit is masked rather than exalted by instrumentals. Annie Clark arranges an eclectic potpourri of styles (syncopated vs. steady and even), sounds (acoustic vs. synthetic), and textures (delicate vs. pyrotechnic) and blends them soSt. Vincent's self-titled album is a work of experimental alternative genius and a triumph of human spirit in an age where, more often than not, that spirit is masked rather than exalted by instrumentals. Annie Clark arranges an eclectic potpourri of styles (syncopated vs. steady and even), sounds (acoustic vs. synthetic), and textures (delicate vs. pyrotechnic) and blends them so skillfully, the resulting album feels more like a qualitatively homogenous and entirely original composition than distinct parts of a whole snapped together. Her voice (sonically and lyrically) bursts with definition, maturity, and a critical mind towards her circumstances; she incorporates the carefree cynicism of Lorde with the intellectual confidence and thematic assertiveness of PJ Harvey. This is an album not to be missed, whether or not you know of St. Vincent.

    FINAL SCORE: 90 (almost perfect)
    Expand
  24. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    At this point, no one can doubt about the innate talent and sense of good taste Anne has. But what this fourth album creates is something unique and transcendental, while persisting on being honest and vulnerable. Big minds are big but also humble, and St Vincent knew how to create this as well as such an ambiguous and versatile atmosphere as very few could before. A success from start to end.
  25. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    After reading a very positive review on this album, I thought I would give it a listen. I have very mixed feelings about this album. I love some of the songs and I think she has an incredible voice, however I feel like the lyrics are a bit abstract and don't really make much sense. Also in some of the songs I feel like the melodies are very off and don't go with each other at all. MyAfter reading a very positive review on this album, I thought I would give it a listen. I have very mixed feelings about this album. I love some of the songs and I think she has an incredible voice, however I feel like the lyrics are a bit abstract and don't really make much sense. Also in some of the songs I feel like the melodies are very off and don't go with each other at all. My favourite tracks are Prince Johnny and Severed Crossed Fingers and my least favourite song is Huey Newton. Expand
  26. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    In my view, this is the best album of the year so far. The songs are daring, weird and complex. Certainly not easy listening material, but with some effort it is a rewarding experience.
  27. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    New wave-y grunge? Distorted art rock? Noise pop? It is hard to pin down exactly what St. Vincent's new release sounds like, but it is indeed a refreshing and original statement. The enormous and dirty guitars highlight the aggressive tones of Annie Clark's vocals and are tactfully compressed and localized for maximum impact. This album rarely lets up in terms of distortion and heaviness,New wave-y grunge? Distorted art rock? Noise pop? It is hard to pin down exactly what St. Vincent's new release sounds like, but it is indeed a refreshing and original statement. The enormous and dirty guitars highlight the aggressive tones of Annie Clark's vocals and are tactfully compressed and localized for maximum impact. This album rarely lets up in terms of distortion and heaviness, but when it does Annie remains a resourceful and effective songwriter. Sadly, I've found my enjoyment for this record has planed off around the 7/10 mark because while it is an enjoyable and impressive effort (especially in terms of sound and production) St. Vincent's songwriting has been better on albums like Actor and Strange Mercy. Still, for someone generally new to her music this album has proven a thoroughly entertaining and rewarding listen.

    Track Picks: Birth in Reverse, Huey Newton, I Prefer Your Love

    76/100
    Expand
  28. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    St Vincent is a pop album that, although it might sound more experimental than other pop around, remains accessible and overwhelmingly addictive and impossible to get bored of. St Vincent aka Annie Clark combines on this enchanting new album mixtures of ugliness and beauty, set beside lyrics of an unflinching and thoughtful format, with random sonic textures and guitar riffs that twist andSt Vincent is a pop album that, although it might sound more experimental than other pop around, remains accessible and overwhelmingly addictive and impossible to get bored of. St Vincent aka Annie Clark combines on this enchanting new album mixtures of ugliness and beauty, set beside lyrics of an unflinching and thoughtful format, with random sonic textures and guitar riffs that twist and turn each and every track to a force of odd yet exciting sound and material. St Vincent is an overwhelmingly touching album at times, and when it isn't that, its an odd but unavoidable sonic adventure all the while. And St Vincent aka Annie Clark sings beautifully and immeasurably out of every single track. Stunning. Expand
  29. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent record by Annie Clark a.k.a St. Vincent. The songs are just wonderful to listen to, especially 'Prince Johnny' and 'Digital Witness' and some really interesting lyrics within 'Birth in Reverse'

