Sun - Cat Power
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    Unarguably the best album of this year. One might say it was a big departing from Chan's last efforts, but it was a change for good. The electro style adopted mixed perfectly with her smokey voice and always powerful songwriting. It is, at the same time, personal and universal, because she's singing about both her relations and world's. Best songs are 'Ruin' and 'Manhattan'.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Sun might be unexpected to come from Cat Power. But I think the sound is rather refreshing, not disappointing at all. Of course I prefer her soft-rock/sadcore sound more, but adding up some dancey beats does no harm for her already-perfect-talent. Sun is amazing in its own style, and definitely not a letdown at all.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    I've always found her albums rather self-indulgent with all her covers and vocal gymnastics, but on this record she has let the music take centre stage. It's a great listen. Far more groovy* than previous efforts.

    *Just because I said groovy, it does not mean that I am over 40. It's just the most apt word for this album.
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    9
    The first time I listened to this album, I wanted to hate it. I'm not a big fan of electronic/pop music. But then I gave it a second listen and realized that it might be her best album yet. The way she interprets rhythms with drum machines gives the record a good groove, something that she's never really tackled before. It takes a big leap of faith to create an album that is drasticallyThe first time I listened to this album, I wanted to hate it. I'm not a big fan of electronic/pop music. But then I gave it a second listen and realized that it might be her best album yet. The way she interprets rhythms with drum machines gives the record a good groove, something that she's never really tackled before. It takes a big leap of faith to create an album that is drastically different and unexpected. This is a woman who started out with just a guitar or a piano, and her voice, and made her mark on music with very minimalist songs. She's just evolving and experimenting like every good artist should, and I think she pretty much nails it on this album. The electronic stuff takes a bit to get used to, sure, but once you really hear and understand what's going on with this one, it is a very interesting and enjoyable record. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    This is fantastic!. It's a long way from Moon Pix and You Are Free but the elements that made those albums great are there in spades: just used for very different stylistic ends. Her vocals still have that amazing, haunting phrasing and I wouldn't have crediting they could meld with electro-pop so well. And the tracks underneath, just so well judged. Everyone has either propulsiveThis is fantastic!. It's a long way from Moon Pix and You Are Free but the elements that made those albums great are there in spades: just used for very different stylistic ends. Her vocals still have that amazing, haunting phrasing and I wouldn't have crediting they could meld with electro-pop so well. And the tracks underneath, just so well judged. Everyone has either propulsive rhythmic and harmonic tension, or an fragile beauty. I haven't felt this excited about a new album for a long time. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2012
    7
    Overall, a slight letdown. It's a very heterogenous record and there are some creative high points, she seems comfortable and all... but I'm not quite convinced with some of the lyrics and melodies, which sometimes sound like a bit "disharmonic" . But the highlights 'Cherokee' and 'Nothin But Time' kick it up a notch.
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    For her first album in six years Chan Marshall has changed tack slightly, it’s for the better and clear from the first track that this is an altogether different beast. Loops, piano and synths, Latin beats and catchy guitar licks fill the eleven songs here. Marshall is in fine voice also and even better when she is dual layering her vocal parts. ‘3,6,9’ is the natural successor to Feist’sFor her first album in six years Chan Marshall has changed tack slightly, it’s for the better and clear from the first track that this is an altogether different beast. Loops, piano and synths, Latin beats and catchy guitar licks fill the eleven songs here. Marshall is in fine voice also and even better when she is dual layering her vocal parts. ‘3,6,9’ is the natural successor to Feist’s ‘1,2,3,4’ and could have been penned by Jack White, it is a strong stand out, as is the nine minute ‘Nothin But Time’ where she is joined by Iggy pop as they sing over a borrowed bit of David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’. ‘Manhattan’ seems to evoke the city itself and ‘Silent Machine’ chugs along at a slow almost Nine Inch Nails style pace. But it’s in songs like the opener ‘Cherokee’ and closer ‘Peace and Love’ with its sing-a-long ‘Na Na Na’s’ that Marshall’s knack for writing a compelling tune comes to the forefront and whether it’s in the previously mentioned piano lead ‘Nothin But Time’ or the vocal ‘Human Being’, where the music seems to take a back seat to her voice, there is a real warmth and passion that elevates the songs above the usual singer/songwriter fodder making ‘Sun’ her most accomplished and accessible record to date. Expand
  8. Oct 8, 2012
    6
    In the six years since 'The Greatest ' album , Chan Marshall has gone through bankruptcy, foreclosure, alcohol abuse, suicidal tendencies, psychiatric help for the same and at least one more of her infamous break ups. So when her ex commented that the material she was working on sounded like
  9. Sep 27, 2012
    4
    Why she's getting such good reviews for her last few albums is beyond me-probably the most sterile and emotionally dry music I heard in all my life...but Cherokee is good song,brings me some hope that she didn't lose it completely yet.
  10. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    Having loved everything else Cat Power has released, I wanted to love this but I just can't. I can only guess this is for listeners who don't love the rest of her work. She is of course free to move into new moods, musical styles, arrangements, and so on, but I can't join the sterile departure found here.
  11. Sep 8, 2012
    1
    I have been following Cat Power since Marshall's stunning "Nude as the News" single. I have bought everything that she put out before and since. Even the left field turn to soul pop, "The Greatest" was amazing. However Sun is a bland electro-pop sell out that simply does not work. I agree with the TMT review that "its songs are mostly amalgams of tired pop music tropes/techniques and triteI have been following Cat Power since Marshall's stunning "Nude as the News" single. I have bought everything that she put out before and since. Even the left field turn to soul pop, "The Greatest" was amazing. However Sun is a bland electro-pop sell out that simply does not work. I agree with the TMT review that "its songs are mostly amalgams of tired pop music tropes/techniques and trite realizations". Well put. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Despite its flaws, Sun is not a complete failure and does deserve to be mentioned alongside the rest of her work, if only for the comparison of how she once tried something different--a flawed but worthwhile attempt.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    70
    Sun is undoubtedly Marshall's boldest and most diverse effort to date, and it is all the better for it.
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    What makes Sun so exquisite is that Marshall finally sounds in control of her chaos.