• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2012
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 60
    Tempest delivers yet another collection of the ramblers that have populated Dylan's records since Time Out of Mind.
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    60
    But for a little judicious editing, it's a pleasure we could have shared with him. [Oct 2012, p.99]
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    60
    This is one of his best albums in many years, although that's not exactly a ringing endorsement.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    50
    Tempest is a mixed bag of ideas at best, many of which would be better served by someone like Tom Waits.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    50
    Though all are blessed with a wry and dusty charm that's hard to dislike, too many are rolled out in a way that seems more to do with autopilot than passion. Narrow Way and Duquesne Whistle mighty be jaunty toe-tappers but they're also examples of the lightweight fluff that blows around the album.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Dylan has always been hit and miss even within his greatest albums. that may be changing. There are simply no misses in Tempest. It's theDylan has always been hit and miss even within his greatest albums. that may be changing. There are simply no misses in Tempest. It's the best Dylan we have seen in years and quite possible the best album of the year. Stunningly good songs with lyrics so achingly sorrowful that you cannot remain unmoved. Beautiful. Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Best Bob Dylan's effort in years. Bob remains as the truest storyteller in recent years and he is still on top of his game both lyrically andBest Bob Dylan's effort in years. Bob remains as the truest storyteller in recent years and he is still on top of his game both lyrically and musically. Every track on this thing is a killer. Not a single word or chord is meaningless or out of touch. Instant classic and an essential album at the beginning of this decade. Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    My opinion is that this is the best Bob Dylan album since Time Out of Mind and in some ways I like it even more than that. Grew on me ratherMy opinion is that this is the best Bob Dylan album since Time Out of Mind and in some ways I like it even more than that. Grew on me rather well with the first 7 or 8 listens. Lots of highlights. So many that the album itself is a magnificent highlight and it's the best thing I have heard so far this year, by far. I also think it's one of Dylan's strongest efforts ever that has paid off in big dividends. High praise for great work here. Full Review »