Sweet Warrior - Richard Thompson
Sweet Warrior Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famed guitarist and one-time Fairport Convention member reverts to plugged-in form for his latest collection of originals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. This is one of the most brilliantly gloomy albums in his long career.
  2. The guy's a six-string hero whose artistic sweep runs from plangent ballads to fiery barnstormers to, well, a heap of engaging styles in between. [1 Jun 2007, p.69]
  3. The tightness of Thompson's compositions grounds the explosive, whimsical meandering of his improvs; Sweet Warrior, and "Guns Are The Tongues" in particular, captures that glory as well as anything else from this century.
  4. If you’re a lapsed Dickhead, Sweet Warrior would make for a great reintroduction to Richard Thompson. Likewise, should you require only one RT album per decade, this disc may well stand as his best of the 2000s.
  5. Sweet Warrior finds him spinning epic yarns instead of heroic solos.
  6. Even when Mr. Thompson uses his caustic wit for laughs, the songs on “Sweet Warrior” hold a tension and vehemence that make their bitterness linger.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. PhilW
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of our generation.
  2. judye
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Easily accessible. Once you are captured by this album it's hard to find your way out. He's is the most consummate Easily accessible. Once you are captured by this album it's hard to find your way out. He's is the most consummate singer/songwriter of the age. He puts Clapton and every other of his contemporaries to shame because he's still as productive and creative as ever. No pap, like McCartney. Collapse
  3. DarrelL
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    RT > all. Yet another reason why.
  4. DerekD
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    Another amazing masterpiece by one of the sickest guitar players of our time!
  5. pluckyT
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    Sure, I'm a huge fan of the guy, especially of his solo work from the 90's on. And, he delivers again. Literate, dark, sarcastic, Sure, I'm a huge fan of the guy, especially of his solo work from the 90's on. And, he delivers again. Literate, dark, sarcastic, and emotional with great guitar work (though I always hope for more). If you love Tom Waits, Nick Cave or electric Dylan, definitely check out this album. I'd also suggest Richard's Mirror Blue, Mock Tudor and You Me Us, as great starting points. I've seen him live eight or nine times solo and with band and you owe it to yourself to him at least once. Expand
  6. ToddW
    Jul 30, 2007
    8
    You've got to either admire or feel sorry for artists like Richard Thompson. Maybe I've got it all wrong, but it seems to me that You've got to either admire or feel sorry for artists like Richard Thompson. Maybe I've got it all wrong, but it seems to me that the goal of any performance artist is to have their art affect and be seen or heard by as many people as possible. A guitar virtuoso, Thompson has been producing incredibly complex music and insightful lyrics for more than 40 years and he's sold, what, 10 units? It only goes to reinforce how bad "popular" music truly is when someone like Richard Thompson still elicits a blank stare from the dark side of the rock denizens of the Sewerstream some 40-plus years after his beginnings in Fairport Convention and working with Van Morrison. Whereas Morrison criminally has never won a Grammy Award, I'll wager Thompson hasn't even been invited to the ceremony. Of course, those same dumbasses somehow saw fit to vote an album by a washed up Jethro Tull the first Best Heavy Metal gold gramophone. But I digress. It doesn't mean Thompson's music isn't important and worthy of repeated listens. It means the obvious: Thompson is doing us all a huge favor by ignoring popular foolery in continuing to record and most so-called audiophiles are simpletons. Expand
  7. ChristopherW.
    Sep 25, 2007
    5
    My experience with Richard Thompson has been an incredibly frustrating one. While he writes wonderful songs and has impeccable skills on the My experience with Richard Thompson has been an incredibly frustrating one. While he writes wonderful songs and has impeccable skills on the guitar, his voice (ugggg!!) has to be one of the most unpleasant and annoying of any modern singer in my memory. (Imagine this...I actually love Dylan!) It's too bad really! If he'd step away from vocals and let a more competent and enjoyable singer take over, I'm sure his albums would be the wonderful pleasures they should be. Very sad! Expand

See all 11 User Reviews