Talkie Walkie

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MaciejW
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    This is a beautifully done, bold yet mellowing record. If you're looking for pumpin' party beats stay away because this is the record that you and your mates will take on a chilled night in, a record you will listen to with a significant other clutched in one anothers arms deeply gazing into one anothers eyes feeling the bliss of your energy and the music this record fills you This is a beautifully done, bold yet mellowing record. If you're looking for pumpin' party beats stay away because this is the record that you and your mates will take on a chilled night in, a record you will listen to with a significant other clutched in one anothers arms deeply gazing into one anothers eyes feeling the bliss of your energy and the music this record fills you with. This is a record for an advanced mind that wants more than simple bass thumping and loops. In essence, it's their strongest record to date and definitely one of the tops of 2004. Savour it. Expand
  2. rpggrrrl
    Mar 3, 2004
    8
    I haven't heard Air's other albums, JFYI, but I do like this one enough that I will be checking out the rest of their work. The French accents do a lot for me, what can I say. The duo lives up to their name; a few of the songs make me feel like I'm sitting beside an open window with linen curtains blowing softly past my head as I take in the view. A good album to listen to I haven't heard Air's other albums, JFYI, but I do like this one enough that I will be checking out the rest of their work. The French accents do a lot for me, what can I say. The duo lives up to their name; a few of the songs make me feel like I'm sitting beside an open window with linen curtains blowing softly past my head as I take in the view. A good album to listen to on the way home from work. My favorites include "Cherry Blossom Girl" for it's sad sweetness, "Mike Mills for it's tension and "Alpha Beta Gaga" for nothing more than it makes me happy. I'm looking forward to their next project. Expand
  3. michaell
    Jan 25, 2004
    9
    Outstanding album. There is no need to diminish the success of 10,000 Htz. Legend or employ rhetorically meaningless phrases like "irredeemably icky" to describe Talkie Walkie. The album speaks for itself as premium ethereal-sounding electronic. I was suprised to learn Nigel Godrich ["Ok, Computer" (Radiohead) & "Mutations" (Beck)] produced this album. It just further validated Air's Outstanding album. There is no need to diminish the success of 10,000 Htz. Legend or employ rhetorically meaningless phrases like "irredeemably icky" to describe Talkie Walkie. The album speaks for itself as premium ethereal-sounding electronic. I was suprised to learn Nigel Godrich ["Ok, Computer" (Radiohead) & "Mutations" (Beck)] produced this album. It just further validated Air's credibility. Expand
  4. JoeyJ
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Air have decided to take away the "electronic artist" mask that was already falling off during 10,000 Hz Legend. So their faces are on the cover, their voices are on the album, and most of the backings are played live by them, using acoustic guitars and banjoes. It's weird, peaceful and very intelligently written. I love this album more than anything I've heard for a very long Air have decided to take away the "electronic artist" mask that was already falling off during 10,000 Hz Legend. So their faces are on the cover, their voices are on the album, and most of the backings are played live by them, using acoustic guitars and banjoes. It's weird, peaceful and very intelligently written. I love this album more than anything I've heard for a very long time, and my housemates all agree. Expand
  5. DanB
    Feb 9, 2004
    8
    It lacks something that Moon Safari had... some kind of freshness of Frenchness that made that album really standout. This one, on the other hand, sounds less unique and more like any other electronic pop. But, it's still good.
  6. AdamB
    Sep 5, 2005
    9
    fab, not as good as moon safari, but a truly great album in its own right
  7. StefanS
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    Some incredibly magical tracks. Opener 'Venus' and closer 'Alone in Kyoto' are perfect. Not as good as Moon Safari. But still gorgeous.
  8. AlexJ
    Mar 2, 2004
    9
    Not everyone's cuppa tea maybe but I'm still gobsmacked by at least four tracks on this album. It's Not quite 'how deep is your love' but not far off it and mostly strong throughout with only the piano riff in the middle of 'mike mills' that grates or perhaps tries too hard. I love it. If you're a coach potato and want more piles then this is for you.
  9. NirM
    Apr 17, 2004
    8
    Although the record is a bit different from previous albums, Air managed to sustain a descent level of what they're doing best, hazey background music...
  10. Wander
    Nov 5, 2005
    8
    Talkie walkie contains no bad songs, and some, like cherry blossom girl and alone in kyoto match the best of 'moon safari' for pure beauty
  11. EDRM
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Incredible creative and addictive... A true original masterpiece. A bunch of transcendental songs that defies classification... THIS is the future of music.
  12. DwightV
    Apr 27, 2005
    7
    This album is better than "Moon Safari", I found Moon to be boring and empty, this album has more components to it, more vocals and overall a better album.
  13. May 16, 2013
    7
    A good album with a fantastic opening couple of tracks. "Venus" and "Cherry Blossom Girl" are focused and as good as anything the band have done. "Surfin On A Rocket" is another highlight. 10 tracks does the record a favour as it keeps it short and prevents it from dragging on too much however there are still a couple of tracks that veer off into ambient pop for a tad too long for myA good album with a fantastic opening couple of tracks. "Venus" and "Cherry Blossom Girl" are focused and as good as anything the band have done. "Surfin On A Rocket" is another highlight. 10 tracks does the record a favour as it keeps it short and prevents it from dragging on too much however there are still a couple of tracks that veer off into ambient pop for a tad too long for my liking. Good overall with some moments of genius, at its best reminds me of Massive Attack. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. A welcome return to the group's down-tempo beginnings.
  2. Air return to what they do best: elegantly moody soundtrack music for imaginary films.
  3. The lush melodic sense that deserted Air on 10000Hz Legend has returned.