• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jan 26, 2010
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 271

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkO.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Why do the hot press and the guardian's scores even count? not to sound too pretentious, but if you're giving this album a 40/100 then maybe listening to music isn't for you.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    MarkO hits the bullseye here. If the schlempkins at hot press and the guardian think Teen Dream is a 40/100 album, maybe they need to consider rating washers and dryers instead of music. This album is damn near perfect. If you like dreamy hazy pop, Teen Dream will leave you speechless. It's a Magnetic Fields meets the lighter side of Air meets Mazzy Star. Highly recommended.
  3. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I feel as if all the negative reviews are from those who haven't let the album sink in. This is probably my pick for the album of the year. Not nearly as dark as their last album, but plenty strange, catchy and original. This band is a valuable gem.
  4. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    It is clear this music is not for everyone, specially mainstream ears but if you can appreciate good music you won't need me to tell you this album is good, really good. Probably a contender for best of the year, at least it's in my top 10.
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    The third LP by dream pop duo Beach House is absolutely beautiful and deserves all the attention it has gained. Show me a list of last yearâ
  6. robc
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    A wonderful album that builds on their first 2 releases. Victoria Legrand has a beautifully, soulful voice that works exceptionally well with the re-verb-drenched organ and guitar.
  7. RyanD
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Their best and dreamiest album yet. In a world full of hype, these guys deliver. Teen Dream has fantastic string arrangements which set the mood through the dreamy haze of Beach House's stunning vocals and hazy guitar melodies.
  8. TonyN
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Victoria Legrand is a goddess. I think she is the best female vocalist out there right now. The album isn't quite as good as Devotion, but it's still an amazing record. "10 Mile Stereo" is the best song on the album hands down. The angelic string synth will make you melt.
  9. LeahT.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Way more accessible and well-rounded than their other two albums, brilliant as they were. This is a band that people, not just Pitchfork, can fall in love with...and that's a wonderful evolution.
  10. PaulM
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    A superb collection of stunning songs. Silver Soul and 10 Mile Stereo are the highlights but each track is great. Seems to be a sizeable amount of people who are loving to hate this for some reason. Can't understand why- its a joy to listen to.
  11. Marc
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Wow....why such the low score??? This is the best thing I've heard in a loooong time. Its absolutely brilliant. Dreamy, heartfelt, charming, and immediately likeable. I expected such a cowardly review out of Rolling Stone, but am at a loss how Hot Press or the Guardian could give this a 40. They must be listening to a different record than me.
  12. JamesF.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Lovely.
  13. MichaelT
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Beautiful, gauzy, atmospheric music. Even better than Devotion.
  14. Bjorn
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    The allmusic review should be put in in i want to see this get a higher rating, i love this album.
  15. NicolasB.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    I didn't much care for their first album and their second garnered a few listens from me, but this album has completely enamored me. Legrand's wail is captivating with the sense of a mournful optimism in many of these songs. Trust me, even songs at first you don't care for become sustained in your head. This band has a great reverb heavy, pop sound that can surprisingly I didn't much care for their first album and their second garnered a few listens from me, but this album has completely enamored me. Legrand's wail is captivating with the sense of a mournful optimism in many of these songs. Trust me, even songs at first you don't care for become sustained in your head. This band has a great reverb heavy, pop sound that can surprisingly stick with you despite all the haze surrounding each song. Favorites are Walk In The Park, Zebra, Better Times & Take Care. Expand
  16. jr
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Stacked with melodies, this is a superb album.
  17. JohnW
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing, beautiful, dreamy, best album from Beach House yet.
  18. EdgarM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    This is going to be one of the best albums this year.
  19. MannyF.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Great record with great songs. Ida meets Mazzy Star meets MBV. Highly recommended!
  20. AlexL
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    I'm confused with the low reviews. I liked the first two albums quite a bit, but felt that they were too ambient and weren't worth more than a couple listens. Teen Dream is, simply put, brilliant. I think this album achieves significantly more than the first two, specifically with the multitude of catchy rhythms. These melodies will be stuck in your head all day, and don't I'm confused with the low reviews. I liked the first two albums quite a bit, but felt that they were too ambient and weren't worth more than a couple listens. Teen Dream is, simply put, brilliant. I think this album achieves significantly more than the first two, specifically with the multitude of catchy rhythms. These melodies will be stuck in your head all day, and don't wear out. Great mood to the album too. Really felt like this was album of the year worthy; suppose the critics don't agree. Expand
  21. Alex
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    I'm addicted to this album. 'Zebra' and 'Silver Soul' take me to heavenly realms.
  22. MuktadaG
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    It's a little overwrought, but Victoria's vocals take a leap forward into the soulful.
  23. KyleM
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    the first great album of 2010 and the new decade. their previous 2 albums are very good, but this is something else altogether.
  24. AmielPro
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Consistent and inspiring, with different moods and wonderful melody changes.
  25. AndrewK.
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    All the things you liked about the first two albums and more!
  26. TheSituation
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Just glorious. Absolutely love it.
  27. RobertF
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Rolling Stone has no guts. This is a modern classic. I slept to it all day yesterday, I fell in love to it the day before. This is easily the best album of the year so far. Do yourself or you loved one a favor and pick this album up immediately, there won't be a better one all year. Winter's Love.
  28. HarryO.
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    User score: 6.6? Is this a joke? I can see this topping my 2010 list, and we are in January.
  29. G
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    Excellent album. Stunningly beautiful vocals and arrangements.
  30. KurtC.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    Exceptional album. Completely blindsided me. I had never thought much of Beach House before, but the songwriting and execution of these dream-pop gems are astounding. Hauntingly beautiful and catchy. I'm in love.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Teen Dream is kind of MOR, it would go down a treat at a dinner party, there are boring bits and the doleful DIY magic of the debut seems to have more or less run out. But it’s shot through with more than a handful of heartstoppingly wonderful moments.
  2. 80
    This Baltimore dream-pop duo, whose dense-fog organs, reverb-y slide guitars, and nodding harmonies feel as lush as a midnight walk in a wet garden. On their third album, those feelings now sound like actual songs, with swelling choruses and an all-encompassing ache.
  3. Teen Dream sheds the uncertainties evident in past Beach House albums--each melodic turn (and there are many) balances the force of confidence with the momentum of curiosity.