Take Care

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 335
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Rapping is as weak as ever, WAYYYY too much singing, and too long of an album. Quality is still good tho. If he made the album shorter i would probably give him a 7. 6.5/10
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    4
    I wanted a rap album and instead got an R&B Album. There are a few tracks I acknowledge as pretty good such as Shot For Me, Over My Dead Body, Lord Knows, The Motto, and Headlines, but most of it is singing, and I wanted a rap album. It shouldn't be classified as rap. Album was average in my opinion.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    It seems that Drake has done it again. I manage to like some of his songs, but there really isn't much praise for HIS talent. His producers know how to lay down good beats for his vocal aesthetic, but when you listen to what he's saying, how "good" is it? There nothing special about what he's saying or how he's saying it. The lyrics are very often humdrum and unimaginative. Yes, he's ableIt seems that Drake has done it again. I manage to like some of his songs, but there really isn't much praise for HIS talent. His producers know how to lay down good beats for his vocal aesthetic, but when you listen to what he's saying, how "good" is it? There nothing special about what he's saying or how he's saying it. The lyrics are very often humdrum and unimaginative. Yes, he's able to involve emotion in his songs, but they're illustrated very blandly,plus he's already expressed these same emotions to us in his previous music. A lot of these guests don't really offer much, except The Weeknd & Andre 3000. Lil Wayne can be very distracting and has some lyrics even weaker than Drake's. Stevie Wonder's harmonica solo does little other than put his name on the album. This album could have easily been parred down from 80 minutes to create a much tighter, concentrated effort, but he just meanders around talking about nothing new. Maybe he wanted to top Kanye's MBDTF (which he does, timewise), but he doesn't even touch it in quality. Pharoahe Monch, Big K.R.I.T. (mixtape, whatever), Talib Kweli, & The Beastie Boys have released much better hip-hop albums this year. I have no idea why this is being called the best of the year. 5.5/10, rounded down since almost everyone else is hyping it up. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    From time to time we see new artist in this Hip Hop game that gets attention in regards to his or her style or spoken lyrics and there's not a doubt that Drake is one of those artists. It wasn't until he signed to Cash Money Records that his spoken lyrics tone downed and went towards a monotonic or hypnotic style that will utterly most attract female listeners with its "sex appeal" andFrom time to time we see new artist in this Hip Hop game that gets attention in regards to his or her style or spoken lyrics and there's not a doubt that Drake is one of those artists. It wasn't until he signed to Cash Money Records that his spoken lyrics tone downed and went towards a monotonic or hypnotic style that will utterly most attract female listeners with its "sex appeal" and quite frankly depressing love scenarios. Drake's "Thank Me Later" was in fact filled with such monotonic or hypnotic depressing love songs but with "Take Care", he balances it out but it all sounds like his ego is forever increasing. This is not a good thing for a creation of an album... Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    4
    I wanted to like this one a lot more than I did. The replay value is slim for me, as I have to be in a certain mood (depressed) to get into the bulk of these songs.

    Drake is starting to feel very one-note to me. He says the same things over and over, just refines the music and words a bit. But the subject matter never changes with this guy. Is it narcissism that causes him to not be able
    I wanted to like this one a lot more than I did. The replay value is slim for me, as I have to be in a certain mood (depressed) to get into the bulk of these songs.

