St. Vincent - St. Vincent
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 253

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The
    The most versatile album, not only by St. Vincent (aka Annie Clark) but of the past few years, offers a plethora of delicious snippets. A mental stunner of an album unfolds with a mixture of voluble guitar mayhem, head-bopping brass sections, and twee electro beats. Not only has Annie Clark grown as a musician, she has blossomed into one of indie rock's most unique staples.

    The eponymous album begins with a shaky, frantic progressive track entitled "Rattlesnake". It slowly brings the audience closer and closer to the new image Annie has given herself. By the end of the track, the hair is let down, the feet are dancing, and the ever-creative guitar shrieks emerge in full force. Crank the amp up to 11, you're in for a joyride. The album's first single, "Birth In Reverse", offers an arrangement of head-scratching lyrics involving daily routines along with the type of instrumentals for a fast car ride. "Prince Johnny", an angelic, yet peculiar addition gives off simple vibes at the beginning. A seemingly innocent track trudges on until the voice of an angel cuts in to sing a few bars of nothingness. To describe the sheer beauty of this track would be an understatement, no matter how it is described. Just listen and fall in love. "Huey Newton" follows, giving quirky electro rhythms, heavy percussion beats, and soft, sultry acoustic riffs. Once again, this track explodes towards the end, letting a head-banging rock opera materialize. The following single, "Digital Witness", allows the listener to hear the obvious David Byrne influences. With a jazzy brass instrumentation, this track could be considered a bonus track from St. Vincent's 2012 collaboration with David Byrne, Love This Giant. And damn, is it ever catchy. "I Prefer Your Love" slows things down with an classic St. Vincent style, returning to the slow drums, the synth beats, and the calm vocals. This track shows that even with the power of a rock star, St. Vincent can still make a tranquil piece. However, the tranquility doesn't last long when "Regret" rolls in. With a slick bass line, heavenly acoustics, and the always beautiful vocals of Ms. Clark, it's an instant classic. "Bring Me Your Loves" is new. It's a track hidden at the end of unchartered territory. A new, frenzied pace of music sets this song apart from the rest of the album. With heavy guitar bits, an acapella section, and electronic rhythms from outer space, this brilliant, yet insane track provides a different side to the usual sounds heard. "Psychopath", a more straight-forward song, offers more bellowing guitar riffs, even if you were tired of them. With a incomparable instrumentation, it is another reminder of the David Byrne influence. As the album begins to end, "Every Tear Disappears" gives one final shout. Although it isn't an mad dash of sporadic beats, it finalizes the more unique side of Annie Clark's new-found music style. "Severed Crossed Fingers", the end of a masterpiece, the "ride off into the sunset as the credits roll" moment, is the perfect way to finish. Not only does it calm the listeners back down, it allows them to reflect on the last 40 minutes of their lives. What they just finished listening to is something exceptional. Something unable to be replicated.

    St. Vincent's fourth effort could be considered her best. It brings in new elements while remaining faithful to the style that got her where she is today. I admire St. Vincent and all she has accomplished. She is not only my favourite female vocalist, but also a top contender for the genre of indie rock. Congrats to you Annie. You and your funky, bleached hairdo.

    Check out more music reviews at Impossible Soul Music Reviews on Facebook!
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    St. Vincent with her self-titled LP, an album which is, my first introduction to a full length project of hers.
    And to least say, to start it up, I'm impressed. Well that's so gibberish (jokes aside), this is one heck-of a masterpiece singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Annie Clark has been cooking up.
    With a slide help on the production side from John Congleton, we have,
    St. Vincent with her self-titled LP, an album which is, my first introduction to a full length project of hers.
    And to least say, to start it up, I'm impressed. Well that's so gibberish (jokes aside), this is one heck-of a masterpiece singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Annie Clark has been cooking up.

    With a slide help on the production side from John Congleton, we have, sonically wise an cinematic and colorful experience through out. A journey full of heavy synthesizers, drown-out guitar riffs, distorted sequences. An album, experimental one, which blends the best bags off indie pop/rock music with an ounce of more electronic touch to it all.
    A record, yet beautiful, but grimy when Ms. Clark at times comes on twisted, lyrically. Lyrically a more odd figure in todays indie pop/rock I've heard in a while, she's quite unique, so is the writing on this. I love it, really loving it.
    And a guitarist as St. Vincent, as innovative of a solo artist, there's have a few off.

    Some of the most catchiest hooks, rythms, melodies and instrumentals we are going to have around in twenty-fourteen. Annie Clark is definitely one original and creative artist in music, an artist willing to push the culture, pop, rock, whatever she lays her hands on forward.