    10/10 This is a modern age classic, I highly recommend to anyone, just essential to your music collection for it's phenomenal display of it's art
  30. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Want a perfect album? Something not tried by others, yet accessible and sometimes catchy? Pick St. Vincent. It's an album that is soaring musically that it's so hard to have a catch on the lyrics.
  31. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Brilliant. Absolutely gorgeous album, especially when bearing in mind how her style has changed over the years and how much she has developed her sound. One of my favorite guitarists made an album I will be listening to for a while. It isn't necessarily directly catchy, but her brilliant song constructions make you listen again and again, never letting you go. Oh, and seeing her live addedBrilliant. Absolutely gorgeous album, especially when bearing in mind how her style has changed over the years and how much she has developed her sound. One of my favorite guitarists made an album I will be listening to for a while. It isn't necessarily directly catchy, but her brilliant song constructions make you listen again and again, never letting you go. Oh, and seeing her live added to my love of this album a lot as well. As with all music, a concert is what brings it to life, and you'll appreciate the music more. Collapse
  32. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    O novo album de St. Vincent é elétrico e emotivo ao mesmo tempo. Annie conseguiu fazer um disco de estilos diversificados sem perder a qualidade e tornando seu album um dos melhores de 2014 até agora.
  33. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Clark's makeover and eponymous title make this album seem like the second coming of St. Vincent , and I think she does a great job of making her songs more accessible. It's definitely a deviation from her previous work, and you can hear her musical influences shift from collabs with Andrew Bird to David Byrne. The album is much more produced, but it works.
  34. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. St Vincent has crafted an utterly compelling album. St Vincent is lyrically mature and uncanny, and is derived from Annie Clarks keen observations and witty humour. Its starts off boldly, with Rattlesnake unfolding and flowing onto the similar thrilling next song Birth In Reverse. Not only is St Vincents third full length album thought provoking, but it is highly listenable. Dense and complex, guitars, brass and electronic beats are all present which may feel overbearing, but it only adds to the overriding tones of intelligence and wit. In two words I would describe Annie Clarks fantastic album, as idiosyncratic bliss..... Expand
  35. May 7, 2014
    9
    This album is ridiculously good. St. Vincent continues to evolve and constantly impress. I'm not saying it because she did an album with him, but she is the female David Byrne.
  36. May 31, 2014
    8
    The sickening esotericism of St. Vincent may not be everyone's cup of tea, but there is something to be admired by anyone as to where the eccentric Annie Clark is coming from on this zigzagging metaphor for God-knows-what. Modern indie rock has nearly everything to thank St. Vincent for, and her eponymous album shows that clearly. Jittery horn and drum patterns, like the one found onThe sickening esotericism of St. Vincent may not be everyone's cup of tea, but there is something to be admired by anyone as to where the eccentric Annie Clark is coming from on this zigzagging metaphor for God-knows-what. Modern indie rock has nearly everything to thank St. Vincent for, and her eponymous album shows that clearly. Jittery horn and drum patterns, like the one found on "Digital Witness," punctuate the album, while Clark's voice gives a unique, guitar-mimicking sound that only she could produce. In the best way, Clark has taken a wryly optimistic step into the future of indie rock and rock in general, while remaining anchored to the ground with the roots that became ingrained in her debut, Marry Me. But as the album's cover (a picture of St. Vincent herself on a throne) might imply anyway, she has been exalted and isn't scared to recognize it. However, "exalted" may be pushing it, because in the track "Regret," she sings about how she is "afraid of Heaven because [she] can't stand the heights." And that's okay with us, because we'd like St. Vincent to hang around here with us Earthlings for at least a little while longer. Expand
  37. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Annie Clarke's fourth solo studio album establishes her as a strong force, and may even be her most personal effort to date. Juggling art pop and indie rock has never been this cohesive, thanks to her always on point guitar. The sound and the lyrical content are more accessible, compared to Strange Mercy.
  38. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    I've been a fan of St. Vincent for only 2 years. Her first three albums are really great to me, but they had an element that somehow alienated my ears. With this album that happens no more. That is the beauty of St. Vincent, with this record Annie Clark achieves something greater, being consistent with her style but being more accessible, with melodies that only make you want to sing alongI've been a fan of St. Vincent for only 2 years. Her first three albums are really great to me, but they had an element that somehow alienated my ears. With this album that happens no more. That is the beauty of St. Vincent, with this record Annie Clark achieves something greater, being consistent with her style but being more accessible, with melodies that only make you want to sing along and dance. Expand
  39. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    This album sounds hypnotic and is so enjoyable to listen. The instrumentals sounds so great and the vocals too. The lyrics are great. Even being good in these three aspects, sometimes we miss "something", like for me in "Prince Jhonny" and "Severed Crossed Fingers". But in the end, the album is great.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. This is Clark's most daring, uncompromising, infectious, and adventurous release yet, as St. Vicent features a musician challenging the very idea of what it means to be an artist in 2014.
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    89
    Clark's exacting sensibility makes every song a new experience, finally birthing an album where every shot hits its mark.
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    60
    St. Vincent dances with themes (family, success and the absence thereof, the isolation of the digital) but only ever seems to fringe against them in a way that doesn’t let the record add up to more than the sum of its parts.