    Drake is starting to feel very one-note to me. He says the same things over and over, just refines the music and words a bit. But the subject matter never changes with this guy. Is it narcissism that causes him to not be able to venture onto other topics besides his immediate world? I guess he really meant it when he said "I only care about money & the city that I'm from". That's fine, but why should I care about his money and the city that he's from??? I wouldn't even call this CD a hip-hop CD. It's an R&B CD with hip-hop leanings, really. And it's kinda lifeless.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    This album could go down in history as one of the most overrated ever. This album is not a classic the way everyone proclaims it to be. It has its memorable moments. It has some highlights ("the brilliant Just Blaze-produced "Lord Knows" and "Take Care"). A few are decent ("Doing It Wrong" and "Headlines"). But overall, the rest of the album feels like one long boring song. Drake seems toThis album could go down in history as one of the most overrated ever. This album is not a classic the way everyone proclaims it to be. It has its memorable moments. It has some highlights ("the brilliant Just Blaze-produced "Lord Knows" and "Take Care"). A few are decent ("Doing It Wrong" and "Headlines"). But overall, the rest of the album feels like one long boring song. Drake seems to find no other topic to discuss and the worst part is that he doesn't even do it as well as he should. His rhymes vary from good to generic. But when he sings, his bars can be straight-up pedestrian. I honestly got tired out midway through the album. But I kept trudging hoping the album might make a comeback for itself. But alas, even Andre 3000 could not deliver a good enough verse to save the mediocrity I endured. Matter of fact, only Rick Ross seemed to be the only charged-up rapper here. 3K delivered a slightly okay but not weird enough verse like he did for "Party". Lil Wayne has seemingly lost that bizarre quality that once made him a compelling rapper a mere three years ago. And Birdman wastes good space trying to hype up Drake as some gangsta rapper who is ready to take over. Who doesn't feel that Birdman is simply using Drake and praising him as a cover up? Anyway, I suggest you invest your money somewhere else. Though better than Thank Me Later, Take Care is still the same old same old. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    While this album does have some good songs, such as "Headlines" and "Practice," it has too many songs that are either just too boring or go on for too long. Drake has definitely stepped it up here better than his previous album but he still has some work to do before he becomes one of the better rappers out today.
  8. Jun 13, 2013
    4
    To be honest the only songs I could really feel myself liking is Headlines and Look What You've Done.

    This album was kind of slow and I didn't like it. I don't like music that bores me and this was pretty damn boring compared to all the great music that I am currently being surrounded with. This may have been an okay album if it was 2005, but with all the juicy hip-hop and r & b that
    To be honest the only songs I could really feel myself liking is Headlines and Look What You've Done.

    This album was kind of slow and I didn't like it. I don't like music that bores me and this was pretty damn boring compared to all the great music that I am currently being surrounded with.

    This may have been an okay album if it was 2005, but with all the juicy hip-hop and r & b that I am listening to, this seems a bit stale.
    Expand
  9. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    Drake Hasn't Made A Classic, With This Album, But His Smooth RnB And Hip Hop Elemental Beats, Drake Created Like A New Genre. Like RnB And Rap Combined Is Acually Really Good In The Way He Does It. But His Rapping And Lyrical Ability Could Use More Work. He Needs To Focus More On His Flow And Delivery, Than The Beats. Thats The Problem With This Record. But Drake Made His Own Style, And ADrake Hasn't Made A Classic, With This Album, But His Smooth RnB And Hip Hop Elemental Beats, Drake Created Like A New Genre. Like RnB And Rap Combined Is Acually Really Good In The Way He Does It. But His Rapping And Lyrical Ability Could Use More Work. He Needs To Focus More On His Flow And Delivery, Than The Beats. Thats The Problem With This Record. But Drake Made His Own Style, And A Couple Songs On The Album Are Very Enjoyable To Listen To, Like "HYFL" "The Motto" "Marvins Room" "The Real Her" Are Songs On The Album People Would Most Likely Enjoy. Expand
  10. May 15, 2014
    6
    This is my Favorite drake album the great thing about this album is the production the beats for in well with the songs as they flow through the album the down side to this album is when you get half way though it, it starts to feel dry the verses arnt as good, the lyrics are poor not much substance but all up not a bad album if your into Main Street rap you'll like it.. 6.9/10
  11. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    5.7/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. 80
    Considering Take Care is an affecting masterpiece easily on par with his debut, there could be no greater accolade for the genius of this man.
  2. The Wire
    Jan 23, 2012
    50
    He's tightened his flow ever so slightly, but the brutal artlessness of his writing and character remains. [Jan 2012, p.69]
  3. Q Magazine
    Dec 22, 2011
    60
    It's great at times, but far more work than it should be. [Jan 2012, p.127]