    If it's ballads, or up-tempo tracks, what you wont be bored with, is her angelic voice.

    An extrodinary piece of work from St. Vincent, one of top records we are going to sum up at the end of the year. This self-titled LP is one of the most interesting records I've came across, a favorite it is, St. Vincent is up to top this decade, better watch out.
    Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    As someone who just recently discovered St. Vincent, I love this album! It is thrilling, exciting, strange and incredibly refreshing! A highly original album. I have not heard any of the other albums, so I cannot compare this to them - but I have heard that this is quite different sonically, so I certainly look forward to listening to those albums. This album does have some flaws, albeitAs someone who just recently discovered St. Vincent, I love this album! It is thrilling, exciting, strange and incredibly refreshing! A highly original album. I have not heard any of the other albums, so I cannot compare this to them - but I have heard that this is quite different sonically, so I certainly look forward to listening to those albums. This album does have some flaws, albeit very minor - and that is that some of the songs don't really leave up to the excitement of other songs, but however they are still great songs. Also I think the order of the songs should have been put more coherently, though this doesn't really affect the album. Fans would probably like this due to it's different sound (according to fans) and to it's exciting production, but I must warn; not everyone may like the album due to it being strange upon first listen. But overall, it is fantastic and certainly worth a listen. Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This album is a masterpiece. It is original, it is Annie ! I love how every song sounds. The whole album comes alive once you're into it . I highly recommend
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    With this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the false digital era, surrounding her personal life ,Annie Clark shows that her power is elevated and then , she can create innovative records with this fourth album she finds her true sound and like her last magnificent Strange Mercy, she crafted a unique,With this album she consolidates as a incredible artist. St. Vincent is an incredible album that have the reality in the lyrics, and the false digital era, surrounding her personal life ,Annie Clark shows that her power is elevated and then , she can create innovative records with this fourth album she finds her true sound and like her last magnificent Strange Mercy, she crafted a unique, beautiful and genius second masterpiece. Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    This album is incredible. With St. Vincent, Clark has found a nearly flawless blend of accessible and eccentric, highlighting her idiosyncrasies while cranking out catchy tune after insanely catchy tune. This is one of the best albums I've heard in some time, and it deserves every syllable of the praise it's getting.
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    "St. Vincent" is a marked departure for St. Vincent: While "Strange Mercy" is more emotionally complex and much more of a strange, twisted (though above all else, deeply beautiful) "art rock" album, Annie Clark's self-titled work is both a decidedly poppier and more sonically adventurous affair; still, it's no less of a masterpiece than its predecessor. Ms. Clark continues her streak of"St. Vincent" is a marked departure for St. Vincent: While "Strange Mercy" is more emotionally complex and much more of a strange, twisted (though above all else, deeply beautiful) "art rock" album, Annie Clark's self-titled work is both a decidedly poppier and more sonically adventurous affair; still, it's no less of a masterpiece than its predecessor. Ms. Clark continues her streak of vital indie rock albums while propelling her significance to stratospheric levels. She may well rule us all from that throne of hers. Expand
  8. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    It has been a long time since I've been able to listen to a single album for almost 24 straight hours. St. Vincent has been able to create a sound is at the same time beautifully mesmerizing and intriguingly off-putting. I would highly recommend this for all who appreciate a challenging and engrossing listening experience.
  9. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    With guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is this concept that makes the album accessible enough for easy listening and lyrically stimulating enough to create deep listening. She hops from genre to genre without failing to meet a common tone that makes what would seem like a disjointed effort inWith guitar as the main form of change of pace, St. Vincent muses on existentialism without managing to alienate average listeners. It is this concept that makes the album accessible enough for easy listening and lyrically stimulating enough to create deep listening. She hops from genre to genre without failing to meet a common tone that makes what would seem like a disjointed effort in less adroit hands cohesive from start to finish. Expand
  10. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    Best of all her albums to date - so consistent in everything she does. Can't put a track on without then listening to whole album - time and time again!! EVERY track is a STANDOUT track! Saw her live at 02 Shepherd's Bush, London last week - AMAZING! Annie is such a hard working lady - deserves all the success she gets. Hope there's another album next year - I'm 69 and might be running outBest of all her albums to date - so consistent in everything she does. Can't put a track on without then listening to whole album - time and time again!! EVERY track is a STANDOUT track! Saw her live at 02 Shepherd's Bush, London last week - AMAZING! Annie is such a hard working lady - deserves all the success she gets. Hope there's another album next year - I'm 69 and might be running out of time!!! Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Oh God is so good..She can't disappointed us..Every song has something to say..Something to give you.Really i don't find one moderate song...I fell in love with this..With "Annie"..With everything..I can't sleep with that album.Is impossible right now.The most important thing for her is,at debut album until now,move on and raise the bar.."Actor" is better than "Marry me".."Strange mercy"Oh God is so good..She can't disappointed us..Every song has something to say..Something to give you.Really i don't find one moderate song...I fell in love with this..With "Annie"..With everything..I can't sleep with that album.Is impossible right now.The most important thing for her is,at debut album until now,move on and raise the bar.."Actor" is better than "Marry me".."Strange mercy" is better than "Actor"..And "St.Vincent"(self-titled) is better than "Strange mercy"..Every time she raise the bar and for every artist is one challenge to beat your own self."Annie" do that so easy without problem..Show us,she don't have limits..For this and only,we see what special artist is.Very few bands/artists beat your own self 3 times.And i'm sure she dont say the last word..That album for sure is more mature than "Strange mercy" and more fully..Has more music styles like any old album of her discography.If that album has released 10 or 20 years ago,perhaps the ratings is 0.20 higher..I hope the new users give chances to those special artists who carry the music today.."Annie" deserve to give one more chance..I don't tell specific my thoughts for every song..Is one complete 100% masterpiece..That album really have everything.God bless that woman because for that difficult times,give us music so nicely..That album is the same difficult like "Strange mercy"..Difficult to catch it..But it grow up very easy with every hearing..Relax and enjoy people..That album at least is outstanding.And don't forget..The singles is in that album and not out..Don't confused..All packet always must see.. Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    This is pretty magnificent. An album that is so diverse in style, yet so coherent. It's totally ridiculous to name any favorite tracks, as the whole album is a must-listen.

