Stars Dance - Selena Gomez
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    78
    What's left, then, is a collection of 11 shinily produced pop songs that find Gomez trying on a series of different personalities with her slight-yet-capable vocals.
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The whirring Stars Dance is a confident but not aggressively blatant move to a more grown-up pop playing field.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Thanks to the strong songs, Selena's reliably strong vocals, and the variety of sounds, it adds up to be another fine entry in her catalog and just another example of why Selena Gomez is one of the best pop stars making music in 2013.
  4. 67
    Stars Dance feels like a studiously anonymous bag of one-size-fits-all pop attitudes. [26 Jul 2013, p.67]
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    63
    Stars Dance is exactly the kind of album one makes in 2013 if you want to keep the pop sugar of the Disney tween cabal but mix in some broken glass and a club bathroom nosebleed.
  6. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    Though she nods at Rihanna-style slither and Britney-esque grind, this is the sound of Gomez gliding gracefully into adulthood.
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    60
    From the electro-punk opener Birthday onward, she's competent and entirely impersonal. But that's no impediment to enjoying the record, which darts efficiently from EDM to Bollywood to--Beliebers, look away now--sappiness inspired by her on-off boyfriend, Justin Bieber.
  8. Jul 22, 2013
    40
    Other than the sultry Stars Dance, much of this sounds like songs Rihanna rejected.
  9. Jul 22, 2013
    20
    It boasts a harsher, edgier sound than that of her previous efforts; on every other front, it's a lazy, bloated, and occasionally offensive album that lacks any remnant of personality or creativity.
  10. It's a pop record, which means one killer track would redeem everything. Predictably enough, it never comes.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 52
  2. Negative: 10 out of 52
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    It is one of the best albums of the year! With good vocals, very catchy tunes and two amazing singles released before hand Selena has really outdone herself proving that she is definitely one of the leading pop stars of 2013. The album itself is very diverse, with Like A Champion having a jamaican vibe to it, to Come And Get It with a hindi tune to the dance heavy B.E.A.T and Birthday to the more intimate Love Will Remember and Nobody Does It Like You to hopefully the albums next single Save The Day. The album has a great resemblance to a Shakira or perhaps Rihanna album and is definitely worth the wait! Full Review »
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    One of the best pop albuns of the years. Selena is not that pretty little girl anymore. Now she's trying to be a woman, and she's doing it right. The album is so good and you feel like you're in a party all the time, but when starts "Love Will Remember" is like you remind all your love problems back. The only one song is not good is Write Your Name, but I still can listem to that. Full Review »
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    0
    Noting stupid pop trash. And her younger fans shouldn't get this album. Listen the her song "Birthday" and you'll know what I mean. Anyway, her vocals are TERRIBLE. She has a terrible voice I don't know why she's getting money from this album. As for the lyrics, they're terrible as well. Nothing but the same topic (love) and then a beat...seriously this modern age we get nothing but terrible music that only attracts teens. I miss the good days when music was real and had a meaning. Now we get this trash. As for her fans, I don't know what to say. I mean, the only reason I would like her is because Selena is gorgeous, but other than that I don't see why her fans like her music... Even if she was the one who wrote "Stupid Hoe" they would still like it... Don't call me a hater, but if you call yourself a singer, then you must have good vocals and know how to make good lyrics, both in which Selena does not have. I'm ashamed that people actually like this album... Full Review »