User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MatthewB
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    Better than the first album by a long shot. Warmly produced with nice dark lyrics that belie the jumpy tunes, "Ta-Dah" is one of the more twisted party records out there. Why do a lot of people cite "Ooh" as their least favorite track, btw? I've been noticing that and don't understand at all. That song makes me wanna dance my balls off. So good.
  2. MandelI.
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    Another winner by the Sisters. It took a few listens, though, to warm up to as opposed to their debut album from 2004 which basically grabbed you by the cajones from track 1 and didn't let go. Several tracks have already burrowed a permanent home in my ear drums. As I've mentioned before, the Leo Sayer-tastic single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'" is a winner. That segues Another winner by the Sisters. It took a few listens, though, to warm up to as opposed to their debut album from 2004 which basically grabbed you by the cajones from track 1 and didn't let go. Several tracks have already burrowed a permanent home in my ear drums. As I've mentioned before, the Leo Sayer-tastic single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'" is a winner. That segues into my favorite track off the album: "She's My Man" (the bastard love child of Elton John's "All the Young Girls Love Alice," "I'm Still Standing," and "Hey Papa Legba"). If it wasn't for the 5+ minute length of the song, I'd say that it would be the pick for the next single. The two Queen-esque music hall numbers "Intermission" and "I Can't Decide" are two more faves from the album. "Spot the Influence" is a game that works quite well with some of my other favorites from this album. There's the Duran Duran vibe of "The Other Side" and the Blondie "Call Me"-era disco rock of "Kiss You Off." (YAY, Ana Matronic!) The addition of a brass section to some of the new repertoire recalls the horn flourishes of the attempted dance rock on Elton John's 1985 album "Ice on Fire"...but much more successful. The only thing that the album could have used was a big epic number like the fantastic "Return to Oz" from their debut. It also would have been cool to have a really crunchy disco-rock number like "Music is the Victim" from their debut album. The closest to this on the new album is "Paul McCartney," an awesome frenetic dance-pop number that really doesn't sound like anything Macca ever did. Overall, "Ta-Dah" is a harder pill to swallow than its predecessor, but one you won't regret once you get it down. It's a great solid collection that proves the first album wasn't a fluke and it's one that's going to be hard to top this year. Expand
  3. Tim
    Oct 11, 2006
    9
    Sometimes you just want to put on a CD that will put you in a good mood and make you wanna dance around the house.
  4. schmackoM
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Ta-Dah is an electrifying if somewhat lyrically pessimistic dance album. The Scissor Sisters have successfully mined and re-invented the 1970s sound for a new century. The party they dramatically kicked off with their first brilliant album is still going strong. It
  5. FrankS
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Following up to an enormous ride can be difficult, even with great producers/songwriters/performers coming to your aid. after a whirlwind first go round, the scissor sisters are here to ensure that Ta-Dah does command respect and even revere at the fact that even under pressure and a watchful eye, joy can still exude! Their dark lyrics upon the crazy, foot stomping music, suggest that Following up to an enormous ride can be difficult, even with great producers/songwriters/performers coming to your aid. after a whirlwind first go round, the scissor sisters are here to ensure that Ta-Dah does command respect and even revere at the fact that even under pressure and a watchful eye, joy can still exude! Their dark lyrics upon the crazy, foot stomping music, suggest that they believe they are in fact the second coming of all things glamrock. From the Elton John piano riffs, to the David Bowie Kitsch, this album will definetly prove just what the Scissor Sisters intended.....Ta-Dah...... Expand
  6. shawns
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    I love this cd... Not as great as their debut ....but NOONE's ever is.
  7. KateB
    Nov 14, 2006
    8
    I really like this album and I'm glad I bought it. The Scissor Sisters were one of those bands where I thought: I like the first album enough to go straight out and buy the 2nd. I did, and I'm very pleased I did, even if it was just for such great songs as She's My Man and Ooh.
  8. nicka
    Oct 10, 2006
    7
    Fun, frothy,frivolous but insubstantial would best sum up this second album. Its always difficult for any band making that second much anticipated record and by and large this succeeds. There are some good catchy songs and just the hint that there maybe a lit more depth to the sisters than what they've shown so far.It would be a shame if they fell into the trap of sticking to the Fun, frothy,frivolous but insubstantial would best sum up this second album. Its always difficult for any band making that second much anticipated record and by and large this succeeds. There are some good catchy songs and just the hint that there maybe a lit more depth to the sisters than what they've shown so far.It would be a shame if they fell into the trap of sticking to the same formula for future albums as a few tracks have just a hint of the melancholy and more meaningful undertones which they could have explored a little more. Thats not to say theres anything at all wrong with making fun music but you do wonder just how much more mileage is left with the scissor sisters particular brand of cheesy but fun 80's inspired music. I hope they take the shackles off for the next album. All in all a successful second album and a worthy successor to the first but you sense they could do better. Expand
  9. Stinga
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Great album, sounds a lot like Bee gees but still unique. Love it
  10. Julia
    Nov 4, 2006
    8
    This album is a glorious exaltation of how life can suck when all you do is party, and of how decadent the supposedly "care-free" life can become. "Ta-Dah" encapsulates the psychology of the compulsive partier to such a degree that to listen to the album makes you wonder whether you want to dance or shudder with fear. An amazing roller coaster ride of an album, you'll get sucked in This album is a glorious exaltation of how life can suck when all you do is party, and of how decadent the supposedly "care-free" life can become. "Ta-Dah" encapsulates the psychology of the compulsive partier to such a degree that to listen to the album makes you wonder whether you want to dance or shudder with fear. An amazing roller coaster ride of an album, you'll get sucked in and swept away by the Scissor Sisters whether you want to go or not! Expand
  11. HelenJ
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    I love it! Like previous comments light cheerfull and something you can sing to and enjoy.