    St. Vincent is a big transformation from the previous album Strange Mercy. And it's a most welcomed one. Not that Strange Mercy is bad; it's terrific. But this is just another level. St. Vincent has proven herself
    This is pretty magnificent. An album that is so diverse in style, yet so coherent. It's totally ridiculous to name any favorite tracks, as the whole album is a must-listen.

    St. Vincent is a big transformation from the previous album Strange Mercy. And it's a most welcomed one. Not that Strange Mercy is bad; it's terrific. But this is just another level.

    St. Vincent has proven herself as one of the most exciting musicians in the scene today.
    Expand
  13. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    I can't imagine a better album being released this year. Amazing.
    My faves for the decade?- "The Whole Love" by Wilco..."So Beautiful Of So What" by Paul Simon..."Strange Mercy" by St. Vincent & "St. Vincent" by St. Vincent.
  14. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    This was the first album I listened to by St Vincent, but it's a fantastic first impression. Annie melds experimentation & accessibility together in a fantastic way, creating songs with interesting sonic flavor, clever songwriting, and awesomely catchy hooks.

    (If you wanna see my full review where I go a lot more in-depth, look up "Spin It Reviews" on YouTube.)
  15. Dec 20, 2014
    10
    Another amazing album from Annie Clark. What more can be said? St Vincent continues a trend that I have observed from Clark's albums, which is that every song has a certain beauty and accessibility to it, but also has a tinge of rawness that acts as her stamp on each song. I believe this quality is what makes her music so unique.
  16. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    St. Vincent's self-titled album is a work of experimental alternative genius and a triumph of human spirit in an age where, more often than not, that spirit is masked rather than exalted by instrumentals. Annie Clark arranges an eclectic potpourri of styles (syncopated vs. steady and even), sounds (acoustic vs. synthetic), and textures (delicate vs. pyrotechnic) and blends them soSt. Vincent's self-titled album is a work of experimental alternative genius and a triumph of human spirit in an age where, more often than not, that spirit is masked rather than exalted by instrumentals. Annie Clark arranges an eclectic potpourri of styles (syncopated vs. steady and even), sounds (acoustic vs. synthetic), and textures (delicate vs. pyrotechnic) and blends them so skillfully, the resulting album feels more like a qualitatively homogenous and entirely original composition than distinct parts of a whole snapped together. Her voice (sonically and lyrically) bursts with definition, maturity, and a critical mind towards her circumstances; she incorporates the carefree cynicism of Lorde with the intellectual confidence and thematic assertiveness of PJ Harvey. This is an album not to be missed, whether or not you know of St. Vincent.

