Talk a Good Game

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    60
    Emotionally raw, [Dirty Laundry is] far more intimate than her sexier songs, proving that her best recipe for success is baring her soul rather than her bedroom secrets.
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    60
    Rowland's pendulum has swung away from her Guetta-dance flirtation back to her R&B roots, but this set is still a grab-bag of Janet Jackson homages and bedroom-eyed midtempos on which Rowland's come-hither lyrics remain at odds with her slightly prim delivery.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    60
    Talk a Good Game's standout tracks prove that she's closer to carving a niche for herself than she has been on prior efforts that suppressed rather than addressed that difficulty.
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    50
    The album, however, is a solid body of work--albeit with some questionable filler song--but it’s hard to pinpoint something which makes the album stand out and gives it the spark it needs to allow Kelly to separate herself from the countless other female R&B artists out there.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    Talk a Good Game is very solid R&B album. Her vocals are on spot throughout the record probably further improved since Here I Am. That saidTalk a Good Game is very solid R&B album. Her vocals are on spot throughout the record probably further improved since Here I Am. That said however as a dance music fan I am disappointed by the lack of danceable R&B numbers on the album, except Skywalker which on the repeat since I purchased the CD. She seems to have abandoned her dance fans which is a shame as her voice fits the beat so well like no other current female singer nowadays. Full Review »
  2. Jul 2, 2016
    7
    I have to say this is my first album that i listened from Kelly Rowland and i am proud to say that i am not disappointed. Her vocals areI have to say this is my first album that i listened from Kelly Rowland and i am proud to say that i am not disappointed. Her vocals are phenomenal and the lyrics are very well written with a good beat. I recommend you to listen to it especially if you like pop and R&B and the collaborations are quiet good.
    My results :
    1. Freak 9/10
    2. Kisses down low 8/10
    3. Gone ft Wiz Khalifa 9/10
    4. Talk a good game ft Kevin Cossom 7/10
    5. Down on love 7/10
    6. Dirty Laundry 9/10
    7. You changed ft Beyonce and Michelle Williams 8/10
    8. I remember 7/10
    9. Red wine 8/10
    10. This is love 8/10
    11. Street life ft Pusha T 10/10
    12. Stand in front of me 8/10
    13. Sky walker ft The-Dream 8/10
    14. Put your name on it 6/10
    15. #1 7/10
    overall: 79.3
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 30, 2015
    9
    Another amazing album. Definitely one of the best albums of that year if not the best Contemporary R&B albums of all time. I loved at least 4Another amazing album. Definitely one of the best albums of that year if not the best Contemporary R&B albums of all time. I loved at least 4 5th of the album, not to many albums I have come across where I can actually listen from start to finish. This album is not one of those albums that you have to buy only for a couple good songs, as almost every song was beyond good. Full Review »