  12. Sarah
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    I did not have the first album when I bought Ta Dah but after listening to this fantastic album I am completely hooked and the album has not left my car or my house since I bought it, it gets me jiggng from start to finish and there is not one song that I do not like. P.s I now have the first album which I love equally as much
  13. KevinG
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    This album is so much fun, not many albums make we want to get up and dance...
  14. EdwardE
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    More layered than their debut, Scissor Sisters' Ta-Dah is a welcome & unique addition to popular music. When everything on MTV sounds the same, the Sisters bitch slap the audience out of their stupor & drag 'em onto the dancefloor.
  15. Shawn
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    What an amazing album!! Very nice!!
  16. joeg
    Jan 16, 2007
    7
    Significantly better than their first album.
  17. RichT
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    It's a slick album and I don't pay too much attention to the sort of "they're not cool enough to deserve our attention" reviews. As someone once said, "a song is a song is a song" and I'm not impressed with how "non commercial" a band is supposed to be, they're all in it to make a buck/pound etc.. There are some beautifully crafted songs on here and I bought the It's a slick album and I don't pay too much attention to the sort of "they're not cool enough to deserve our attention" reviews. As someone once said, "a song is a song is a song" and I'm not impressed with how "non commercial" a band is supposed to be, they're all in it to make a buck/pound etc.. There are some beautifully crafted songs on here and I bought the album on the basis of having heard a few from the last one and I'll definitely be going out to get that one too.. And, if it's "better", then it just goes to show how difficult it is to follow up a great album, ask Michael Jackson, or Fleetwood Mac, but they both got over it! Rich. x Expand
  18. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    7
    The stand out track and lead single on this album, 'I Don't Feel Like Dancin', is a collaboration between Scissor Sisters and their idol Elton John. Combining disco, glam-rock/pop and gay-club influences, the Scissor Sisters were one of the biggest buzz bands in Australia in 2006, with fans loving their camp sense of fun (they had similar success in the UK). A great follow The stand out track and lead single on this album, 'I Don't Feel Like Dancin', is a collaboration between Scissor Sisters and their idol Elton John. Combining disco, glam-rock/pop and gay-club influences, the Scissor Sisters were one of the biggest buzz bands in Australia in 2006, with fans loving their camp sense of fun (they had similar success in the UK). A great follow up to their self-titled debut. Expand
  19. BrianF
    Sep 25, 2006
    9
    4 star CD from the best rock-disco band out there. If only US radio would get on the bandwagon and give them a chance.... There are several instant classics on this CD - songs that are totally original yet recall the best 70's party pop. Besides the first single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'", check out "Paul McCartney" and "Everybody Wants The Same Thing." Scissor Sisters are 4 star CD from the best rock-disco band out there. If only US radio would get on the bandwagon and give them a chance.... There are several instant classics on this CD - songs that are totally original yet recall the best 70's party pop. Besides the first single "I Don't Feel Like Dancin'", check out "Paul McCartney" and "Everybody Wants The Same Thing." Scissor Sisters are astute students of rock history and it shows. Expand
  20. PeterC
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    first single is one of the best of the year; after a few listens of the album, you'll be completely hooked.
  21. JimM
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    A great album that takes an even more 70s vibe than the first. This is straight up disco with a darkly humourous undercurrent. Other than "Ooh" which I think is a bit of a dud, this is a hopping album. "I Can't Decide" and "She's My Man" are the standouts.
  22. StephenP
    Sep 28, 2006
    8
    If you're expecting a retread of their first album, you'll be disappointed. It takes a few listens to click. But then, my ultimate favorite songs on their first cd weren't the ones that popped for me initially either. I have to withhold judgment on what the best songs are on this one for a month or two!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 80
    They sound joyous even when they're miserable. [Oct 2006, p.96]
  2. Even some of the kickiest stuff has an unexpected emotional punch.
  3. Despite embracing the styles of decades past (specifically, the piano-driven pop of [Elton] John and the Bee Gees' disco-riffic ditties), the Sisters still manage to sound unique.