    FINAL SCORE: 90 (almost perfect)
    Expand
  17. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    At this point, no one can doubt about the innate talent and sense of good taste Anne has. But what this fourth album creates is something unique and transcendental, while persisting on being honest and vulnerable. Big minds are big but also humble, and St Vincent knew how to create this as well as such an ambiguous and versatile atmosphere as very few could before. A success from start to end.
  18. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    In my view, this is the best album of the year so far. The songs are daring, weird and complex. Certainly not easy listening material, but with some effort it is a rewarding experience.
  19. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    St Vincent is a pop album that, although it might sound more experimental than other pop around, remains accessible and overwhelmingly addictive and impossible to get bored of. St Vincent aka Annie Clark combines on this enchanting new album mixtures of ugliness and beauty, set beside lyrics of an unflinching and thoughtful format, with random sonic textures and guitar riffs that twist andSt Vincent is a pop album that, although it might sound more experimental than other pop around, remains accessible and overwhelmingly addictive and impossible to get bored of. St Vincent aka Annie Clark combines on this enchanting new album mixtures of ugliness and beauty, set beside lyrics of an unflinching and thoughtful format, with random sonic textures and guitar riffs that twist and turn each and every track to a force of odd yet exciting sound and material. St Vincent is an overwhelmingly touching album at times, and when it isn't that, its an odd but unavoidable sonic adventure all the while. And St Vincent aka Annie Clark sings beautifully and immeasurably out of every single track. Stunning. Expand
  20. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent record by Annie Clark a.k.a St. Vincent. The songs are just wonderful to listen to, especially 'Prince Johnny' and 'Digital Witness' and some really interesting lyrics within 'Birth in Reverse'

    10/10 This is a modern age classic, I highly recommend to anyone, just essential to your music collection for it's phenomenal display of it's art
  21. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Want a perfect album? Something not tried by others, yet accessible and sometimes catchy? Pick St. Vincent. It's an album that is soaring musically that it's so hard to have a catch on the lyrics.
  22. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Brilliant. Absolutely gorgeous album, especially when bearing in mind how her style has changed over the years and how much she has developed her sound. One of my favorite guitarists made an album I will be listening to for a while. It isn't necessarily directly catchy, but her brilliant song constructions make you listen again and again, never letting you go. Oh, and seeing her live addedBrilliant. Absolutely gorgeous album, especially when bearing in mind how her style has changed over the years and how much she has developed her sound. One of my favorite guitarists made an album I will be listening to for a while. It isn't necessarily directly catchy, but her brilliant song constructions make you listen again and again, never letting you go. Oh, and seeing her live added to my love of this album a lot as well. As with all music, a concert is what brings it to life, and you'll appreciate the music more. Expand
  23. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. St Vincent has crafted an utterly compelling album. St Vincent is lyrically mature and uncanny, and is derived from Annie Clarks keen observations and witty humour. Its starts off boldly, with Rattlesnake unfolding and flowing onto the similar thrilling next song Birth In Reverse. Not only is St Vincents third full length album thought provoking, but it is highly listenable. Dense and complex, guitars, brass and electronic beats are all present which may feel overbearing, but it only adds to the overriding tones of intelligence and wit. In two words I would describe Annie Clarks fantastic album, as idiosyncratic bliss..... Expand
  24. May 7, 2014
    9
    This album is ridiculously good. St. Vincent continues to evolve and constantly impress. I'm not saying it because she did an album with him, but she is the female David Byrne.
  25. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Annie Clarke's fourth solo studio album establishes her as a strong force, and may even be her most personal effort to date. Juggling art pop and indie rock has never been this cohesive, thanks to her always on point guitar. The sound and the lyrical content are more accessible, compared to Strange Mercy.
  26. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    I've been a fan of St. Vincent for only 2 years. Her first three albums are really great to me, but they had an element that somehow alienated my ears. With this album that happens no more. That is the beauty of St. Vincent, with this record Annie Clark achieves something greater, being consistent with her style but being more accessible, with melodies that only make you want to sing alongI've been a fan of St. Vincent for only 2 years. Her first three albums are really great to me, but they had an element that somehow alienated my ears. With this album that happens no more. That is the beauty of St. Vincent, with this record Annie Clark achieves something greater, being consistent with her style but being more accessible, with melodies that only make you want to sing along and dance. Expand
  27. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    This album sounds hypnotic and is so enjoyable to listen. The instrumentals sounds so great and the vocals too. The lyrics are great. Even being good in these three aspects, sometimes we miss "something", like for me in "Prince Jhonny" and "Severed Crossed Fingers". But in the end, the album is great.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. This is Clark's most daring, uncompromising, infectious, and adventurous release yet, as St. Vicent features a musician challenging the very idea of what it means to be an artist in 2014.
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    89
    Clark's exacting sensibility makes every song a new experience, finally birthing an album where every shot hits its mark.
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    60
    St. Vincent dances with themes (family, success and the absence thereof, the isolation of the digital) but only ever seems to fringe against them in a way that doesn’t let the record add up to more than the sum of its parts.