Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Even some of the kickiest stuff has an unexpected emotional punch.
  2. Ta-Dah isn't an unimpeachable triumph from front to back, but it's a hell of a good showing.
  3. Uncut
    The second brilliant Scissor Sisters longplayer and the greatest album John/Taupin never made. [Oct 2006, p.96]
  4. And while at first it feels like an unholy, unhummable mess, the same solid gold charm which powered lead single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'" to Number One, lurks at the heart of every track, and by listen five it's refocused "Ta-Dah" into a strangely enticing nether world, where it's forever 1974 and a cheap thrill or soaring pop high lurks round every corner.
  5. Filter
    A glorious, towering achievement. [#22, p.98]
  6. Mojo
    They sound joyous even when they're miserable. [Oct 2006, p.96]
  7. Despite embracing the styles of decades past (specifically, the piano-driven pop of [Elton] John and the Bee Gees' disco-riffic ditties), the Sisters still manage to sound unique.
  8. Spin
    These new songs gleam with nouveau riche sparkle. [Oct 2006, p.96]
  9. Similarities to their debut are much easier to find than differences, although the songs aren't quite as memorable (except the single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'") and Ta-Dah is slightly samey in comparison.
  10. Q Magazine
    They haven't just picked up where they left off last time; they've recreated the sound of their debut wholesale, then tossed on a couple of extra layers of flamboyance for good measure. [Sep 2006, p.104]
  11. For all its highlights, however, Ta-Dah is haunted by the thought that the Scissors Sisters can't keep this up much longer.
  12. There's a darker lyrical side to the album at once incongruous and ingenius when placed in such celebratory music.
  13. The bass lines bounce, the strings swirl and Jake Shears wields a killer falsetto.... But Shears has a dark side.
  14. Unfortunately, Scissor Sisters share another trait with the acts they idolize: They only produce a handful of great songs per album.
  15. Even more streamlined, pop-minded, and high-spirited than their 2004 self-titled debut, it's as if they're single-mindedly attempting to depose the world's problems with a rigorous dance and good times regimen.
  16. What remains is a band conflicted about how to stretch and how far to stray from a winning formula, between living up to expectations and confounding them.
  17. So what if Scissor Sisters aren't challenging the conventions of pop music?... [Ta-Dah is] great and will please their fans.
  18. Ta-Dah is easy to like but hard to love.
  19. Blender
    The music follows in the ruby-slippered footsteps of the first album. [Oct 2006, p.134]
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    Ok its definitely not as good as the first album but its still pretty good.
  2. joeg
    Jan 16, 2007
    Significantly better than their first album.
  3. PRay
    Jan 3, 2007
    I refuse to believe that I am the only person who thinks, I dont feel like dancing, is the most irritating, cheapest, awful song of 2006! I I refuse to believe that I am the only person who thinks, I dont feel like dancing, is the most irritating, cheapest, awful song of 2006! I dont get it, because I liked their debut, this sounds like a karoke version of the band, its horrible!!!!! Full Review »