Talk a Good Game

  • Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Jun 18, 2013
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. By teaming up with some of the best producers in the r&b/hip-hop genre right now, including frequent Drake collaborators T-Minus and Boi-1da, Kelly Rowland has managed to make one of the best sounding r&b albums of the year.
  2. 83
    Rowland serves up a smorgasbord of her triumphant and sometimes profane fourth studio album. [21 Jun 2013, p.68]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    80
    Talk a Good Game is her realness in full flower, an album that balances world-weariness about relationships with infectious dollops of sexual agency, tackling the vagaries of love almost exclusively and offering anthems for experiences that every woman has had (or will have) at some point.
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    76
    Instead of focusing on escape through pleasure, Talk A Good Game concentrates on conversation, and when necessary, confrontation.
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    Considering her career so far, this is super cool, contemporary grown-up R&B that shows just how far Rowland has come.
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    70
    "Dirty Laundry" is brave (and dramatic) stuff. But the track itself, a forgettable slow groove, makes the tune more compelling as confession than music. People should venture further into Talk a Good Game, because a good chunk of the rest of the album--a mix of easy pop, shiny dance tracks, and a dab of retro soul--reflects a better balance of sound and sentiment.
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    70
    The album quickly stabilizes with satisfying, if mostly unexciting, material. Other than the lack of European dance-pop, the main difference between this set and Here I Am is the presence of Rowland's most revealing and powerful song, "Dirty Laundry."
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    Talk a Good Game is very solid R&B album. Her vocals are on spot throughout the record probably further improved since Here I Am. That saidTalk a Good Game is very solid R&B album. Her vocals are on spot throughout the record probably further improved since Here I Am. That said however as a dance music fan I am disappointed by the lack of danceable R&B numbers on the album, except Skywalker which on the repeat since I purchased the CD. She seems to have abandoned her dance fans which is a shame as her voice fits the beat so well like no other current female singer nowadays. Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2015
    9
    Another amazing album. Definitely one of the best albums of that year if not the best Contemporary R&B albums of all time. I loved at least 4Another amazing album. Definitely one of the best albums of that year if not the best Contemporary R&B albums of all time. I loved at least 4 5th of the album, not to many albums I have come across where I can actually listen from start to finish. This album is not one of those albums that you have to buy only for a couple good songs, as almost every song was beyond good. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2015
    4
    When Kelly started the promotional campaign for this comeback album, it sounded like she was upgrading herself musically and artistically.When Kelly started the promotional campaign for this comeback album, it sounded like she was upgrading herself musically and artistically. Unfortunately that turned out to be wrong. Sure there are some great songs in there, like "Dirty Laundry" (a masterpiece) and "Red Wine", but the rest sounds dull and repetitive. Full Review »