Sticks + Stones

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2012
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 83
  2. Negative: 41 out of 83

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Cher Lloyd is sassy on every track on this album. Stand out tracks on the album include "Want U Back" , "With Ur Love" and "Superhero". I only wish there were more than 10 tracks!
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    Seems there is a grown influx of sassy female pop-stars that can really cut a sharp rap/rhyme. Cher Lloyd is riding the crest very well. Hanging ten with Busta Rhymes on Grow up shows she really has the chops. I fully hate the "dump" she takes every five seconds in Want U Back. Maybe it would be a better song without the grunts. I also dislike the other most famous song, SwaggerSeems there is a grown influx of sassy female pop-stars that can really cut a sharp rap/rhyme. Cher Lloyd is riding the crest very well. Hanging ten with Busta Rhymes on Grow up shows she really has the chops. I fully hate the "dump" she takes every five seconds in Want U Back. Maybe it would be a better song without the grunts. I also dislike the other most famous song, Swagger Jagger. Here she just sounds like a product of the producer, barely better than Milli Vanilli. But the rest of the very short album really stands out as a quality pop confection with some bite and skill. I'll be adding this album to my playlist with a planned skip on two songs. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I loved the album, it's amazing and full of life. Every song has something special and different. One of the funniest albums I've ever listened. Cher is so cute. She's something new, something cool, something lovely.
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    I fell in love with Cher Lloyd watching her on "The X-Factor" and have been waiting for her debut album for a while, and not that ive heard it I am so not disappointed. She is a great singer and rapper, and i didnt find one song that i didnt like on the album. For me stand out tracks are; "Oath" ft. Becky G, "Playa Boi" ft. Busta Rymes, "Over The Moon" and "Want U Back". I say this is oneI fell in love with Cher Lloyd watching her on "The X-Factor" and have been waiting for her debut album for a while, and not that ive heard it I am so not disappointed. She is a great singer and rapper, and i didnt find one song that i didnt like on the album. For me stand out tracks are; "Oath" ft. Becky G, "Playa Boi" ft. Busta Rymes, "Over The Moon" and "Want U Back". I say this is one of my favorite albums from 2012. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Great Debut! Cant Wait To Hear More Songs Like Want U Back And Oath!
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    A nice blend of Pop music from newcomer Cher Lloyd and while the four singles are the stand-outs there are certainly some other tracks on here too that I quite liked! Cher doesn't have the greatest voice but that's made up for with catchy songs and fun lyrics, plus some creative videos that went with the singles.
  7. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Album's highlights/My bets:
    1. Want U Back
    2. With Ur Love ft. Mike Posner
    3. Superhero
    4. Grow Up ft. Busta Rhymes
    5. End Up Here
    These would be perfect singles.
  8. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Singing, vocal, rapping, differents tone of voices, versatile album. There is everything for everybody. The collaboration are strong. Showing different side of her like the ballade "Beautiful People".
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. 75
    With her manic lowbrow sass - tiresome at length but lovable on singles like "Want U Back"--she makes these street-laced pop tracks her own
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    60
    There are times throughout its ten tracks when Lloyd does appear to be testing the patience of even her most ardent fans.
  3. 20
    the only real flashes of character come from the reworked riffs of Old Neneh Cherry and Ann Peebles hits used on a couple of tracks.