Sugaring Season - Beth Orton
Sugaring Season Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first album in six years for the singer-songwriter was produced by Tucker Martine and is her first on the Anti label.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    85
    Blessed with great songs, wonderful arrangements and vocal performances that seriously raise the bar in our expectations of what she's capable of, it is a record that shows real artistic growth in every area and is destined to become a classic that rivals Trailer Park and Central Reservation.
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    Sugaring Season isn't a breakthrough, but it's a consolidation of Orton's strengths. [#92, p.58]
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    80
    The result is a fresh, autumnal album that's unashamedly mature yet impressively free.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Even in Beth's comfort zone, her acoustic band, produced by Tucker Martine, enrich some beguiling songs, with not a dud among them. [Nov 2012, p.90]
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    70
    On Sugaring Season she captures both the melancholy and the confidence that comes with growing older really rather well.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    The album slows to a crawl in its latter half, and that sense of lethargy ultimately detracts from the things Orton gets really right throughout.
  7. Oct 2, 2012
    58
    Without a steady beat to ground it, Orton's music tends to float into the ether. And unfortunately in the case of Sugaring Season, this means many of the album's best, moving moments fade into the background.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    If Beth Orton flirted with Electronica and Alternative-Folk on her previous albums, she now left out the Electronica sound and centered her on a Folk atmosphere. It sounds cliché to say an artist has a much mature sound but it's true, she does have a mature sounding on "Sugaring Season" album. It feels like like listening to 2012 English sounding Joni Mitchell. Her melodies are beautiful and catchy without being sugary. This album simply got in my top 5 2012 album of the year and is by far, my favorite Beth Orton album. If you like Folk music...just a little...you got to listen to this! Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    I tend to review only albums that reward repeat listening. This one qualifies. I gave 7 cuts a 4-star rating, and some of these could grow to a 5-star with more listens. (A 3-star and below rating is a track that is easily forgettable) The mellow tracks are so tasty -- I try to make time to repeat them. All the stand outs are: Dawn Chorus, Call Me The Breeze, See Through The Blue, Magpie, Last Leaves of Autumn, State of Grace. Perfect morning music, or when you want to chill out sitting along the water's edge soaking up the autumn sun.... Collapse