Sticks + Stones - Cher Lloyd
Sticks + Stones Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for the British singer/rapper who appeared on the 2010 UK version of the X Factor show was produced by RedOne. The US edition has two songs that are different than the UK 2011 release.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. 75
    With her manic lowbrow sass - tiresome at length but lovable on singles like "Want U Back"--she makes these street-laced pop tracks her own
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    It all adds up to a sassy, splashy modern pop album that rattles through its 10 tracks in a dash under 35 minutes.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    The X Factor contestant's first album is an exhausting, if lovable mess of cartoon-bright, turbo-charged grime-pop.
  4. Dec 19, 2011
    There are times throughout its ten tracks when Lloyd does appear to be testing the patience of even her most ardent fans.
  5. 50
    Cher's not proved herself nimble enough to be more than roadkill beneath its wheels.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    After a promising opening trio of tracks, Sticks + Stones wanes badly, and begins to sound more and more like it's been focus-grouped by industry executives in pursuit of a quick buck until there's barely any semblance of character left.
  7. 20
    the only real flashes of character come from the reworked riffs of Old Neneh Cherry and Ann Peebles hits used on a couple of tracks.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    Cher Lloyd is sassy on every track on this album. Stand out tracks on the album include "Want U Back" , "With Ur Love" and "Superhero". I only wish there were more than 10 tracks! Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2013
    Album's highlights/My bets: 1. Want U Back 2. With Ur Love ft. Mike Posner 3. Superhero 4. Grow Up ft. Busta Rhymes 5. End Up Here These would be perfect singles. Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    A nice blend of Pop music from newcomer Cher Lloyd and while the four singles are the stand-outs there are certainly some other tracks on here too that I quite liked! Cher doesn't have the greatest voice but that's made up for with catchy songs and fun lyrics, plus some creative videos that went with the singles. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    "Unfortunately, [Sticks + Stones] isn't much of a great debut. It contains songs like "Want U Back" and "With Ur Love" that are really fine bubbly pop radio tunes, but the album together is just a problem waiting to happen." Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    Not bad at all, but it gives me earache by listen the ten songs...she just have to give up and go sell pretzels. I usually do not like contestants, open exceptions only for Leona Lewis and Jordin Sparks, and this is another one that I will never want to hear again. Bad album, bad voice, bad initiative, please tell me the pretzel's price? Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2012
    Overall, 'Sticks & Stones' is pretty much everything thatâ
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    Voila encore un album qui ne s'écoute pas enfin qu'il vaut mieux ne pas écouter. Le néant prédomine largement cet album sans queue ni tête. A bon entendeur. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews