Sweat

Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Nelly's taste in beats for "Sweat" is almost impeccable, and it's easy to imagine three or four of these songs all being singles.
  2. These are easily Nelly's best albums so far.
  3. Blender
    80
    Sweat... is more fun, but that's the point. [Oct 2004, p.126]
  4. While some of the posturing about his bling--as well as the repetitive dirty South beats--might get a little tired, this one is guaranteed to keep it hot in herre all night.
  5. Los Angeles Times
    75
    Each collection somewhat sticks to its goal, but each has songs that could have easily fit on either release. [26 Sep 2004]
  6. If not musically the most creative thing to ever have been called hip-hop, “Sweat” has more than its share of head nodding struts and hands-in-the-air moments.
  7. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    The main thing 'Sweat' has going for it is the fact that it isn't 'Suit.' [2 Oct 2004, p.63]
  8. Uncut
    70
    The superior [of the two albums]. [Dec 2004, p.142]
  9. Nelly mixes hip-hop energy and pop ebullience like it's no sweat at all.
  10. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The album inevitably deteriorates into generic boasts via guest rappers. [17 Sep 2004, p.75]
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. PreciousH
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Oh..my God!! I was like the 1st person to lay my hands on the sweat c.d and oh boy am I glad I did. I love this c.d and the pictures inside Oh..my God!! I was like the 1st person to lay my hands on the sweat c.d and oh boy am I glad I did. I love this c.d and the pictures inside are so cute. Good job Nelly keep doin' what shu doin' boo, and dust them haters off. Full Review »
  2. JacobM
    May 20, 2005
    0
    pretty lame album, Even by Cornell's extremely shallow standards, this is unbelievably lazy production. $$$$$$$$
  3. BobJ
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    much better than suit